We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
84
7
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
7
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages country house cart lodge hay barn old stables clay shooting essex countryside on arrival oak beams peaceful countryside birds and animals pure luxury english countryside peacocks wandering eye for detail beautiful cottage self catering
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic time
Really good decent clean
Lady who ran the place
Such a lovely lady nothing was too much trouble
Outstanding service
Would recommend
So peaceful tranquil setting
Get away from it all to recharge your batteries thus certainly is the place
Pure luxury cosy and relaxing

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisalisalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Another weekend visit to see the rich Essex countryside and beaches.

Host Trish always warm and welcoming, friendly and helpful. Beautiful cottages in an ideal location

Looking forward to returning soon!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Marcus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The reviews of these holiday cottages have been amazingly gushing so maybe its time for a reality check . They are certainly nicely converted farm buildings, furnished to a good standard and offer a comfortable stay. All very clean and only found a couple of dog hairs and no dog smell which is good for a place that welcomes dogs. So it's the standard you would expect of an expensive holiday let. It could be useful to know some practical insights which aren't clear from the website and reviews. We rented the Cart Lodge and Hay Barn - The Hay Barn is actually two additional bedrooms and a bathroom which can be opened up from the Cart Lodge - where the Kitchenette and dining area are. First time I've experienced this, but the owner requires you to hand over £200 in cash on arrival as a 'security housekeeping deposit'. So you have to make a trip to a cash machine before you arrive but this system just made us feel a little uneasy through the stay. Also, unusually, electricity isn't included. We were charged £8 for a 3 night stay but the heating is electric radiators so I suspect you could have a big bill in winter .
The décor was flouncy curtains, loads of cushions and teddy bears (posh Essex rather than rustic style) so if that's what you like this is for you - and it is advertised as a romantic getaway so I suppose that's what romantic means.. The bedrooms are smallish - stubbed my toe a couple of times going to the loo in the night ' but you can just fit a travel cot into the Hay Barn two bedrooms.
The kitchen area is very cramped - really only fits one person at a time. So it proved not very practical for 6 adults and two babies. A nice set of crockery is provided but with 6 of us we kept running out of bowls / plates/ cutlery because it was in the dishwasher waiting to be washed. We needed to buy spare pedal bin liners (none left) and dishwasher tablets (only 3 provided). So Self catering for 6 over several days could be frustrating. Lounge area is spacious, comfortable and pleasant.
The setting? On a farm surrounded by fields and quiet. There is a small wind farm next door but you don't notice it from the cottages. Donkeys and chickens for the children to look at, The surrounding scenery is flat, big grain fields. St Osyth is nearby and is a pleasant large village with a couple of supermarkets, Indian restaurants and Bistro/café. And nearby? Jaywick, which is apparently the most deprived area in England is the next village. Clacton and Frinton are also nearby and are both very busy - we struggled to find a parking space in genteel select Frinton . We saw big queues of traffic heading for the area so best to time your arrival away from peak hours. So, Park Hall is indeed a quiet oasis near to the frantic Essex seaside.

Date of stay: August 2018
2  Thank pgwswth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Recently had the wonderful experience of a 4 night stay at Park Hall, staying in "The Old Stable" cottage.
Park Hall & the cottages are on 400 acres of the most peaceful countryside & if you wished you could easily spend your time walking around the grounds.
From start to finish our short break was simply perfect.
The cottage we stayed in was beautifully maintained & tastefully decorated & in keeping with the history of the cottage & Park Hall. Trish, our wonderful hostess/owner had thought of every possible thing you might need from a cottage & has a tasteful eye for detail. It truly is a "home from Home"
We were warmly greeted by Trish on our arrival, along with her friendly, cheeky & adorable Norfolk Terriers (& the sweetest mini Dachshund Ebony). We were truly made to feel so very much at home at Park Hall & enjoyed 2 fabulous walks with our dog & Trish with her Norfolk Terriers.
We really were made to feel so welcome at by Trish & her lovely Norfie's (a special big mention to the adorable Suzie Crumble who would wonder over to see us morning & evening for a little play time with our dog) So very cute :))))
Hopefully we will get to stay at Park Hall again & if you are contemplating booking a holiday there, read all the other 5* reviews & stop thinking about it. Book it, you really won't regret it.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank places2seeplaces2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish F, Owner at Park Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. Your lovely comments are much appreciated and make all the hard work we put into keeping our cottages immaculate so very much worth while.

We loved having you all to stay with us and are very pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Woody is certainly a delight and so very well-behaved. I know that Suzy Crumble took a shine to him.

I do hope you find the time in your bust schedules to come and visit us again. You would be very welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

I just returned from Park hall after celebrating my husband's birthday. My kids stayed in the country house whereas we stayed in the cottage. We only stayed for one night but I wished I could stay longer as there is so much to do. The Clay shooting experience was great. David, the teacher, was kind and patient. The Spa experience was relaxing. The owners are kind and friendly. Breakfast presented beautiful and tasted good. Peaceful surroundings. My dog loved it. The rooms are full with goodies. Clacton-on-Sea nice beach to explore.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ayelet1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish F, Owner at Park Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for your great review. It was my pleasure to look after you and your family for the special occasion of your husband's birthday and I am delighted that you all enjoyed your experience of Park Hall.

I will pass on your lovely comments to David at the shooting club and also to Terri who looked after you in the relaxation room.

I do hope you will visit Park Hall again to enjoy our peaceful surroundings, you will all be most welcome.

Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews