We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy and quaint, good location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Orchard

Wisteria covered frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wisteria covered frontage
English cottage storage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Wisteria covered frontage
English cottage storage
Kitchen
Butler sink
Relaxing bathroom
Relaxing bathroom
Cosy Lounge
log burner for the cosy winter nights
Flowers picked from the garden last year
Beautiful colour
Early days of the wisteria
Cosy lounge
Bedroom
Bedroom
Pretty bedroom
Landing
Spring time
Flowers in bloom
Retaining wall starting to bloom
Arlington bluebell wood in early May
Front of Cottage in May
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Battle, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LadyLilia...
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Comfy and quaint, good location”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A lovely little cottage with plenty on the plus side. Very comfortable lounge and bedroom and everything you could wish for in the kitchen. A cute patio for two and useful summer house if extra space needed (steps up). Central heating system very good and there is a woodburner which we didn't use but would make the lovely lounge even more cosy on winter nights. Busy road but little traffic noise, well insulated. On the downside, the loo and bathroom are off the kitchen (not ideal for getting up in the night!), and parking can be found on the street usually but may be 50 - 100 yards away but safe enough - don't park on the useful layby next to the cottage as its private. The leaves and garden need a trim and the sign Little Orchard now almost covered up by foliage. Overall though, a lovely retreat and very central for touring around. We may well make a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable lounge and bed
Liked least: toilet off the kitchen and very small
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for the kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards Liz and Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
956isabel...
Tubingen, Germany
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had such a great time in Little Orchard and Battle! Breakfast in the morning sun, a hot soup on a colder day in the cosy cottage and nice evenings with DVDs. The communication with Keith was uncomplicated, whatever you need, you'll find it in the kitchen :-)

Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for the kind words Liz and I are very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulstons
Woodcote, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely but selective”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My wife an I enjoyed our stay here.

Pros:
Made for two, very small but old and cosy - even the bedroom is on a quirky slope such is the age of the fine building, lovely cottage garden, All facilities you require - bath with shower head - tables for eating are foldaways in front room, Belfast sink! TV and Wifi with selection of DVDs. It is a place we would stay again so that tells you we approve, however...

Cons:
I am 5 ft 9 in and bumped my head going up to the bedroom (its one room upstairs). There are several flash points where you can bump your head and I did it again on the jutting out drain pipe in the garden.
Parking is okay, but sometimes its hard getting a roadside space as we found out when we arrived at 5pm on a Monday - to be fair the rest of the time was fine although schools not off yet. You are on a secondary road out of Battle so there is traffic at rush hours but it did not worry us.
Separate toilet near entrance with small kitchen, bathroom is next to kitchen at other end.

Overall, well worth a visit but the Cons are for the slightly more fussy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage style feel
Liked least: low door frames and traffic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you for kind words,
Very glad you enjoyed your stay, and would think of returning. Yes we agree the cottage is cosy and we love it as well, Kind regards Liz and Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you for the kind words and so glad you enjoyed your stay
Kind regards Liz and Keith
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emma W
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect, cosy little cottage!”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My partner and I stayed in this cottage over the Easter bank holiday weekend, and we had a great time! The house was exactly what we were hoping for - quaint and cosy, with everything we needed for a long weekend. We loved the old-fashioned style of the cottage and being able to light the fire, and the attention to detail made the house feel homely. It was in a very good location to explore Battle, and we also got the train to Hastings one day. Keith was very helpful, and allowed us to stay a bit later than planned when our train was cancelled.

We would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet weekend in a beautiful little cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The old-fashioned style of the cottage.
Liked least: There was some noise from the road and wind at night as the windows may not have been double glazed, but this did not affect us much.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Hello thank you for the kind review very much appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing