We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$165
Hotels.comUS$165
Trip.comUS$248
PricelineUS$166
TravelocityUS$165
eDreamsUS$165
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
363
122
27
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
363
122
27
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sleigh bed garden suite four poster lovely garden cooked breakfast country house fine dining yogurt a lovely stay bistro menu cooked to order lovely hotel two night stay good size full english stayed for two nights road noise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2021

It is so easy to make a COVID secure experience feel like a tick list- but our two nights were so relaxed and chilled that it felt as if we had been away for much longer.

The room (room 5) was perfect - everything worked. Tea, coffee and kettle as per normal- and very nice shampoo etc and a shower that didn't need an instruction manual.

They explained that under the new COVID restrictions, to limit contact, the rooms were not serviced if staying for two nights. As we were there for just two nights, the room was not cleaned, and the bed was not made etc. - but this was not an issue for us, and we were perfectly happy with this arrangement, but if we needed anything (which we didn't) there was always someone about to help.

Breakfast- we were given a list the night before and picked what we wanted and a time. We arrived at the allocated time to find the table laid and the cold items waiting for us—pristine cutlery and crockery. The hot breakfast was made to order, and it was possibly one of the best English breakfast that I have had. Everything was perfect, and nothing was too much trouble.

Check-in and check-out were easy, and the staff were a credit to the hotel.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ginge59_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2021 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in this small boutique hotel. We stayed in a sleigh bed (so comfortable!) room with double doors opening over the delightful bar & beer garden. The hotel is completely COVID safe from the outset of ringing the doorbell on arrival to masks & social distancing throughout. The room was very clean (as was the whole hotel) and was immaculately kept. We dined in the hotel on the first night & had breakfast both mornings. All locally produced fair & a delicious Abbey ale from Battle on tap. There are lovely grounds to walk round & we did spot a fair few rabbits! We used the hotel as a base to visit Battle, Pevensey & Rye. I would totally recommend staying here for some R&R, you will be treated very well by all the staff.

Room tip: You will need a car as the roads are narrow & mstly no pavements.
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JMD1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 June 2021

Beautiful "boutique" hotel, lovely and well maintained garden. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had a very tasting meal in the beer garden at the end of a long day. The room was extremely clean with a comfortable bed and pillows. However, we would have loved to find a bottle of water (in this very hot weather) on arrival with some milk in the fridge and maybe some biscuits.
We enjoyed our stay for sure and will happily return.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Delightful room. Not particularly large, but tastefully furnished, huge comfortable bed, great shower. We enjoyed the beer garden, and hotel grounds are beautiful. Food was excellent, and plenty of it! Staff very friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gillw144
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

My husband booked a 2 night stay for us as part of our Pearl wedding Anniversary.
An easy hotel to find clearly signposted on the way in.
Ample parking space and due to covid restrictions our room key was waiting for us on the piano through the front door. We headed upstairs to a large room with a lovely sleigh bed, two arm chairs and a Juliette balcony. I do feel the room is very basic though, lacking character or colour rather beige. We paid £150.00 per night even though we read the speil I would have liked to see a coffee machine and bath sheets. I'm reasonably slim but the bath towel barely covered me. Two bottles of water and maybe small bottles of fresh milk would be a nice touch with homemade biscuits. All those little touches make it special.
We headed downstairs for a drink, but as no other guests appeared we decided we didn't fancy dining on our own so headed out to the local Co-op and bought cheese, biscuits and wine we did move the chairs and coffee table to the end of the bed as we wanted to eat and watch a film. TV is quite far from the bed if your deaf like me and I didn't fancy crumbs in bed!
We slept well room was rather hot though, even with a fan and the window open. The shower was fabulous though can't fault that.
Breakfast is pre ordered on a sheet full English, continental or omelettes available our juice, cereal was laid out on our arrival. We were served by the lovely Becky who did appear to say the hob wasn't working so we could not have eggs or mushrooms, we were offered extra croissants and pastries. Nothing was too much trouble, breakfast was very enjoyable. We went for a walk around the pretty garden and admired the Koi carp.
We visited Bodiham Castle and Scotney in the afternoon, well worth a visit and dined that evening at Queens Head Sedlescombe a lovely pub then headed back to the hotel and had a drink in the beer garden. Becky was on duty again a lovely lady she had mentioned a free drink to us but by then, we had paid we really didn't mind the missing breakfast items.
Our breakfast next day again was lovely, on our departure we said goodbye to the staff and what we believe was the owner.
We certainly enjoyed our stay and would happily return.

Room tip: Parking was easy lots of spaces gravel car park. A fridge in the room so good for storing cold drinks to take out each day. Towels on the small side.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FranC706
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews