We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$160
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/07/01
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$160
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
359
119
27
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
359
119
27
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sleigh bed garden suite four poster lovely garden cooked breakfast country house fine dining yogurt a lovely stay bistro menu cooked to order lovely hotel two night stay good size full english stayed for two nights road noise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2020 via mobile

We stayed here overnight and had a most lovely stay , we would both highly recommend ! Dinner was amazing as was breakfast, the staff were attentive and friendly. My partner had the veal I had the vegetarian pasta bake . The desserts too were gorgeous, he had rum and raisin sponge I had rhubarb crumble, both tasted Devine. The rooms were Beautiful , we had king size sleigh bed .

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michellemorph54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2020

Claverton is a lovely small hotel. Room was very nice with sleigh bed and wonderful autumn views across the fields. Loved being able to have balcony door open especially at this time of year. Everywhere was extremely clean and felt new as it was kept in such good condition.
Breakfast was ample, tasty and not at all greasy. Everything worked well with fruit or cereal waiting on the table and Everyone was always obliging if we wanted more.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and everyone wore face masks, as did we , until we were seated.
Things have been moved to a larger room due to the virus but there is comfortable seating and a small bar as well as the dining tables. Still worked quite well though, our only thought might be to have different music for different times of the day. As we were there three days it was a bit repetitive.
Thank you Claverton for such a nice stay despite the awful weather. We will return.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank surreyapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

My wife and I stayed on one of August 2020's very hot days and sadly like so many hotels in the UK the lack of air conditioning made for a very uncomfortable night's sleep. It must be a frequent issue as, thankfully, there was a fan in the room. I was also very surprised in relation to COVID19 that I did not see one member of staff wearing a face covering at any time during our stay - OK in the outside bar area but not OK in the inside dining area; cleaning staff also did kitchen have face ceverings. On the plus side the room was very comfortable (apart from the heat) and of a good size (we were in the sleigh bed room). There was a nice seating area next to the French windows. The bath/shower room was clean with storage for wash things. The mini fridge in the room was a plus; there were also tea and coffee facilities. The breakfast was more than adequate with good choices. The hotel is in the countryside which suited us fine. It has a nice setting and a large garden. Overall a lovely stay which would have been greatly improved by air conditioning.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank RobertJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

A trip down to the coast took us passed this "5*" destination. Turning into the premises, it felt as though we had pulled into someone's driveway and immediately thought we had taken a wrong turn. The only indication this was not a private home was the makeshift "beer garden" sign. We walked in and found what can only be described as a garden shed and tables and chairs. This is not what you expect from a typical 5* establishment (boutique or not). Service was lacking and we felt like an inconvenience. There is a telephone number to text when you want to place an order for drinks, to alert a member of staff to go to the "shed" to sever. Food was very averaged, and the chicken skewers were frozen. It's a shame as we are big supporters of our local country house hotels and boutique destinations and this was not up to scratch. We paid quickly and unfortunately we won't be back.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank robynh787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry Sainsbury, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2020

Oh dear. You did not like our Beer Garden that we introduced this year! We are surprised that you did not leave before alerting a member of staff to serve you if your first impression was so bad. We have 3 Claverton Hotel signs and the Beer Garden sign, professionally made, is above the Beer Garden entrance which makes sense to us. The "shed" is a handmade wooden structure attached to the Function Room, built by carpenters, so we have an indoor and outdoor Bar to serve drinks at Functions. It sounds like you were the only people in at that time and we do apologise if you felt like an inconvenience as we appreciate every customer who chooses to come to Claverton. However, we have served over a thousand people throughout the Summer and have received so much poitive feedback that we will be opening it again next Summer (apart from when Claverton is booked for the weddings next year). We will be providing the same casual vibe with the outdoor Bar, playing chill out music whilst guests enjoy their drinks at the outdoor seating in the sunshine. At nightime, they can watch the sunset and the fairy lights and candles will be lit. The text number is for Covid-19 test, track and trace and is a legal requirement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2020 via mobile

We were greeted warmly by the owner, Lorraine and we stayed a night in the Garden Suite. This truly is a wonderful country house hotel, worthy of its 5 stars.  It’s not an easy time I’m sure for hoteliers to comply with the rules regarding Covid19, whilst still meeting guests expectations.  Ours weren't just met, they were exceeded.  The grounds are lovely and the beer garden proved perfect for a drink on the decking. The suite (or family room) is roomy, well equipped, very comfortable, has its own fenced off garden area and external door to the car park.  The staff are friendly and helpful. It was like staying in a holiday cottage with all the hotel amenities on hand.  And the full English breakfast is worth every penny.  Good luck to the Claverton going forward. 

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kelv2013uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry Sainsbury, Owner at Claverton Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2020

Thank you fo staying with us and for your lovely review. We are delighted that the Family Room suited your needs and that you enjoyed our Beer Garden and food. I will pass your complimentary remarks on to the staff and we hope to see you again. Kind regards Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews