We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great family weekend.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Rope House

First floor - king size bed, built in wardrobe, cot and travel cot
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
First floor - king size bed, built in wardrobe, cot and travel cot
A beautifully decorated and well-equipped town house in the centre of Southwold Rear courtyard with fisherman's shed, parking for 2 cars and garden furniture - a real suntrap!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
First floor - king size bed, built in wardrobe, cot and travel cot
A beautifully decorated and well-equipped town house in the centre of Southwold
Rear courtyard with fisherman's shed, parking for 2 cars and garden furniture - a real suntrap!
Welcome to The Old Rope House, Southwold
Dining room with piano and toy cupboard
Fitted kitchen with dishwasher, washing machine, tumbledryer, double oven, fridge freezer, microwave
Downstairs shower room, loo and handbasin
Lounge with comfy leather sofas, TV/Video/DVD, Wifi, books and magazines
Entrance hall
Upstairs bathroom with Victorian roll top bath, loo and sink
First floor - King bedded room with cot bed, hairdryer, built in wardrobe and linen basket.
Front king bedded room overlooks the beautiful St Edmunds Church
First floor - twin bedded room, wardrobe and dressing table - views of iconic Southwold Lighthouse
Second floor - twin bedded room with views of St Edmunds Church
Finishing touches....
Rest awhile...
Breakfast in bed...
Southwold beach huts...
Gallery Thea ceramics....
Southwold Lighthouse....
Christmas at The Old Rope House.....
Christmas at The Old Rope House.....
Christmas at The Old Rope House....
Twinkly lights and a cosy living room for your Christmas....
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Southwold, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paulinej1...
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great family weekend.”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We are a family of eight plus three year old and dog and we all had a lovely time at the Old Rope House. We did big family meals and found everything we needed. The house is spacious warm and comfortable It really felt like home from home. We liked the easy access to the high street and as we did a brewery tour it was literally just down the road. We managed to park three cars at the back of the house. As the shower room is at the end of the kitchen we thought on a return visit we would bring bath robes. The owner couldn't t have been more helpful and made us feel very welcome.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Thank you - I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves - I hope we'll see you again!

Sian Mortlock
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb221153
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in southwold”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic stay in Southwold, at the Old Rope House. Fantastic position really close to great pubs and the High street. House had everything we could possibly need. Really spacious and warm. Lovely owner made it all so easy and was amazingly helpful. Would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you Debbie - I'm so glad you enjoyed your weekend, Sian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BakerEnse...
Bourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In a word 'superb'...Spacious, clean & well equipped, a true Seaside Home.”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Old Rope House is deceptively spacious offering generous living accommodation, we had 8 adults & a baby in the family group and were able to enjoy the space, lots of original character & charm, a large Dining Room Table, good sized bedrooms, great heating system and plenty of hot water and a large lounge with comfortable sofas, games, books,TV, DVD etc. etc.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2016
Thank you so much Baker family! I'm so glad you enjoyed your weekend at The Old Rope House - do come again......Sian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillianF
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Could not have asked for any more”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This Large/spacious house had every thing our three generations could want. The house was clean and tidy. Bedding and beds where clean and comfortable. A good selection of beds for all ages from baby/toddler/child. High chairs, stair gates, toys, books, games but not intrusive. This house is suitable for all ages or group of adults. It had the best equipped kitchen I have ever seen, plenty of cutlery (even child's) and crockery. It takes about 3 minutes to walk to the town and 5 mins to the beach. The owner is most helpful with our arrangement's and we will definitely recommend and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An excellent place for a family celebration”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We very much enjoyed our long weekend (assisted by good weather) and appreciated the welcome offered. Instructions clear and easy to follow. Visitors' Book indicated a string of satisfied guests. We would recommend it to anyone who wants a self-catering holiday close to the centre of Southwold, but away from the most stringent parking restrictions,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing