We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good Value, Great Space, Quiet and Peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
Walking along the seashore to the harbour.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Walking along the seashore to the harbour.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Walking along the seashore to the harbour.
View from the living room into the small front garden.
double bedroom with view of the chestnut tree over the road.
double bedroom with large duvet and ample storage
ample storage in the back bedroom with large built in wardrobe and shelving
Our hut is near Southwold lighthouse.
Holiday makers on Southwold beach near Susi's cafe, about 150yds from our hut.
Enjoying a family breakfast at the beach hut on a sunny morning .
Looking towards Southwold pier from the beach
Build memories to last a lifetime.
Having fun near our hut.
Southwold sea shore.
Wonderful poppies llooking towards Southwold pier last summer.
We love to buy fresh fish from the huts at the harbour.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Southwold, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet S
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

After arriving at chestnut cottage we decided the first thing to do was to make a cup of tea, out of three teapots not one was clean! Same for the coffee pots. Don't know why so many. Perhaps if there was only one of each they would have been cleaner. So decided to put one of them in the dishwasher, that was the next cleaning job before we could put anything in it! The washing up bowl was filthy underneath and the saucepan rests either side of the cooker were covered in grease. It didn't take long to put these right but would have been better not to have to have done them in the first place. I did draw the line at cleaning the thick cobwebs in the kitchen! We did dread going to look at the bed upstairs but the bed was comfy and clean and the bed linen was lovely. However when having a shower a long dark hair made its way into the bath, not ours as we both have short hair, I presume it was on the shower curtain. Also there was no blind/curtains in the two bathrooms. This house seems to have multiples of things as though it's a dumping ground. It seems a thorough clean was not carried out between lets. Only one shop nearby. All restaurants, pubs, shops 20 min walk away as is the beach.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
We let our holiday home, in the hope that our visitors enjoy Southwold and the surrounding area as much as we do. Many return year after year . Our 'Comments Book 'at the cottage is full of tales of happy,care free holidays had by many, very satisfied customers who return home with joyful memories of their time in Southwold . A love of this wonderful area and happy memories are what we aim to gift our visitors.

We describe our accommodation accurately. It is a small, well equipped ( e.g. 3 teapots and 3 coffee pots of varying sizes ), comfortable, simply styled, modern semi detached, double glazed ,gas centrally heated cottage 20 mins walk from Southwold town Square and the beach. It is simple, not luxury accommodation, with the option of also renting our beach hut if required. We ask that both properties be left as they were found and both are cleaned after each guest.

It is our normal practice to welcome new visitors at the cottage on their arrival, to give them the keys , show them the house, explain how to work the boiler etc and to answer any questions they may have. We also explain that we live 40 mins away. We give them our home phone number and ask that, should they have any problem or concern at all, to let us know at once, so that we can try to do something about it straight away and then we leave them to ,hopefully, enjoy their Southwold holiday.

We are very sorry that in this instance, our guests were disappointed and wish they had got in touch with us at the time to make us aware of their concerns. We would then have been in a position to go to Southwold and try to address them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: price and spaciousness
Liked least: limited outlook from sun room as garden is quite small and hedged in for privacy.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that Chestnutt Cottage more than lived up to your expectations. We were very pleased to meet you both on your arrival , to give you the keys and to show you round the cottage. Southwold is an ideal base for anyone with an interest in wildlife - being near Minsmere RSPB reserve and with the Hen Reedbeds only a mile down the road. I hope you found the maps and walking guides that are on the book shelves in the cottage useful.Thank you very much for taking the time to let others know you has such a good holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vicky H
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Southwold Jewel”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A delightful cottage in nearby Reydon, was welcomed by Judith & Chris the owners of Chestnutt Cotttage. Stayed here with my husband & 2 small children, the cottage was clean, tidy and had everything we needed. We took advantage of the beach hut which was also very clean, fully equipped and a great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach Hut
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2015
We are very pleased you had such a great holiday and that Chestnutt Cottage lived up to your expectations..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol R
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well equipped modern cottage”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This modern cottage is in a good location, both for walking to Southwold and driving to other Suffolk attractions.
The kitchen is well equipped, and the lounge and bedrooms comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2013 for a stay in July 2011

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$148
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing