We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (843)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveller rating
283
330
147
48
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
283
330
147
48
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews southwold suite hot water no lift evening meal one night stay full english new owners lovely hotel enjoyable stay the staff were friendly and helpful top floor large room few minutes walk within easy walking distance eggs benedict smoked salmon shower room
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 843 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We stayed at The Blyth for 2 nights to celebrate our Golden Wedding. We had a great stay in the Southwold Room,which is a very large and comfortable room, with a feature fireplace.. The hotel staff were very friendly and even gave us an anniversary card, which we appreciated very much. The breakfasts and dinner at the hotel were both excellent. Time in the bar is a great way to end an evening. Southwold is a very nice town, with good walks, we enjoyed our stay very much, and would recommend the Blyth

Room tip: The hotel is in a very good position for all amenities
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shrub10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Great hotel on edge of town & 10mins walk sea front Big double room with view to street & garden Breakfast Good quality
Ideal position to visit Southwold with all its points of interest & Adnam's Brewery No need to use your car once parked up

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hellie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

When I read some of the reviews before setting off on our weekend away, I was starting to worry a bit. We had booked 2 rooms, and one was for my elderly Mum, and I hoped I hadn’t made a mistake.

Well, I needn’t have worried, we had a great stay. The place is obviously being refurbished and some parts look aged and in need of repair. But we found the ambience and general feel of the place absolutely charming. The rooms were clean and well equipped, the bathrooms tidy, and the shower worked well once I’d got the hang of it.

Everyone was very friendly and welcoming, and we spent a couple of evenings in the bar in the evening playing cards and laughing. It was quiet and relaxed, just what we wanted.

The breakfasts were good, though the full English could have been a bit bigger for my husband’s appetite, and more than one piece of bacon and one sausage would have been welcomed by him.

This is obviously a hotel with a lot of potential for development. Things aren’t slick and completed yet, but that doesn’t take anything away from the general feel of the place.

We really enjoyed it.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank jensmith64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Spent a lovely 3 nights here for our honeymoon.
hotel room clean, staff friendly
breakfast delicious
we were are the front of the hotel and if there was a critisism (which there isn't really) it was rather noisy.
shower was a little lethel as could regulate the temperature very well
August 2017

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank CJS2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel seriously needs to work on its “kerb appeal”
When you arrive to table and chairs all over the place, brollies scattered on the floor and weeds galore. Doesn’t create a great first impression.

Staff very friendly, room was clean but stifling hot (only 1 window would open) Bathroom dated but great drench shower , over the bath. Smallest TV in the world, but to be honest we didn’t visit to watch TV.

Breakfast was a real highlight and surprise. Good quality bacon, sausage etc - cooked and presented really well.

I appreciate the owners are quite new but for not a lot of money this place could we really smartened up.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KarlTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews