We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
175
60
33
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
60
33
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nespresso machine room restaurant teething problems complimentary bottle on arrival apple tv outstanding room small bottle turn down service tasting menu overlooking the market place overlooking the square monkfish front of house manager no air con beautiful hotel refurbished hotel
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2018

The Swan sits in the heart of one of the finest seaside towns in the country. Use it as a very nice base to explore the rest of the town, the harbour, lovely walks to Walberswick and Dunwich. The food is good, the bars excellent and the accommodation sublime.

A really lovely place to go for a special occasion.

Room tip: Outstanding Rooms are the best, reassuringly expensive and a lovely view across the Market Square.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RHBRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielAyers, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us, your feedback of your recent stay; we are delighted that you chose The Swan as a base for your visit to Southwold and it is wonderful to hear that we did not disappoint.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

The Swan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

Excellent standard of accommodation and service set in the perfect location. Ideal if you are looking for a relaxing weekend away to chillout and recharge. The staff on reception were tentative as were the restaurant staff. Our room had every amenity you would actually expect from a 5 star property. Try the porridge for breakfast, its a must and will set you up for a cold winters day.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielAyers, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Andrew, thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us; we are so very pleased that you were impressed with The Swan and we will be sure to pass your comments onto the Reception and Food and Beverage teams.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your relaxing stay at the hotel and very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.

The Swan Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

We had a most enjoyable stay at this hotel. Upgraded to a delightful quiet room at rear. All the staff were charming, well trained and highly efficient. They all were clearly part of a friendly team working together for the benefit of their customers. Dinner and breakfast were delicious. Still Room is a little soulless.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Go32606387540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielAyers, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our team will be delighted to read this review and it is delightful to read that you picked up on the teamwork that we promote at The Swan.

Chef and his kitchen team will be pleased to know that your dinner and breakfast were delicious and we share your feedback on the Still Room with our Restaurant Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Best wishes,

The Swan Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

We stayed for 1 night in room one.The room was beautiful. Every detail thought of.Great service. I didnt want to leave.We had dinner in the taproom. The monkfish was amazing and very reasonably priced.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adventure29303475236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielAyers, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that your meal in the Tap Room was amazing.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Best wishes,

The Swan Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Loved our overnight stay and on arrival we were upgraded to room 20 . Thank you to all the staff an amazing customer experience, you’re treated so well from the moment you walk through the door. We’ll be back.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielAyers, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us Allison - our team will be so pleased to hear of this review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Best wishes,

The Swan Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews