We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we could wish for”
other travellers have booked this property
Loom Cottage (far side)  Weavers is next door, nearside. Garage for 'Loom' is further down the lane.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Loom Cottage (far side)  Weavers is next door, nearside. Garage for 'Loom' is further down the lane.
Loom Cottage (far side) in  Spinners Lane.  These are the 1st cottages on the right as you enter.   Loom/access to rear entrance via wrought iron gate (on right).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Loom Cottage (far side)  Weavers is next door, nearside. Garage for 'Loom' is further down the lane.
Loom Cottage (far side) in  Spinners Lane.  These are the 1st cottages on the right as you enter.
Loom/access to rear entrance via wrought iron gate (on right).
Wifi, Blu ray DVD player, 40in flat screen TV, great (up to date) films and books, plus games.
Comfy front room. Leather John Lewis sofas.
Loom Fireplace, Loads of quality books/games available.
3 Seater Sofa Bed, 2 seater sofa, armchair, footstool. Seats 7.
Home from home, tasteful décor. Quirky touches everywhere.40 ins TV, great DVDs!
Bathroom on the right of hallway, kichen/diner at rear. Stable door leads to back yard.
Hallway leading to kitchen/diner
Downstairs Bathroom with power shower over bath, shower switch in hallway. Shower switch in hallway.
Kitchen/Diner   Seating for 4. Stable door to back yard/ outdoor seating. Have breakfast outside!
Well stocked kitchen/diner. Electric touch control hob/ electric oven/ washer/dryer. Ample crockery.
Kitchen/Diner, stable door table and chairs outside
Have breakfast outside! Exit kitchen through stable door, sit in back yard
Stairs from kitchen leading to bedroom, enclosed, handrail, 10 stairs only.
Double Bedroom,  Comfy bed, cotton bedlinen, tranquil setting = a good nights' sleep!
Double bedroom, ample space
Cosy....
Twin Bedroom, comfy mattresses, headboards, 2 side lamps, quality cotton bedding.
Cosy and homely 2nd bedroom, entered via landing from stairs (not steep) with handrail.
Weekly stay Christmas/New Year Hamper
Short Stay (min 3 days) hamper for Christmas/New Year period. Lovely decorations also!
Lovely Christmas decorations in Loom.
Past Blyth Hotel, straight on past Crick Court,  shops (other side). 300m to Spinners Lane turning.
Turn right at John Bennetts Shop into Spinners Lane. Marks Fish + Chip Shop is further on the left.
The far end of Spinners Lane leads to nearby S-wold Common,  where there is additional free parking.
The garage is clearly marked, about halfway straight down The Lane, a few metres from Loom Cottage.
You are here! The first cottages you will see on the right in the lane! Watch the world go by...
Award winning Southwold Pier, see the quirky amusements, try the putting green, or the boating lake.
Take a Lighthouse Tour! See the inland (still in operation) lighthouse.
Gun Hill, famed for its' role in 'The Battle of Sole Bay..
Near the Pier, early evening.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Southwold, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
orangytan...
cambs
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Everything we could wish for”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This lovely little cottage has all the facilities we could wish for in a lovely little package. A washing machine, wifi and even a garage for the car are all included. The main bedroom is a nice size, as is the bathroom, which has an electric shower. The cottage is just 5 minutes or so walk from the centre of Southwold too, but is in a lovely quiet area just round the corner from the lovely common. An excellent cottage for a weeks break, and the information provided by the owner was nothing short of first rate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wasn't anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
Wow! This is a really well put together review, and I am so glad you have enjoyed yourselves and that we managed to meet all of your expectations! It has been an absolute pleasure dealing with you, and I hope you'll return! It's great that you've mentioned room sizes and other details, as this gives other guests a really good idea of what the cottage is like! Thank you so very much, you have put a big smile on my face!!!!!!!!!!Hoorah!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kclarke84
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy, lovely and comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from a week long stay in Southwold. This was our first visit to the area and certainly not the last one. From the moment I booked the cottage, Kerry sent me useful information on both the cottage and Southwold. The cottage was everything we were hoping for and more - cannot think of anything the owners hadn't thought of, from the vast collection of DVD's and games to the little extras like tea and coffee. The cottage was clean, warm and very cosy - loved by all of us including our 12 year old daughter and cocker spaniel. The cottage is in an ideal location, a few minutes walk to the shops and pubs and great for setting off on one of the many walks over the common and golf course. Already planning a return visit next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling at home
Liked least: Packing our suitcase to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you so very much, I couldn't ask for a better review, and it is perfect! What lovely guests, and it always warms the heart to hear of a happy family holiday! We may not be the biggest and grandest but we try our very best to provide a great holiday experience so it's great that these things were so appreciated. I've just come back from a week in Southwold myself, and the walks are fantastic, all the fresh air and lovely scenery certainly swept away the cobwebs. Thank you again for putting a smile on my face, and it would be great to see all of you again sometime (including doggie who looked very friendly).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol P
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage - felt like home.”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have had a fabulous 4 nights stay in Loom Cottage. Everything we needed was provided. Lovely comfortable bed, it was a bit chilly outside at night but we didn't feel it. The stairs are steep for me but I managed them OK. We hardly used our car at all. I am not one for long walks due to ill health but we walked all the way to the quay and back having picked up some delicious shell fish on the way. We so loved being able to just walk into the town and went for a drink at one of the many pubs before our dinner each day. We will definitely be booking again, it is so popular we will probably have to wait until next year before that happens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being near the town centre
Liked least: The stairs, but that is due to my ill health.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
I absolutely love this review, it makes everything sound cosy! We hardly use the car either when we stay because (as you say) everything is so close to hand to the cottage, and the many joys of Southwold include the lovely walks and gorgeous natural beauty! The food is really good as well, lots of people mention the shellfish at The Harbour and after all that sea air it's great that you had a good rest and found the bed so comfy. I'm glad you both felt at home, and I look forward to seeing you both again next year (it'll come by soon!). I'm sure you'll both be invigorated by the sea air and bounding down the High Street and up the stairs in record time! Thank you again, and I'm very happy to be awarded 5 stars! This has made my day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nev W
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm, cosy family cottage”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent the first week of the Easter holidays in Loom Cottage. Communication from the owner before the holiday was very helpful and useful, on arrival we found a clean, well equipped cottage with so many DVD's. The cottage had everything you would need for a family holiday.
The location next to the common and a short walk to the beach and town was perfect for us all, including our dog.
The cottage was warm and cosy , perfect for a relaxing week by the sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2015
Hooray! Thank you for this lovely review and I'm so glad the information I provided was helpful for your stay. I'm also really happy that you and your family had everything you needed. You certainly had a mixture of weather so it's grand you still had such a relaxing stay! Thank you again, and you're welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda S
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay in fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Having returned yesterday from our stay in Loom Cottage in Southwold I felt I have to write a review to say how great it was.
Everything we needed was on hand in the cottage.
We travelled with 2 children aged 11 and 14 and 2 dogs.
The dogs were allowed inside, downstairs but are outside dogs so slept in the garage which was lovely and snug for them.
The cottage was very nicely furnished, the beds were comfy and the cottage very warm.
Being close to the town and sea was great for us and we didn't use the car at all whilst there.
I'd like to thank Kerry for being on hand to help if needed. Nothing was too much trouble.
We will be returning to this lovely cottage.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2015
Thank you so much Lynda, much appreciated! It's great that your party (including pooches) enjoyed your stay and had lots of walks, trips to the beach (in February?)during your stay. It was fortunate that you had some good weather, and I'm so glad you found the cottage warm and cosy.
Perfect review from perfect guests! We would love you to come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing