We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Pier”
Review of Southwold Pier

Southwold Pier
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If one picture on a postcard could sum up an idyllic English Seaside destination it would have to be Southwold Pier. Decked out across the sea in the picturesque coastal town of Southwold, this pillared walkway has a magnetic attraction and something for everyone to enjoy! There's so much to do a whole day can drift by while you walk the planks and explore this historic icon. Please note: Our opening times are weather permitting and therefore can change.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 28 June 2018

I went to the pier during a visit to Southwold, access is free. There are places to eat, an unusual amusement arcade and a water clock. There is also a tunnelling telescope. The pier is well worth a visit, recommended. Bus from Great Yarmouth is first an X1 to Lowestoft, then a 99 to Southwold, the 61 no longer runs.

Thank B7152FJpeterw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at Southwold Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear B7152FJpeterw,

Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Southwold Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"water clock"
in 245 reviews
"amusement arcade"
in 126 reviews
"fish and chips"
in 115 reviews
"slot machines"
in 76 reviews
"shops and cafes"
in 41 reviews
"boardwalk restaurant"
in 24 reviews
"colourful beach huts"
in 22 reviews
"eating places"
in 22 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 86 reviews
"great fun"
in 73 reviews
"nice walk"
in 30 reviews
"visited southwold"
in 29 reviews
"tim hunkin"
in 34 reviews
"zimmer frame"
in 27 reviews
"cake"
in 30 reviews
"scones"
in 23 reviews
"lovely place"
in 27 reviews
Filter

150 - 154 of 2 199 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

I haven't been to many piers but even so, this has to be the best in the world.
I've no idea what the food's like there. Or the shows. Nor do I care.
It's the Tim Hunkin arcade games - they are fanastic; they are unique (literally).
Where else can you play at getting across a busy road with a zimmer frame, being a fly and see the guy swat his own head with poo, exercise lying down on a bed, experience a bathyscaphe leaking, create life with electricity, and so much more.
It's hilarious - if you go the pier for nothing else, it is time and money well spent.

Thank StephenNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at Southwold Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear StephenNottingham,

Thank you for your review of the Under the Pier Show.

Next time you visit, please do stop by one of the Restaurants or Cafe's, they really offer great food.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Southwold Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We walked around Soutwold to finally stroll along the Soutwold Pier. Lovely pier with a shop, a small restaurant and an oldskool arcade.

Thank Menno007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at Southwold Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Menno007,

Thank you for your review.

So pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Pier and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Southwold Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Came all the way from Devon specifically to visit the Under the Pier Show. We were lucky enough to get the most glorious weather and the whole experience was a real treat. We had the bonus of the whole pier being lovely with beautiful views. The machines in the Under the Pier Show are delightful and we could spot Tim Hunkin's humour and handiwork in many places round the pier. Don't miss getting your award of the realm from the excellent machine just outside the main Show! Wish we were nearer, would love to return.

Thank MWDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at Southwold Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear MWDevon,

Thank you for your review.

The Under the Pier show is really interesting and attracts lots of visitors so I'm pleased you enjoyed it.

Hopefully, you'll be back in the area in the future to pay a return visit.

Kind regards,
Southwold Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Been to Southwold many times & never before have we experienced the millions of small black flying insects that greeted visitors to the pier this morning, everyone was covered & they were even in the shops too......fortunately when we returned later in the day they had all flown off, apart from the few in the shop windows....hope this hasnt put people off visiting the pier & Southwold....

Thank neddy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_GoughGrp, Manager at Southwold Pier, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear neddy1956,

Thank you for your review.

Unfortunately, the whole of Suffolk has been visited by those tiny bugs so I'm afraid its not just us or Southwold.

Hopefully our little visitors will have left by the time you return.

Kind regards,
Southwold Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southwold Pier also viewed

Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to Southwold Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing