We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we promised to return and are so pleased we did”
Review of Starburger

Starburger
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Haverhill
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Clean and friendly café by day and Turkish restaurant by night. Waitress service, catering for all types especially families. High chairs provided. During the day foods such as: all day breakfast, burgers and chips, omelettes, grilled chicken, liver and bacon,grilled sirloin steak, jacket potatoes, toasted sandwiches and hot filled baguettes. Cold food such as: salads, sandwiches and baguettes. Desserts: chocolate fudge cake or apple pie served with cream or ice cream, banana boats, ice cream sundaes and knickbocker glory!! Everything freshly cooked to order and served with hot a cold drinks including flavoured lattes, freshly ground coffee, tea, hot chocolate, pepsi, 7up, tango and various flavoured milkshakes. In the evening the ambience changes and we do typical Turkish hot and cold meze plus grilled meats, rice and salads. Fully licensed serving cocktails and much more. We also have a takeaway counter and can prepare food for collection by telephone.
Restaurant details
Description: Clean and friendly café by day and Turkish restaurant by night. Waitress service, catering for all types especially families. High chairs provided. During the day foods such as: all day breakfast, burgers and chips, omelettes, grilled chicken, liver and bacon,grilled sirloin steak, jacket potatoes, toasted sandwiches and hot filled baguettes. Cold food such as: salads, sandwiches and baguettes. Desserts: chocolate fudge cake or apple pie served with cream or ice cream, banana boats, ice cream sundaes and knickbocker glory!! Everything freshly cooked to order and served with hot a cold drinks including flavoured lattes, freshly ground coffee, tea, hot chocolate, pepsi, 7up, tango and various flavoured milkshakes. In the evening the ambience changes and we do typical Turkish hot and cold meze plus grilled meats, rice and salads. Fully licensed serving cocktails and much more. We also have a takeaway counter and can prepare food for collection by telephone.
Reviewed 27 February 2021

We promised to return and this time it was, because of the current restrictions, delivered, faster than promised and, utterly, utterly delicious. People of Haverhill, please support this restaurant. Fantastic chargrilled chicken and lamb, tender, succulent and totally yum. A salad that, unusually for take away, was not just edible but actually tasty. Sauces that set the tastebuds tingling and flat breads to mop up the juices so that nothing was lost. I'm hoping it wont be long before we can meet friends in this restaurant but until then, we'll be back for more takeaway.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Food
Thank suemissb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2021

Just loving our Thursday Turkish Takeaways during this time. Can't wait for when you can open back up for Restaurant dining. Great value for money. Corinne and Rick

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank O9562FBrickl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2021

Thank you so much for our absolutely delicious take away which was delivered piping hot and on time tonight even though it’s snowing and the roads are treacherous !! The surprise pudding was an added bonus and very much appreciated . We can’t wait to be able to come and dine in with you again. Thank you for making our birthday celebration special.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Suealar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2020

I booked a table and kept quiet that the restaurant I was taking my husband to for his birthday was a burger bar by day. It morphs into a Turkish / mediterranean place by night. Haverhill high street is not known for its fine dining opportunities but we thought we'd give the place a try. First impressions from the street promote the burger vibe but, having had our temperatures checked and sanitiser applied we were escorted to a table to the rear of the room and had a chance to examine the menu, absorb the ambience and things started to look up. General atmosphere was being generated by a large party but the place filled up rapidly with couples and small groups and within a few minutes the place was bustling, noisy and generally buzzing. The menus on the tables were clean (always a plus) and service was prompt and pleasant. With drinks in our hands we ordered a mixed meze to share and a couple of main dishes - one shish and one from the specials list. The next arrivals at the table were a salad a tsatsiki type dish and a chutney with some warm flat breads which were unexpected but delicious. Our meze arrived shortly after and were divine, the baba ganoush in particular was wonderful and the hummus, although very different to the smooth versions of this dish commonly found, was flavourful and very tasty. Taramosalata was very pink and very creamy and the stuffed vine leaves were some of the nicest I've ever had. We were offered a break before our mains which was appreciated. The lamb and chicken shish platter was terrific; tender lamb without any fat or gristle with the smokey flavour from the grill and slightly charred edges while the chicken was soft and tender. All on a plate with piles of sliced vegetables and a portion of perfect rice. The chicken saute was a very flavourful dish, rich with aubergine and mushrooms. If I have a criticism it is that the chef has a rather liberal hand with the salt but that is a small fault in what was a delightful meal. Surroundings are clean but somewhat utilitarian. Loos are clean and well maintained. Seats are comfortable and Covid precautions are in place. Nothing not to like. As for the food, the plates are quirky and the presentation is unpretentious - no micro herbs and nonsense here. Just excellent tasty dishes using good quality ingredients. When we go agin we'll be sure to be hungry and will stick with a bowl of olives to start. After that, I'll be having the lamb again. Overall, I thoroughly recommend Star Grill - it is a shining star in what is otherwise a culinary black hole.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suemissb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali Y, Owner at Starburger, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We look forward to seeing you again as soon as lockdown is over. Don’t forget during lockdown we are providing our meals as a takeaway and delivery. Survival is crucial during these uncertain times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2020

While I completely sympathies with the hospitality industry being hit hard during this awful pandemic, and fully understand there will be price increases, a 33% on the meat platter is completely outrageous. Maybe they need to consider it’s not just the restaurant trade that’s been financially hit hard!!
Will not use again.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank stad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali Y, Owner at Starburger, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2020

Our original prices were set in November of 2019 as an introductory price when our business was new. The prices should have increased during the following year but because of the pandemic we froze them and just offered takeaway and delivery. However now that we have been through two lockdowns and our restaurant is open again we have had to increase the prices. We have however added extra items to the meat platter, so you are getting more for the money. We are not a takeaway and delivery establishment we are a fully licensed restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Starburger also viewed

Haverhill, Suffolk
 
Haverhill, Suffolk
Haverhill, Suffolk
 

Been to Starburger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.