We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveller rating
369
304
135
47
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
369
304
135
47
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub fish and chips scotch egg dog owners beer garden marsh view pork belly suffolk coast dunwich heath great lunch stable block family room dog friendly pub pudding open fire shingle beach large garden
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 874 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

Best fish and chips in the area. Ed go back year on year. The place is always packed and there is sometimes a line to place your order but it’s worth it. They have a lovely outside garden as well. Lots of higgildy piggildy spots.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank GrishGrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018

Lovely place for a beach side stay, meal, drink or just the fresh air.
Local beers are worth trying and the food is always good.
Easy walking to all local points and plenty to see and do.
Very historic area and must return at low tide to see the lost town

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CLIVE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

The room was great, small but nice and clean and plenty big enough for us and our dog. We were in one of the outside rooms which suited us because we didn't need to disturb people when we got up early with the dog
I understand that the hotel changed hands in July - it just seems a bit lost at the moment. The staff were okay but several of the young waitresses really needed to smile a bit more and there seemed a lack of anybody being in charge.
Food was okay - portions enormous though. We arrived on a Sunday and when we went to dinner at 8 pm all of the roasts had sold out which was a shame.
When we came to checking out I found that loads of items (drinks and deserts to the value of nearly £100) that we hadn't had had appeared on our bill. I explained this and the lady removed them so make sure you check you have had what you are being charged for.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay, it is in such a lovely location with so many nice walks and villages nearby.
Maybe somebody will take charge and get it up to scratch soon, it would be a shame if not.

Room tip: The 'good' rooms are quite small but perfectly adequate, especially if you have a dog.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JudithMLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We ate at The Ship early on a busy Saturday evening and had a fun time with excellent food and service and would thoroughly recommend.

The Ship is a fascinating old building that overflows with character and warmth in both the bar and restaurant. The menu is broad and the portions generous and very tasty. All. The staff were welcoming and attentive. We will return!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Spikey1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Great setting being close to the beach, main building has good character, good choice of dining areas and bar with wood burner. Our room was comfortable and nicely equipped, though was a little warm. Breakfast was very good, the full English set me up for the day! Evening menu choice was reasonable and portion sizes were generous. A very enjoyable stay!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank stevenn669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews