We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (864)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveller rating
362
302
134
47
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
362
302
134
47
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub fish and chips scotch egg dog owners beer garden marsh view suffolk coast pork belly great lunch dunwich heath sister pub stable block family room dog friendly pub open fire pudding shingle beach
Filter
Updating list...
387 - 392 of 864 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Excellent lunch in this most dog friendly, welcoming establishment. It is obviously very popular as it was busy on a Monday lunchtime in early March. The fish & chips is as good as other reviews have stated. Worth the long walk to get there! Look forward to a return visit.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Having spent a lovely weekend at the ship l have some observations to make. At23.30 hrs the fire alarm sounded we gathered ourselves and pet dog and made our way to the road at the front of the pub . Bearing in mind that the rooms were all occupied only 8 people gathered outside. We were told by the night porter that it was a false alarm and we could return to our rooms but he couldn't silence the alarm and the duty manager would have to travel in and do it. About 15 minutes later it went silent.

I think several points need to be addressed. Nobody had a clue where the assembly point was. No instructions in case of fire in the rooms. The middlegate and leat hill rooms and the one in the garden are expected to go right through the pub to get to the road . These rooms can't get to the gate near the gas tanks because it's pitch black .

On a lighter note it would be nice to have a lunchtime menu of rolls , baguettes and panini's. I feel sure a lot of your customers would enjoy a light snack and a pint in the garden in the summer as well as the winter months.
Regards. John Johnson.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MrsandMrHendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipmanager, General Manager at The Ship at Dunwich, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

It is nice to hear that apart from the Fire Alarm incident that you did enjoy your stay. Can I take this moment to apologise for the inconvenience it caused. The alarm was inadvertently raised by another guest who mistook the call point for a light switch.

Our Night Porter did his best to silence the alarm but the system required resetting as not only had a call point had been activated, but another guest decided to attempt to silence the sounder in his room by disconnecting the sensor. This in turn put the whole system into a major fault mode which meant it isn't something straight forward to reset and yes we admit it was a little beyond the training we had given him.

I do feel however that it is fair for us to respond to your review by saying that we do have instructions in the rooms of what do to in the event of a fire including a map on the back of each door that shows how to safely exit the building. We also have a fire system that is monitored by a guardian service who notify the fire brigade should the system show a fire. All of the above is checked by the fire brigade periodically to make sure we offer a safe environment for our guests when staying overnight with us. I will make sure that everyone checking-in has the evacuation maps bought to their attention and that we also mention the fire safety notice in the welcome folder.

We hope that you can accept our apology for a disturbed night and that it hasn't put you off staying again. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you wish to discuss the issue.

Many thanks
Matthew Goodwin
General Manager
The Ship at Dunwich

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016

What a fantastic place to stay. Brilliant location for walking and discovering Suffolk's beautiful villages and coast line. From the minute you arrive you are made to feel like it is your home away from home. Roaring fires, local beers, dog friendly, beautiful bedroom over-looking the marshes and all for a good price! What more can you ask? The staff are so very friendly with nothing being too much trouble. Dinner and breakfast was amazing and great to see so much local produce and home grown food used. It has to be one of the most wonderful, relaxing places that we have stayed in a long time. Love it and will be back very, very soon. Thank you

Room Tip: Marsh Rooms are amazing
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mandy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipmanager, General Manager at The Ship at Dunwich, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Many thanks for taking the time to write such lovely words about your stay with us. It is so rewarding to read that all the things we work so hard to achieve get noticed, enjoyed and appreciated in such a way. We really hope you can join us again for some more Ship shape R&R!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016

My husband is always on a quest for top quality fish and chips but sadly The Ship failed to impress. Given The Ship says F&C is one of their 'classic' dishes with their own recipe batter we decided to give it a try. The pub itself consists of many rooms and it can be tricky to find the bar, but by wandering around you do eventually get there! When we did find the bar no friendly greeting or even a smile was forthcoming from bar staff and the room had a rather overpowering smoke smell from an open wood burner that didn't seem to be drawing properly. Our order of one fish and chips and one steak ciabatta was not up to the standard we had hoped given the relatively high prices. Overall we were disappointed having expected something a cut above average.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank wildernesschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Stayed in March 2016 for a weekend which we enjoyed very much, despite the cold weather. The Ship was very hospitable with an appreciated big log burner. The menu was ok but not great if you are weight conscious like us, a good choice but lacking in a good steak and salad or jacket potato, but not taking anything away from the food it was good quality and quantity, plus well presented.
The staff mainly young ladies were very good, especially over the very nice breakfast.
We were there because the Ship is very dog friendly, both inside and out, with extremely good walks.
A very interesting location just wish we had more time there with warmer weather. A little bit pricey but you don't get "sommat" for "nowt" nowerdays.

Room Tip: If you have a dog then head for the rooms attached nr the car park, very convenient with no disturbance to other residents.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr612015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipmanager, Manager at The Ship at Dunwich, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

The great debate of what we serve on our menus is always a hot topic, we aim to serve great food, be it our more generous dishes such as fish and chips or slow cooked pork belly or our lighter meals like the beetroot and onion tart. All we can promise is that if you cant find something to suit your taste buds or your diet we are always happy to offer alternatives but you do need to let us know. the majority of our customers are here to go for long walk and explore the great outdoors so are usually in need of an extra calorie or two by the time they get to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews