We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little cottage in Stiffkey”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

South facing courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South facing courtyard
Dining area opening onto Courtyard Dining area from kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
South facing courtyard
Dining area opening onto Courtyard
Dining area from kitchen
Bespoke Kitchen from dining area
Bespoke Kitchen
Beamed Lounge
Open fire
Lounge - settle and games
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Hooks
Bathroom
Stiffkey Marshes
Spring in Sheringham Park
Sheringham Park Rhododendron walk
More rhododendron/azaleas
Weybourne mill from Sheringham Park
One view from Sheringham Park Ramblers' walk
Steam train (Sheringham to Holt) - view from Sheringham Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stiffkey, Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little cottage in Stiffkey”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here as a little family for 2 weeks and were very happy with the cottage. There was a wide selection of cooking utensils and games/CDs etc, so it really did feel like a home from home.

The floors were a bit dirty and there were a few cobwebs/patches of crumbling plaster, but many authentic style cottages are like this, but had to watch our little one year old at times. Hygeine was good in the kitchen and bathroom.

The rooms were a good size and we had some restful nights in the bed. One thing to consider is the narrow stairs leading down to the only bathroom downstairs. We were fine, but had to be super stealthy with our baby upstairs and keep the downstairs light on.

Natasha was excellent and professional during the planning stages and during the time we were there.

Stiffkey is a bit awkward with a buggy due to narrow roads, but the location was good for getting to other locations.

Lovely holiday - North Norfolk is superb!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the4pages
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly as advertised and well equipped”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

An enjoyable and comfortable stay as cottage both cosy and extremely well equipped. Weather very kind to us so we made the most of our surroundings visiting Cromer, Wells, Sheringham and local coast walks. The courtyard was a real sun trap although small, but had the weather been disappointing the cottage was pleasant and with open fire should the need arise in winter months! The village shop was quaint and characteristic. We would certainly consider returning in the future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frostj1
England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in a the perfect location”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is a beautiful cottage in the village of Stiffkey. Location wise it cant be beaten, ideally located for Wells, Holkham, Cley and further south down the coast to Cromer & Sheringham. The cottage has been brilliantly extended to offer a great open plan kitchen and diner with bifold doors on to the small yard area ( a great sun trap!). The accommodation is well presented with everything you could need including wifi, DVD player ( fab selection of DVDs too!) dishwasher and good TV. Stiffkey has a great pub and village stores and is perfect for walking through the marshes to either Wells or Cley and then getting the Coasthopper back to Stiffkey. A great spot for a truly relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen/diner and cottage yard
Liked least: I could still get a phone signal!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Hi Jon - Thank you for your kind review. We're so glad you enjoyed the cottage, the village and the surrounding area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic cottage.”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The cottage is situated in a beautiful village with a fab shop and a great pub. The cottage was smart, cosy and had everything you could need to function away from home. We also thoroughly appreciated the information provided prior to the stay .

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind review Janine. We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More wonderful birding!”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Our second visit and it was even better than the first. A lovely cottage, very well equipped and the open coal fire was a joy! So close to Stiffkey Marshes and there were more birds than last year! Blakeney Marshes are within easy reach and also RSPB Titchwell. Lots of geese and a dozen marsh harriers circling together at Titchwell as well as numerous ducks and waders and a barn owl. A magic week!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing