We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected great day out. ”

Pensthorpe Natural Park
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Fakenham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Multiple WINNER of Norfolk's Best Large Attraction, Pensthorpe Natural Park is a great day out for the whole family! Explore one of the largest Wildflower Meadows in Norfolk, enjoy the beauty of 4 stunning gardens, meet some of our rare and native species and run wild in WildRootz, our outdoor adventure play! Whatever the weather, kids can come in for an epic indoor adventure in Hootz House, the award winning indoor adventure play.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We had meant to be going elsewhere but a member of our party wanted to go here, as it was their birthday nobody wanted to disagree, although didn’t seem as interesting as the zoo .

When we arrived, we were treated by a friendly lady who informed us that due to the weather (it was bank holiday Monday and the weather wasn’t amazing) that they’d put admission prices down which is always a bonus. Especially when least expected.

We first saw a lady with an owl who was also very kind spoke to the children and let them stroke the owl.

We then headed to our pre booked play session. It literally is amazing the kids would spend all day in their if they could, and to top it off adults are also allowed in also. With a little shop to buy refreshments (not meals) it’s great! The slides are super fast all ages from 3-26 enjoyed them!

We then went for a walk and done the trail around the park collecting stamps and finding the bunnies with the letters to win a prize.

All the excitement we stopped for food which is amazing and very good value for money ! I also found it very clean.

Another walk round the park the kids asked to play in the play area again. We said we can ask as obviously outside the time slot we book, and the guy kindly let us in again due to it being quiet !! Which us adults where happy about as we got to sit down for 5 mins (before obviously joining the kids racing down the slides)

All round good experience and a good 5hour day out too ! Kids are already asking to go back !

One tip though careful of the ducks they get a bit excited and may nibble your fingers or steal your bag of food !!!

1  Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensthorpe N, Marketing & PR Manager at Pensthorpe Natural Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

We ended up being very lucky to have you as our visitors on a day you were supposed to go elsewhere! It sounds like you had a fabulous day and we really do hope you come back again soon.

Also, happy birthday to the person in your group who was celebrating - we hope it was a birthday to remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"red squirrels"
in 72 reviews
"play area"
in 75 reviews
"the reserve"
in 58 reviews
"all ages"
in 67 reviews
"wild rootz"
in 22 reviews
"land rover"
in 13 reviews
"gift shop"
in 47 reviews
"conservation work"
in 14 reviews
"adventure playground"
in 25 reviews
"water birds"
in 14 reviews
"pond dipping"
in 27 reviews
"ducks and geese"
in 11 reviews
"nature lovers"
in 11 reviews
"amazing play"
in 8 reviews
"great family day"
in 17 reviews
"breeding programme"
in 7 reviews
"bird life"
in 20 reviews
Filter

83 - 87 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

I've been to Pensthorpe at least 5 times in the last few years. I can honestly say, the facilities for a family are superb. The indoor & outdoor childrens play areas are of a very high standard, clean, well maintained & enjoyable for kids of all ages. The birds are a lovely sight with good sized enclosures. Really nice nature trails, very relaxing to take a slow walk. I feel the admission price is good value for money, but mainly for children. There is a good café on site & a lovely gift shop. Perfect for sunny days, perhaps not the best place to visit if the weather isn't pleasant.

Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensthorpe N, Marketing & PR Manager at Pensthorpe Natural Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review.

We hope you continue to visit us over the next few years - have you thought about becoming a member?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Wonderful family day out. Pensthorpe offers such a wide range of activities both indoor and outdoor so you can enjoy your day regardless of the weather. From nature, to exploring to imaginative play there is something for all.

Thank Sage0171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensthorpe N, Marketing & PR Manager at Pensthorpe Natural Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Visited today with our Grandson, as a family we love the outdoors this place has something for all ages.
The indoor and outdoor play area's are fantastic we literally had to drag our Grandson away.
The gift shop has some really unusual items as well as toys, plants and wildlife supplies.
The grounds are beautiful and it is only March, must be amazing in Spring and Summer.
Obviously the wildlife is great, saw cranes and a red squirrel really close up.
There was so much to see, we will definitely return

1  Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensthorpe N, Marketing & PR Manager at Pensthorpe Natural Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review!

We're delighted your grandson enjoyed our play areas and that you got to see some wonderful wildlife close up. We hope he has been inspired by this and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely walk around here on Mother’s Day with my adult daughter. Plenty of families enjoying the indoor and outdoor children’s play area. Unfortunately, Pensthorpe is struggling with the River Wensum flooding, with several footpaths under water. However, the staff have done a very good job of marking out alternative routes in areas not normally open to the public. They are also making new gardens to make more colour all through the year, the wonderful Millennium Garden is not so attractive at this time of the year. This park is constantly evolving, so keep returning.

Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensthorpe N, Marketing & PR Manager at Pensthorpe Natural Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback and for your understanding whilst we manage the flooding situation. We are pleased you took advantage of the alternative routes we opened up - a great way to see some aspects of the park that our visitors wouldn't normally see.

We have a new bird hide opening next month, which is in a new area that has never been accessed by the public before and we are working on a brand new development opening this summer - a Wetlands Discovery Area, which includes a brand new flamingo enclosure for our much loved flock of flamingos.

We hope you enjoy visiting these areas soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pensthorpe Natural Park also viewed

 
Sheringham, Norfolk
 

Been to Pensthorpe Natural Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing