We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing and awesome BloNorton Hall”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blo Norton Hall

The Rear gardens of Blo Norton Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Rear gardens of Blo Norton Hall
The drive up to Blo Norton Hall. The kitchen garden to the rear gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The Rear gardens of Blo Norton Hall
The drive up to Blo Norton Hall.
The kitchen garden to the rear gardens
The side gardens of the Hall
The drive down to the Hall in the autumn
Kitchen with 2 of everything and breakfast room at the rear.
The breakfast room
The A Team working for you to make your stay special.
The main dining hall sitting 18
Main Sitting room with period features and comfy sofas
The quiet room
Bedroom 2 with shower en-suite
The master bedroom
The master bedroom - special occasion
Master bedroom Bathroom
Triple bedroom great for kids with very large full en-suite
The Blue room overlooking the rear gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 21
Diss, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda D
Norwich
2 reviews
“Amazing and awesome BloNorton Hall”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Blo Norton Hall is an amazing place. 18 of us met to celebrate a 60th birthday. We arrived to thick snow which made the whole setting seem so picturesque. Great snowball fight in the grounds ensued! The snow cleared and that gave us a completely different experience. The house has 9 fantastic bedrooms, the lounges are so homely with the great log fies and the ktichen is in a league of its own!!! Fantastic. We used one of the recommended catering companies who came in on the Saturday, prepared, cooked and served a lovely 3-course meal and cleared everything away - all for the cost of only £16 each!! We all dressed in Tudor costumes to get into the mood of the banquet that they served us. We also booked the local clay pigeon shooting man to come to the grounds and teach us to be dead-eyed dicks. Another great experience. I would recommend Blo Norton Hall whole heartedly - we will definitely be going again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLJ13
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful house for large family get together”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Blo Norton Hall is a treasure! We had a very large family get together for Easter week, with people flying in from around the world. Blo Norton Hall was perfect for this. All the bedrooms are individual and interesting and nearly all have their own en suite bathrooms. The kitchen is incredible with two cookers, two dishwasher and more than enough space for the 19 of us. The dining room is spectacular with a huge, long dining table and beautiful paneled wall. The two sitting rooms had enormous log fire, which were needed as the weather was freezing, as does the dining room. Having so much space meant that we never felt on top of each other but when we did all want to be in the same room space was never an issue. We were greeted on arrival and shown around and nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel very welcome. I would highly recommend Blo Norton Hall to anyone who wants a memorable stay in a truly beautiful historic house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is beautiful with plenty of space and very well equipped
Liked least: Can't think of anything that I didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo R
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An AMAZING place to stay with friends!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I've been to stay at Blo Norton four or five times with friends and we are in love with the place. Comfortable beds, roaring fires, massive kitchen for cooking up dinner and then a great big dining room for raucous evening meals. Also lots of places to amble to (local windmill, the pub - of course!) and trees to climb.

It has equal parts charm and history, beauty and cosiness. A rather grand home that welcomes you with a long tree-lined driveway. There is a BBQ out back for al fresco dining and lots of nooks and crannies to go and read a book. LOVE it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roaring fire in the large sitting room, and peace and quiet.
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a perfect weekend in a perfect location for all the family”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Blo Norton Hall is fantastic and I couldn’t recommend it highly enough. We’ve hired large houses several times before and this one exceeded our expectations in every way. Dealing with Sue over the phone was a delight and the service she provided was friendly and efficient. The house and gardens are so beautiful and perfect for relaxing and having fun -which we did. Seventeen of us, ages ranging from 11 to 81, came together to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday. We were met by Karen who showed us round the house. This produced a series of ‘ooh’s and wow’s’ as we moved from the huge kitchen to the equally grand dining room, to the lounges and then from beautiful bedroom to beautiful bedroom with excellent facilities. The garden and grounds are the icing on the cake. The house easily accommodated 17 of us with room to spare. We catered for ourselves and found the kitchen to be extremely well equipped and roomy, more than enough for our needs. We had wonderful family dinners in the grand dining room. We also had great weather so made the most of the garden and grounds. All in all a perfect weekend in a perfect location. Thank you Sue, Alicia and Karen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All 17 of us from 11 to 81 years old loved the house and gardens
Liked least: leaving on Monday morning
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PussyWill...
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic slice of English history and comfort”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Blo Norton Hall is a truly idyllic place to spend a winter holiday. Elegant, luxurious, and comfortable - with a terrific kitchen and fireplaces. And a wonderful sense of history. An excellent base for delicious country walks, and a true sense of being 'in the country'. Away from it all, but close enough to everything to make a week or two stay very convenient. We were expecting a lot based on what we'd seen on the web, but the Hall greatly exceeded our expectations. We were very sad to leave. And will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique house and grounds, and everything about renting the Hall
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2013
We have been very lucky with the guests who have come through our doors, its always a pleasure to hear the wonderful stories and thank you to those who share their photos with us. It is a very happy place made even more special with those who have stayed in her. Thank you for your reviews. Sue.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing