We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
163
12
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
12
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camping pods plenty of space the barn play area bunk house nothing is too much trouble camping trip caravan site fire pit making sure communal kitchen great facilities two nights local pub lovely location eden valley plenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed at mains farm in our large family tent with my wife and 3 year old daughter. This was our second visit to the site the first time we stayed in a caravan. The visit was absolutely what we were looking for. The site is excellent if you are looking for a relaxed site that is clean, spacious pitches, excellent showers and toilets and a personal touch. Robert and Julie run a really well organised and tight ship which is most welcome as it results in a lovely calm atmosphere and peaceful co existence with fellow campers. Nothing is too much for the owners, for instance even took my washing in from their line that they allow use of while we were out and it rained. When our air bed valve was forgotten they gave us two mattresses free of charge. Excellent large pitches with great views, electric hook up and water right near your tent. Lovely local walks and two great pubs. We ll certainly be back and love this place, didn’t want to write this review as it would be lovely for this site to be a secret but Robert and Julie deserve the very best of reviews as they let you onto their farm and make you most welcome as well as having the time for a good crack. Make you proud to be British as all holiday makers made most welcome.

Don’t go however if you want to be obnoxious, get smashed, let your kids cause trouble as it’s not that kind of site! All other decent human beings will be welcomed with open arms and you’ll certainly not be disappointed. Would not want to change anything, just go for longer that 8 days next time as it’s so chilled. James and Brooke, Bolton

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in our tent. Facilities are clean and well maintained. Really handy to have fridges, freezer, microwave, toaster and kettle for everyone to use. Lots of space between tents and lots of open spaces for our 4yo to run around. Handy for access to the lakes. Will definitely be back.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank BigSuze77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in a pod and had a small tent next to us. It was the most friendly welcome we have received at a camp site and the site was lovely. Just 15 mins from Penrith with great access to the lakes. Lovely clean toilets and showers, plenty space to wash up and even had fridges, freezers and a microwave. My only gripe was the showers. They went from freezing to scalding every 2 mins probably connected to the washing area so didnt have a shower second day. If staying longer than 2 nights it would have been a problem. However it was really friendly, plenty of space in between pods, lots of room for kids and not too much noise late at night. Will defo return.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank simonl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

We have just come home from Mains Farm. We had a fantastic time and can’t wait to return. We stayed in a neat and clean pod. The owners of this campsite are lovely and really want their guests to have a good time. It is very child friendly as all cars are parked away from the site after unloading. We went swimming at Lazonby pool which was great- much warmer water than I expected! The riverside walks are absolutely beautiful.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Louinethiopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Had an absolutely fantastic stay here, highly recommended! Fantastic changing/toilet/shower facilities, includes a kettle, microwave, somewhere to wash up, kids park, just a 5 minute walk to the river too! Was greeted by Julie who was just so lovely, polite and helpful, the pods were clean, warm and comfortable.. I will be booking again for myself and friends very soon! Thank you again! The Marriott family x

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Smarriott07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews