We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
51
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews magical place after a long day high quality big group trip chef toilets bears feeling snowmobile end world team surroundings comfort storm sauna
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2017

If you go to svalbard you have to stay here. Not only is the surroundings very nice but the it has been renovated in the most cool way. Its done with quality in mind and at the same time meant to be different. We were greeted outside the place with warm drinks and a short presentation of the place, clearly made you feel at home. Inside you had the same feeling. Now comping to dinner you would not expect such a high quality but its was absolutely fabulous. Its a must if you are around.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsfjordRadio1, Manager at Isfjord Radio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

We are so glad that you enjoyed Your stay here With us at Isfjord Radio! And that you felt so at home, that is the feeling we are striving for. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best regards,

Malin
Station Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Fantastic restaurant for food and service in a very isolated place.

You can look forward to the welcome drink served by Alicia on the scooter parking!!!!

I guarantee that you will remember your stay for ever

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jean-Yves B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsfjordRadio1, Manager at Isfjord Radio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Thank you so much for Your kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed Your stay here With us. Alicia says hi! We look forward to seeing you back in the Arctic.
Best regards,
Malin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night after a long day of riding on the snowmobile. When we arrived they served us a homemade apple cider. We were so cold thus the hot beverage felt really good!

The rooms are very clean but they don't have own sanitary. The showers and toilets are in common use down the corridor but they have a very high quality! You don't have to worry about it.

The chef served us a four course arctic dinner. You can opt for the wine pairing which is good but expensive. The food itself was excellent.

Breakfast buffet was also excellent with plenty of choice. They even make you a fresh poached egg if you want.

Staying in Isfjord radio is an incredible experience. It feels like being at the end of the world but with all the comfort you need. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Virginie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsfjordRadio1, Manager at Isfjord Radio, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hi!

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are very glad that you had such a nice stay here at Isfjord Radio. Staying at the end of the world but with all the home comforts is definitely the way we want our guests to feel at this beautiful destination, we are very happy that you experienced it that way. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Malin
Station Manager
Isfjord Radio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We went by snowmobiles to this beautiful place. The hotel looks old and not that "updated" on the outside, but the inside is an experiance. The rooms are modern and inspired by the history of this old radio station. The food is excelent and the hospitality of the service personell makes this place well worth the money!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kjetil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsfjordRadio, General Manager at Isfjord Radio, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Thank you for the review, very appreciated!
We look forward to welcome you back at another occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

If you are looking for a trip to the end of the earth then this is it.

We started at Basecamp hotel in Longyearbyen were our guide, Marte, met us in the lobby. She then took us to the Basecamp office where they keep the snowmobiles and other gear. Once everyone was outfitted with snowmobile suits and a snowmobile off we went. It is a couple of hours by snowmobile with lunch along the way. The ride is amazing and the mountains and glaciers spectacular. The trip far exceeded my expectations.

If I could offer a word of advice: we had three snowmobiles in our group (including our guide), it was a small and comfortable number. We saw another tour group out on the ice with about two dozen people. That is a big group to ride with. They looked like they were having a great time but for me smaller is better. Also, be totally honest about your snowmobile driving ability. It is not hard, but it takes a little practice. I had driven a snowmobile once before and had no issues. One of our group had no clue (but said that she did) and quickly became a rider rather than a driver. So we ended up with a total of three snowmobiles. It would have been easier for her if she had started as a rider. This trip is a lot of fun so make sure your guide knows what you can and cannot do. You will have more fun that way.

The hotel at Isfjord is basic but excellent. The food was terrific and the rooms comfortable. Remember where you are, it is accessible by a long snowmobile ride or by sea when the ice is out. It is a very cool place. If you go, suck it up and walk down to the ocean and wade in. The water is unbelievably cold but you have to do it to say that you did it.

On the way back to Longyearbyen we also stopped at Berentsburg (a Russian mining operation). That was an added bonus.

I would recommend this trip to anyone. It was great. And a special thank you to our guide who did a great job and made the two days very memorable for all of us. She was great pointing out things along the way, answering any and all questions and sat with us at the end of the trip to trace out our route on a map for us. I would make this trip again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are basically the same. You'll spend of your time in the lounge. There are telescopes for bird, polar bear viewing, etc.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sport10010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsfjordRadio, General Manager at Isfjord Radio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are glad to hear that you were satisfied with Isfjord Radio, Marte as a guide and the experience driving snowmobile. We wish you welcome back at another occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews