We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
51
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews magical place after a long day high quality big group trip chef toilets bears feeling snowmobile end world team surroundings comfort storm sauna
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We went by snowmobiles to this beautiful place. The hotel looks old and not that "updated" on the outside, but the inside is an experiance. The rooms are modern and inspired by the history of this old radio station. The food is excelent and the hospitality of the service personell makes this place well worth the money!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kjetil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsfjordRadio, General Manager at Isfjord Radio, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Thank you for the review, very appreciated!
We look forward to welcome you back at another occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

If you are looking for a trip to the end of the earth then this is it.

We started at Basecamp hotel in Longyearbyen were our guide, Marte, met us in the lobby. She then took us to the Basecamp office where they keep the snowmobiles and other gear. Once everyone was outfitted with snowmobile suits and a snowmobile off we went. It is a couple of hours by snowmobile with lunch along the way. The ride is amazing and the mountains and glaciers spectacular. The trip far exceeded my expectations.

If I could offer a word of advice: we had three snowmobiles in our group (including our guide), it was a small and comfortable number. We saw another tour group out on the ice with about two dozen people. That is a big group to ride with. They looked like they were having a great time but for me smaller is better. Also, be totally honest about your snowmobile driving ability. It is not hard, but it takes a little practice. I had driven a snowmobile once before and had no issues. One of our group had no clue (but said that she did) and quickly became a rider rather than a driver. So we ended up with a total of three snowmobiles. It would have been easier for her if she had started as a rider. This trip is a lot of fun so make sure your guide knows what you can and cannot do. You will have more fun that way.

The hotel at Isfjord is basic but excellent. The food was terrific and the rooms comfortable. Remember where you are, it is accessible by a long snowmobile ride or by sea when the ice is out. It is a very cool place. If you go, suck it up and walk down to the ocean and wade in. The water is unbelievably cold but you have to do it to say that you did it.

On the way back to Longyearbyen we also stopped at Berentsburg (a Russian mining operation). That was an added bonus.

I would recommend this trip to anyone. It was great. And a special thank you to our guide who did a great job and made the two days very memorable for all of us. She was great pointing out things along the way, answering any and all questions and sat with us at the end of the trip to trace out our route on a map for us. I would make this trip again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are basically the same. You'll spend of your time in the lounge. There are telescopes for bird, polar bear viewing, etc.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sport10010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsfjordRadio, General Manager at Isfjord Radio, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are glad to hear that you were satisfied with Isfjord Radio, Marte as a guide and the experience driving snowmobile. We wish you welcome back at another occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We spent a night as Isfjord Radio as part of a 2 day snowmobile tour. We had originally wanted to stay on the ship in the ice, but as it is not running this year we went with Isfjord Radio. I was worried that it wouldn't be as interesting, I was very wrong!

Absolutely lovely little place that has been fitted very tastefully. Very comfortable, while retaining the traditional/historic feel you want to see.

The food was simply excellent by any standard. We had lots of amazing food while on Svalbard (it shocked me how good it was), and this was one of the highlights. I will probably never tire of telling people about the incredible experience of travelling 100km by snowmobile into the wilderness to find such an amazing place.

If you get the opportunity to go, you should absolutely do it!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

After a successful trip to Basecamp Masai Mara, we followed up with a visit to Basecamp Spitsbergen. We were again amazed by the experience. Two families spent two nights in Longyearbyen, and then one night at Isfjord Radio after a thrilling snowmobile ride. Isfjord radio is something completely different, and both adults and children realised how fortunate we were to be at such a location. Rustic but with great food, comfort and excellent guiding. Kids should probably be at least 12 years old, as the snowmobile ride is a bit of a challenge.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Amazing location in the middle of nowhere with breath taking views!! People are lovely n friendly. Delicious food in a nice n warm station, nice and decorate inside with cosy sofas, great for a nap after a long journey through the cold weather n snow storms. Definitely recommended this place great for a night stop with cosy n warm rooms.
Worth to check this place out !!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Brustolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews