We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”
Review of Isfjord Radio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Isfjord Radio
Ranked #3 of 6 Svalbard B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2015

What can we say! Exciting boat trip from longyearbyen to this wonderful unique hotel on the coast of Svalbard - a warm welcoming committee greeted us - rooms are cosy and the views from every window in this fantastic location are just amazing. The Chef is truly wonderful - catering for us being vegetarians was not a problem at all. Superb food and wine on both nights we were there. The staff are warm and friendly and cater for your every need...nothing too much trouble. We were incredibly lucky when we stayed there in that a male polar bear came very close to where we were staying - awesome!!! who needs television when you have nature from every window...beluga whales...Arctic bird life...Arctic fox...reindeer...a truly magical place...

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2015

Just spent a night at this unique property. We travelled on snowmobiles for three days across the arctic landscapes of Svalbard. The trip was truly amazing and Isfjor Radio in itself has left a very positive imprint. The hotel is rustic but very comfortable. We enjoyed a really good 3 course dinner witha great beer and wine selection. A few in the group also took the opportunity to go for a dip in the ocean which was painful to say the least but a great memory that will last. Staff was very kind and attentive. I´d reccommend this hotel for couples, family and groups. The surroundings are truly spectatcular.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JPF_GOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Had the most amazing stay here with Basecamp Explorer to see the solar eclipse. Fantastic staff, guides, food, activities and facilities. The location is spectacular. Keep in mind that you can only wander outside accompanied by a polar bear watch guard (unless you have suitable training and equipment).

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Second time out here. After a day on the snowmobile, arriving at Isfjord Radio is really nice. An the refurbishment that is done in the main building has given this old place a high standard. The service from the vey young staff is excellent, and the food is really gourmet style - and with the special Svalbard rein deer on the menu. This is really the place to go if you want something to remember, whether the sun is shining or the wind is blowing hard at this outpost close to the North pole.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building. Room 201 was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014

We went on a team building activity out to Isfjord Radio, and I was astonished with what we did meet out here.

When we arrived this looked like pretty basic buildings from the out side, but when we entered they have really focused on the details, and I was amazed to find something like this out in the wilderness. They have thought about all this small details that not necessary a fancy design hotel in one of the bigger cities would do.

Then for dinner we where served just a fantastic three course dinner, and the breakfast the next day was at the same level with fresh bread and delicious food. This was something completely different from what I was expecting, and really worth a visit

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Khoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Isfjord Radio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isfjord Radio

Address: Isfjord | PO.BOX 316, 9171, Norway
Region: Norway > Svalbard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Svalbard
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated about 90 km west from Longyearbyen you can find our hotel Isfjord Radio. After a gratifying day of gliding over the glaciers, mountains, and frozen fjords by dogsled or snowmobile, or by an open boat safari across the Arctic Ocean, you’re home. This 1933 built solitude outpost for radio operators doesn’t look like much from the outside. As you enter, though, you’ll discover a different world. The contrast between the surrounding rough coastal landscape and the modern luxury hotel inside is a sight to behold. It is easy to forget where you are, but a quick dip in the Arctic Ocean will bring you back. Later in the evening, as you lay on your bed surrounded by the Arctic silence, you realize that it has been one of the best days of your life. Isfjord Radio is part of Basecamp Explorer Spitsbergen, which operates day trips and expeditions from Basecamp Hotel and Trapper’s Station to Nordenskiold Lodge and Isfjord Radio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Isfjord Radio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing