We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Isfjord Radio
Nearby Hotels
US$359
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gjestehuset 102(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Svalbard Hotel(Longyearbyen)
US$320
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basecamp Hotel(Longyearbyen)
US$434
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Funken Lodge(Longyearbyen)
US$377
US$327
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barentsburg Hotel(Barentsburg)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg(Longyearbyen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Coal Miners’ Cabins(Longyearbyen)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
47
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafter a long dayhigh qualitytripbearsopportunitytoiletshistorylibrarysnowmobileendwildernessoceanworldchefteamsurroundingscomfort
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Just spent a night at this unique property. We travelled on snowmobiles for three days across the arctic landscapes of Svalbard. The trip was truly amazing and Isfjor Radio in itself has left a very positive imprint. The hotel is rustic but very comfortable. We enjoyed a really good 3 course dinner witha great beer and wine selection. A few in the group also took the opportunity to go for a dip in the ocean which was painful to say the least but a great memory that will last. Staff was very kind and attentive. I´d reccommend this hotel for couples, family and groups. The surroundings are truly spectatcular.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JPF_GOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Had the most amazing stay here with Basecamp Explorer to see the solar eclipse. Fantastic staff, guides, food, activities and facilities. The location is spectacular. Keep in mind that you can only wander outside accompanied by a polar bear watch guard (unless you have suitable training and equipment).

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Second time out here. After a day on the snowmobile, arriving at Isfjord Radio is really nice. An the refurbishment that is done in the main building has given this old place a high standard. The service from the vey young staff is excellent, and the food is really gourmet style - and with the special Svalbard rein deer on the menu. This is really the place to go if you want something to remember, whether the sun is shining or the wind is blowing hard at this outpost close to the North pole.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building. Room 201 was really nice
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014

We went on a team building activity out to Isfjord Radio, and I was astonished with what we did meet out here.

When we arrived this looked like pretty basic buildings from the out side, but when we entered they have really focused on the details, and I was amazed to find something like this out in the wilderness. They have thought about all this small details that not necessary a fancy design hotel in one of the bigger cities would do.

Then for dinner we where served just a fantastic three course dinner, and the breakfast the next day was at the same level with fresh bread and delicious food. This was something completely different from what I was expecting, and really worth a visit

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Khoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014

It's rather difficult to put into words the experience that is Isfjord Radio. This is unlike any other holiday destination we have gone to before. Whether it be your method of arrival; a two+ hour boat ride in a reinforced inflatable boat, kitted out in a one hour survival suit (i.e. if you fell in the water you would survive for one hour); or the restriction on moving outside, unless you are accompanied by a guide with his rifle!

It was utterly entrancing from beginning to (almost) the end. More later. We arrived to be welcomed by Lea, complete with warming apple drink, laced with calvados. A point here. You may be wearing a survival suit, but it is still really cold on the boat. Extra socks is the first advice; your feet are in wellington boots welded to the suit legs. Plenty of layers as well and a good pair of wind/waterproof gloves are an advantage. They provide neoprene mitts, but if you have your own, all the better. If the skipper advises you to zip up, you are in for a wet ride!

Back to the hotel. The rooms are very well appointed. Ours had a very comfortable 6ft bed. No en suite; we were opposite a room with two toilets and two wash hand basins, and next to it was a single shower. To protect modesty fleece robes are provided. We were extremely honoured to be the only guests, September is after the holiday season and mid week is often quiet. Food was sensational. They admitted to experimenting on us and we benefited by being the only guests but I imagine that they would always provide a great standard of food.

You may already realise that you can't go out without the guide (with his rifle). Polar bears had been spotted recently, but this is standard practice, anyway. Activities are down to either hikes or a boat safari. We did both in the 48 hours we were there. More wildlife is likely to be seen earlier in the season.

Finally, we had to leave this wonderful place and this was the only negative part of our time. This is a really remote location. Access is only possible by a boat (or in winter by snow mobile). When we came to leave the weather was windy and waves were against us on the trip back. We experienced three hours of rough seas with the small boat continually crashing over waves. This is always a possibility so if you aren't comfortable with this, beware. We never felt at risk but it doesn't mean that you won't find the boat ride very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Earlgrey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews