We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Isfjord Radio
Nearby Hotels
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$274/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gjestehuset 102(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Funken Lodge(Longyearbyen)
US$341
US$332
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Svalbard Hotel(Longyearbyen)
US$297
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg(Longyearbyen)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Coal Miners’ Cabins(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haugen Pensjonat Svalbard(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basecamp Hotel(Longyearbyen)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barentsburg Hotel(Barentsburg)
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Longyearbyen Camping(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
US$37
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
47
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafter a long dayhigh qualitytripbearsopportunitytoiletshistorylibrarysnowmobileendwildernessoceanworldchefteamsurroundingscomfort
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2014

It's rather difficult to put into words the experience that is Isfjord Radio. This is unlike any other holiday destination we have gone to before. Whether it be your method of arrival; a two+ hour boat ride in a reinforced inflatable boat, kitted out in a one hour survival suit (i.e. if you fell in the water you would survive for one hour); or the restriction on moving outside, unless you are accompanied by a guide with his rifle!

It was utterly entrancing from beginning to (almost) the end. More later. We arrived to be welcomed by Lea, complete with warming apple drink, laced with calvados. A point here. You may be wearing a survival suit, but it is still really cold on the boat. Extra socks is the first advice; your feet are in wellington boots welded to the suit legs. Plenty of layers as well and a good pair of wind/waterproof gloves are an advantage. They provide neoprene mitts, but if you have your own, all the better. If the skipper advises you to zip up, you are in for a wet ride!

Back to the hotel. The rooms are very well appointed. Ours had a very comfortable 6ft bed. No en suite; we were opposite a room with two toilets and two wash hand basins, and next to it was a single shower. To protect modesty fleece robes are provided. We were extremely honoured to be the only guests, September is after the holiday season and mid week is often quiet. Food was sensational. They admitted to experimenting on us and we benefited by being the only guests but I imagine that they would always provide a great standard of food.

You may already realise that you can't go out without the guide (with his rifle). Polar bears had been spotted recently, but this is standard practice, anyway. Activities are down to either hikes or a boat safari. We did both in the 48 hours we were there. More wildlife is likely to be seen earlier in the season.

Finally, we had to leave this wonderful place and this was the only negative part of our time. This is a really remote location. Access is only possible by a boat (or in winter by snow mobile). When we came to leave the weather was windy and waves were against us on the trip back. We experienced three hours of rough seas with the small boat continually crashing over waves. This is always a possibility so if you aren't comfortable with this, beware. We never felt at risk but it doesn't mean that you won't find the boat ride very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Earlgrey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Superb place to rest your bones after being into the wild. A place which reminds a SF movie scene but with the best retro feeling and atmosphere of hunters cabin inside the walls. The management is doing great job in maintaining and further developing the interior..it is a true paradise and sanctuary keeping safe the arriving adventurers.
Food treats are unimaginable when you realize where you are getting and enjoying those dishes.
Prices are high..but guys...you are 'at the the of the World'!!!
Must try place...
Greets

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Basecamp is the company running the well decorated hotel at a historic, strategically located, radio station. Access by boat can be rather sporty in the summer. The food is outstanding in terms of quality and creativity. The staff is very competent and extremely friendly, competent and informative about the hotel and the unique surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterGantenbein1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I travelled to Isfjord Radio for our honeymoon in early February as part of a custom trip put together for us by Basecamp Explorer (the company that also runs this hotel).

From our very first moment of arrival after two days of dog-sledding to the station the staff were really welcoming with warm drinks and a helping hand as we secured our dogs. Once inside we were then wonderfully surprised by the effort everyone had put in to our room, with the library and an adjoining room converted into our 'honeymoon suite' complete with candles everywhere, Bon Iver on the stereo, some fine chocolate, and a bottle of champagne waiting with a note that the sauna was also "ready for two". We couldn't have asked for anything more!

The hotel itself has been renovated superbly with all furnishings and finishing of the highest quality. Yes, there are common bathrooms but even these have been renovated thoughtfully, with plenty of space in the shower alcoves etc to do everything you need without standing in sight of others (if that bothers you...!). The downstairs loungeroom was very comfortable and a great place to unwind with our guides and another couple who were there with us at the early part of the season.

As mentioned by others, the food really is to an exceptional standard with many dishes the result of produce being collected or caught by local hunters and then prepared by a chef who clearly understands how to accentuate the unique flavours of animals and plants that will almost certainly be unique to many 'non-arctic' inhabitants. For each dinner there is the opportunity to match each course with wines, which we did on one night and found them to be very complementary. Breakfast is similarly very good with both hot and cold options to choose from.

We stayed at the station for 2 nights / 3 days before departing back to Longyearbyen and on our second day we did a ~50 km guided snowmobile ride down the southern coast. Even if you have snowmobiled to the station from the town this extra couple of hours to the south is well worth the time as the coast scenery is quite different from what you will have seen inland. And although we didn't manage to see any polar bears during our trip during this day-trip we did see plenty of arctic reindeer, some arctic fox tracks and also heard some ptarmigans as well.

Once back at the station we also achieved our 'arctic diploma' by taking a quick (reeeally quick!) swim in the bay. Don't be put off - this is absolutely a must do and you'll be buzzing for hours afterwards!!

So, overall, we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our time at Isfjord Radio and have only the upmost thanks to our guides, the hotel staff, and the wonderful chef. We simply cannot recommend this wonderful hotel and part of the world highly enough!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Newtown_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Been there as part of a day snowmobile trip. Haven't stayed overnight, but I found the place to be amazing. The interior is tastefully decorated, and the view from the windows breathtaking. We had lunch there. The food was outstanding, and service from our host was friendly and efficient. Would definitely return next time I visit Svalbard.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adancau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews