We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel with creative food in remote romantic location”
Review of Isfjord Radio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Svalbard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Isfjord Radio
Ranked #3 of 6 Svalbard B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Basecamp is the company running the well decorated hotel at a historic, strategically located, radio station. Access by boat can be rather sporty in the summer. The food is outstanding in terms of quality and creativity. The staff is very competent and extremely friendly, competent and informative about the hotel and the unique surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterGantenbein1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I travelled to Isfjord Radio for our honeymoon in early February as part of a custom trip put together for us by Basecamp Explorer (the company that also runs this hotel).

From our very first moment of arrival after two days of dog-sledding to the station the staff were really welcoming with warm drinks and a helping hand as we secured our dogs. Once inside we were then wonderfully surprised by the effort everyone had put in to our room, with the library and an adjoining room converted into our 'honeymoon suite' complete with candles everywhere, Bon Iver on the stereo, some fine chocolate, and a bottle of champagne waiting with a note that the sauna was also "ready for two". We couldn't have asked for anything more!

The hotel itself has been renovated superbly with all furnishings and finishing of the highest quality. Yes, there are common bathrooms but even these have been renovated thoughtfully, with plenty of space in the shower alcoves etc to do everything you need without standing in sight of others (if that bothers you...!). The downstairs loungeroom was very comfortable and a great place to unwind with our guides and another couple who were there with us at the early part of the season.

As mentioned by others, the food really is to an exceptional standard with many dishes the result of produce being collected or caught by local hunters and then prepared by a chef who clearly understands how to accentuate the unique flavours of animals and plants that will almost certainly be unique to many 'non-arctic' inhabitants. For each dinner there is the opportunity to match each course with wines, which we did on one night and found them to be very complementary. Breakfast is similarly very good with both hot and cold options to choose from.

We stayed at the station for 2 nights / 3 days before departing back to Longyearbyen and on our second day we did a ~50 km guided snowmobile ride down the southern coast. Even if you have snowmobiled to the station from the town this extra couple of hours to the south is well worth the time as the coast scenery is quite different from what you will have seen inland. And although we didn't manage to see any polar bears during our trip during this day-trip we did see plenty of arctic reindeer, some arctic fox tracks and also heard some ptarmigans as well.

Once back at the station we also achieved our 'arctic diploma' by taking a quick (reeeally quick!) swim in the bay. Don't be put off - this is absolutely a must do and you'll be buzzing for hours afterwards!!

So, overall, we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our time at Isfjord Radio and have only the upmost thanks to our guides, the hotel staff, and the wonderful chef. We simply cannot recommend this wonderful hotel and part of the world highly enough!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newtown_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Been there as part of a day snowmobile trip. Haven't stayed overnight, but I found the place to be amazing. The interior is tastefully decorated, and the view from the windows breathtaking. We had lunch there. The food was outstanding, and service from our host was friendly and efficient. Would definitely return next time I visit Svalbard.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adancau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

An Artic Fantastic In the wildernes. A great location away from anything but a wild nature. A crew that can compeat with anyone in any top hotel, service better than most, and with a food that is outstanding to describe it
modestly. A well designed interior with a combination of modern and rustic furniture, gives you a homely feeling. Spotlessly clean all over. How do they mannage this standard when all the provisions has to be shipped by boat or snowmobile, is just amasing. Just one complaint, they didn't have any decent vodka, hopefully that will be changed. Just remember you gun when wenturing outdoors.
T.K.G.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Trygve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

This is a boutique hotel set in the wide snowy wastes of Svalbard. Once a strategic radio station it retains the dishes outside and odd bits of wiring inside to give it a special flavour. The hotel is comfy with excellent, albeit shared, showers and warm beds - all a perfect haven from the -18 degrees centigrade outside. Food is very good and interesting too. I liked the baked eggs with cheese and ham for breakfast along with toast and cloudberry jam. The staff are friendly and helpful and greet you on arrival carrying the obligatory gun in case of lurking polar bears. There really is nothing better than relaxing here with a glass of wine after a long day on the snowmobile looking out at the ice floes drifting across the ocean.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Backzapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Isfjord Radio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isfjord Radio

Address: Isfjord | PO.BOX 316, 9171, Norway
Region: Norway > Svalbard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Svalbard
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated about 90 km west from Longyearbyen you can find our hotel Isfjord Radio. After a gratifying day of gliding over the glaciers, mountains, and frozen fjords by dogsled or snowmobile, or by an open boat safari across the Arctic Ocean, you’re home. This 1933 built solitude outpost for radio operators doesn’t look like much from the outside. As you enter, though, you’ll discover a different world. The contrast between the surrounding rough coastal landscape and the modern luxury hotel inside is a sight to behold. It is easy to forget where you are, but a quick dip in the Arctic Ocean will bring you back. Later in the evening, as you lay on your bed surrounded by the Arctic silence, you realize that it has been one of the best days of your life. Isfjord Radio is part of Basecamp Explorer Spitsbergen, which operates day trips and expeditions from Basecamp Hotel and Trapper’s Station to Nordenskiold Lodge and Isfjord Radio. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing