We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a special place...”
other travellers have booked this property
Wonderful views, Chianti and Prada on your doorstep
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wonderful views, Chianti and Prada on your doorstep
Sun-loungers, shaded sitting area and dining table below the chestnut tree. Your huge terrace! The sitting room has everything you could need. TV, DVDs, books, guides, music ... everything
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Wonderful views, Chianti and Prada on your doorstep
Sun-loungers, shaded sitting area and dining table below the chestnut tree. Your huge terrace!
The sitting room has everything you could need. TV, DVDs, books, guides, music ... everything
The indoor dining room - it's there if you need it but you'll spend all your time on the terrace
The kitchen is superbly equipped. For instance coffee lovers will find Gaggia, moka & French press!
This is the 'cantinetta' of organic local wines for sale at 4-5 euro a bottle
This is the welcome pack for every guest. It's a full fridge!!
The bedroom is air conditioned
The bathroom has a large bath tub and a shower
The view from the terrace as the sun sets
A glass or two of wine as the sun goes down
The village shop at Moncioni
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Moncioni, Montevarchi, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
318Ted_r
Templecombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a special place...”
Reviewed 22 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

What's best? The location, central to the golden triangle of Siena, Florence and Arrezo? The accommodation, comfortable and luxurious? The friendly owners, always on hand to help and offer tips on where to visit and what to see?

Poderá La Rota is a lovely cottage nestling near the top the valley with a south facing terrace that's a veritable sun trap. Stunning views are just the beginning however as you are within easy reach of "Chianti country", Radda, Greve and Gaiole are close by as are the stunning Val d'orcia and Val d'Elsa.

We arrived after an easy drive up from Rome's main airport, stopping at Orvieto for lunch. We were instantly made welcome and shown the accommodation that consists of a luxury kitchen and bathroom, classically Tuscan bedroom, a living room with views over the valley and a dining room just the right size for romantic suppers.

The house lies in an olive grove and close by there are walks through the countryside. We simply sat on the terrance, there's more than ample garden furniture including two very comfortable loungers (where can I buy theses from?), glass of local rosé in hand and listened to the amazing bird calls... including at least 2 cuckoo's.

Simply put... we'll be back as soon as we can possibly manage, thanks for wonderful week!

Oh, almost forgot, the wine rack with excellent local wine (red, white & rose) at quite frankly embarrassingly good prices and the superb welcome pack!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alan c
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have just returned from staying in the most beautiful little cottage in the heart of the Chianti mountains in Tuscany. What a tranquil spot off the beaten track.
We were greeted by Bob and Ally (the owners) together with Luna their Maremma sheepdog. The welcome could not have been better. The fridge was stuffed with all manner of local food as a welcome pack and this more than allowed us to not go shopping for that weekend.
Bob and Ally run Summers Leases and if this cottage is anything to go by, we will be booking again.
The area is stunning even though they have had the worst drought since records began (1 day of rain since April) The wild boar come through the garden on a daily basis and we also saw roe deer. Eagles and buzzards fly overhead but other wildlife seemed scarce because of the drought.
To sit on the patio and watch the sun go down was a magical experience.
Ally could not have been more helpful in suggestions of places to go and talking about local traditions etc: There are some wonderful restaurants and Osterias locally and the supermarket in Montevarchi has everything you could possibly need. We did have one day of rain, luckily coinciding with a day we decided to stay at home. When it rains, IT RAINS, but soon after we noticed everything was greening up.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2017
Many thanks Alan for your nice review and hope to see you again soon! Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casanne22...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Serenity in the heart of Tuscany!!!”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What an amazing place to stay. Bob & Ally the owners who also live on the property were very welcoming & could not do enough to make our stay in Podere La Rota most memorable. The 7 nights we spent here were the highlight of our one month adventures in Italy. From the amazing platters that were left in the fridge on arrival to the gorgeous view from the veranda where we spent most afternoons it was just wonderful. Our only disappointment was the fact that we traveled a little too early in April with a couple of the Osteria's close to Podere La Rota not opening until after Easter. We will have to come back to try them!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascale R
Glastonbury
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!!!”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in July 2014

Amazing views, gorgeous house, super friendly owners. In the middle of Tuscany. What's not to like??? We've been twice already...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting under the chesnut tree at dusk sipping a glass of local Chianti.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew W
Evreux, France
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful property, very calm.”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The property is a very nice Tuscan cottage, carefully renovated to include exposed stone walls, arches, and beautiful beam and tile ceilings. The interior has been decorated, furnished and equipped to a good standard, and very clean.
Outside, the good vibe continues. A tiled terrace with views over the olive groves and the valley and hills beyond. Furniture, sun loungers, parasol etc are there.
The overall standard of equipment and decor (quality and condition) exceeded the standard that we have typically found in rental properties.
There is a good selection of books, music and DVDs.
The welcome food pack is excellent. So nice not to have to jump straight back in the car and go in search of food after a long journey to arrive.
The welcome from Alli and Bob is equally excellent, and they are attentive to any needs or questions you may have.
To be aware of:
This area is forested and hilly. The local walks from the gite involve mostly ups and downs with limited views through the trees and a lot of bugs.
The local village shop has basics, but you will need to go to Montevarchi (10 min drive) for anything other than dried packet pasta and sauce in a jar. Montevarchi has plenty of shops and an excellent large Coop supermarket (you may never leave the deli section!). Also plenty of festivals and events.
Florence and Sienna are fairly close (Florence is best by train. Parking is free around Montevarchi station but leave time to search further afield for a parking spot).
There is free wifi which it is slow but perfectly adequate for checking mails and news/weather websites.

Overall, an excellent property and a real oasis of calm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard and cleanliness, calm, the owners, convenient for Florence & Siena
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
A couple of comments on Andrew's nice review:

The village shop is actually well supplied with edibles. I suspect Andrew just looked through the door! I'll take a picture inside as soon as I get a moment.

There was an area fault with the internet when he stayed (for which I apologised profusely at the time). It's been working normally since October and for 2016 we'll be getting cable!

Bob Monroe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing