We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding gift for the ages.”
Review of The Currant Shed

The Currant Shed
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in McLaren Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$45 - US$71
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in a restored 1916 currant drying shed and set amongst a Tahitian lime grove and borded by vineyard, The Currant Shed restaurant serves regionally inspired lunches in a truly relaxed environment.Open Thursday- Tuesday for lunch from 1130
Reviewed 10 September 2021

Friendly team made us feel right at home before pacing us through our 6 course meal with matching wines. Safe to say we didn't need anything to eat for a while afterward.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joshmE5853IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2021 via mobile

Absolutely sensational! 6 out of 5! Mushroom on seaweed taster got us off to an encouraging start. Not dessert fans, they allowed us to do 2 entrees (as part of the 3 course option) without hesitation. The peri peri cauliflower was the absolute highlight but the pumpkin, kangaroo and pork belly were also all excellent. The venison and Jerusalem artichoke mains were delicious and very generous portions. Good variety of local wines by the glass. Service was faultless. Hard to remember a better meal. And very reasonably priced. You MUST do this!!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank champagneaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2021

We had a terrific experience at the current shed. We took our two grandsons and our son and daughter in law out to lunch and beside the fact that the food was terrific the space out the front on the lawn for the children was just magic. The children went out and played ball and then came in for a lovely lunch for them which they ate with enthusiasm. We then could eat in peace while watching them. The food was exceptional. I had the duck and it was sooo tender. Really enjoyed ourselves. Will be back. Thank you also to the lovely staff who were more than helpful and lovely to deal with.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dianne4512
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

Have previously visited in July and found myself back in SA again to celebrate family members 91st Birthday. Food was so delicious..Will definately come back for my 3rd visit

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Venture769747
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2021 via mobile

This tasting menu was one of the best meals I’ve ever had. SO much flavour in every bite, delicious seasonal vegetables and fantastic wine pairings. Can’t wait to return!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank LyndaMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Currant Shed also viewed

McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Currant Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.