We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Total Relaxation”
other travellers have booked this property
Amble Wren Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amble Wren Bedroom
Amble Wren Lounge Amble Wren Rural Views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Amble Wren Bedroom
Amble Wren Lounge
Amble Wren Rural Views
Amble Wren View from Deck
Amble Wren Bathroom
Amble Fern Bedroom
Amble Fern Deck
Amble Fern Lounge / Kitchen
Amble Over Lounge
Amble Over Kitchen
Amble Over Bedroom
Amble Over Bathroom
Amble Over Entrance and Garden
Amble Over Balcony View
Local Produce
Tea and Coffee
Wineries
Relaxing Stay
Nightcap
Rest and Relaxation
Amble INN (Mt Barker) Lounge
Amble INN (Mt Barker) Bedroom
Amble INN (Mt Barker) Bathroom
Amble INN (Mt Barker) Exterior
Amble Over Interior Entrance
Amble Over Kitchenette and Dining
Amble Over Lounge and Dining
Amble Over Rural Views
Amble Over Bedroom with Views
Amble Fern Entrance
Amble Fern Outdoor Area
Amble Fern Dinning
Amble Fern Kitchenette
Amble Wren Kitchenette
Amble Wren Bedroom with Views
Amble Wren Garden Views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills, Greater Adelaide, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dreamcast...
cairns
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My wife and I just had three nights in "Wren Cottage" at Amble of Hahndorf, where to start. Beautiful little cottage delightfully nestled in amongst trees and shrubs of all types, the blooms of Camellias etc are abundant. We breakfasted on the porch every morning to the accompaniment of the prolific bird life present at all times. Parrots of all colours and sizes abound in the trees and come for a feed twice a day. I think Roger must spend a fortune on seed, we were invited to grab a glass of wine out back and he set up a table and chairs for us to enjoy the show, what a pleasant man he is.
The breakfast provided was ample and of good quality including bacon, sausages, tomatoes etc. there was Orange juice, fresh bread loaf just right for the morning meal. Every where you looked in the cottage there were extras that you don't normally get, including and not restricted to Port, chocolates, nuts and dried fruit nibbles. There was an array of various teas, coffees and hot chocolate drinks for you to use. I could go on but just go and have a look yourselves. You will not be disappointed with the cottage, service or the lovely town of Hahndorf.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: great bed and location
Liked least: two separate chairs instead of lounge would be better but that is just me.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed in Amble "fern" for 6 nights. The accommodation is lovely, the best of all options have been provided. The cottage is spacious and clean. The bed extra cosy and comfy. The wireless Internet was very fast and reliable. It's a short stroll into Handorf and there are plenty of eating options. This is a good base to explore the Adelaide hills.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and quiet
Liked least: Walking back up the small hill, but I'm not fit.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenAB49
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great accomodation and excellent location”
Reviewed 12 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed at this gorgeous B and B over Christmas with 3 generations of our extended family and found it perfectly met our needs in every way. The accommodation was extremely comfortable and very well equipped with spaces for gatherings of the whole group of 12 or for relaxing quietly and watching the amazing variety of birdlife. The breakfasts of local produce were delicious and restocked as needed. Everyone enjoyed feeding the horses in the adjacent paddock with the bag of carrots supplied. Roger could not do enough for us and gave us excellent advice and local knowledge for our excursions around the area. The quaint and historic little township was an easy walk away even for the octogenarians and a delight to visit. We highly recommend this B and B to anyone visiting this wonderful area.
Helen and Giorgio I241212

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcdc01
Maitland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay in the Hills”
Reviewed 15 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here 2 nights and had a lovely time. The accomodation is comfy and in a lovely spot - walking distance to everything Hahndorf. The fridge is stocked with all sort of goodies for a great brekky to kick your day off. And - the birds are friendly and sing to you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location and ease of the stay
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunyarra
Alawoona
1 review
“Excellent place for a quiet weekend away right in the heart of Hahndorf”
Reviewed 17 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We spent 2 nights in 'Amble Over' recently to celebrate our wedding anniversary and loved it. The apartment was very well appointed and within close walking distance of the main street of Hahndorf yet far enough away that you didn't feel caught up in the touristy hustle and bustle. We especially appreciated the little 'extras' which Di and Roger have in the rooms, including the quality breakfast provision, the local produce (including Beerenberg jams, nuts, cookies and chocolates), and a port for a nightcap. Had a fantastic meal at the German Arms Hotel - highly recommended. We will certainly recommend the Amble B&B's to our friends and hope to come back ourselves sometime.
John (O140912)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;