We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relax in Africa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of African Cottage

African Cottage Living Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
African Cottage Living Area
African Cottage Front Verandah African Cottage Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
African Cottage Living Area
African Cottage Front Verandah
African Cottage Kitchen
African Cottage BBQ Area
African Cottage Bedroom 1
African Cottage Bedroom 2
African Cottage Bedroom 3
Spacious African themed cottage surrounded by lush tropical gardens. To relax body and soul!
Rolling Green Hills Of Maleny
Tiger The Resident Cat
Resident Guinea Fowl
Rolling Green Hills Of Maleny
Matilda Scarfe Your Host
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Maleny, Sunshine Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Geoff R
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relax in Africa”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a lovely relaxing time staying in the African Cottage. Our family of 9 fitted in no problem plus our two little dogs. Matilda is a lovely host and she cooked us a great African meal on the first night which was enjoyed by all. Just one point to make about a build up of dust under the beds. The cleaner really needs to be checked on. Other than that, it is a great place and we would love to go back again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Africa feel and food
Liked least: Dust under the beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2015
It was a pleasure to have you here! Your kids were well behaved, Tiger didn't like your dogs, but they were so cute! Would love you to come back. Sorry about the dust - promise I'll make sure they clean under there! And thanks for the compliment about our food. We love cooking, so we love it when our guests enjoy it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A dump.”
Reviewed 20 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed in the Cape Cottage or should I say shed. A fibro outbuilding that was covered in cobwebs. Inside visible surfaces were clean but windows, blinds, under and behind furniture was filthy and thick with dust. Inside cutlery draws and crockery draws were dirty which meant everything in them needed to be washed before use. The kitchenette was suitable for tea and coffee making only. All other cooking was supposed to be done on a small ill kept BBQ on the back verandah. The sofa was ok for midgets but once seated you were below the height of the coffee table. The bed was hard, lumpy and uncomfortable. The bathroom was fine except for K Mart quality towels that were thin and like sandpaper.
As for the meals available even my dog would have thought twice about them.
A good indication about what was to come was the Welcome Letter that was more like an army instruction form in its tone and ended with a warning "do not put negative reviews on Trip Advisor and other sites just tell us your concerns". That says to me they know many people are unhappy with them but they ignore complaints. We were told the cleaner had not turned up and they did the best they could. I don't think the cleaner had ever turned up.
Reviews are to give factual accounts of the accommodation not to pander up to owners who give sub standard products.
The larger cottages may have been better but I didn't see in them.
Maleney and Montville are worth a visit and there is much better accommodation available there at similar or cheaper prices.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: getting out of there
Liked least: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
I have just come back from doing the rounds at all the cottages to check if everyone is happy. Tick - everyone happy and having a wonderful time! So I'm just wondering if this guest actually has the right location. I read our reviews, and all are glowing reports of how much they enjoyed themselves. So what went wrong here? I would really like to know. Such a pity our unhappy guests couldn't just come and talk to us. We would have fixed their problems on the spot. Because we pride ourselves on this lovely place we have here. Maybe that is why we have the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence. They don't give those out easily! And talk about Tripadvisor - we ask guests to review us, on the advise of Tripadvisor.! The biggest hurt and insult was our food. After reading glowing after glowing revues about our delicious food, it was the ultimate insult that the guest would not give it to her dog! Or the dog would not like it. The most traditional Malay dish - absolutely delicious! I'm really sorry you did not like it. Sure we have spiderwebs - we are in the country after all! Sure the bed, or the towels, or the couch does not satisfy everyone. We apologise for that. But we really feel that the criticism was not fair. We are a fabulous establishment, loved by all. But there is always that ONE person you just cannot please.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margo1959
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Don't hesitate...Just book the African Cottages!”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Last weekend, my group of running friends stayed at Matilda’s African Cottages (in the large house which sleeps 9), and we enjoyed the most marvellous hospitality. The cottage was spotless and so well appointed with all the kitchen equipment that you could possibly wish for, but it was the eclectic way in which Matilda had decorated it which was so charming. African beaded candle holders, beaded mats, elephant prints – it’s so delightful, welcoming and such a happy place to be. Our group also enjoyed Matilda’s African feast and we are still talking about how magnificent the

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It had everything we needed and nothing was too much trouble.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
How did I miss this wonderful review? Thanks Margot - it was an absolute pleasure having you here! Looking forward to your return visit. And we've got some new things on the menu to tempt you with!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineCol...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great ethnic getaway!”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

African Cottage is like stepping into Africa! All the decor & furnishings are traditional african style, even the plush toys on the beds are african animals. The place is managed by Matilda, who went out of her way to assist us with planning our stay. A traditional africn menu is available for delivery tothe cottage, all home cooked by Matilda herself.
Fantastic service & comfortable, well equiped cottage. A must for anyone who want a bit of Africa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
I love what I do! And I suppose it shows. But it is even easier with wonderful guests like you. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here. Because we know you will be back. Thanks for your lovely words! It makes all the hard work worth it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam Z
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A great place to stay and enjoy some African hospitality and cuisine !”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We had a wonderful time at the African Cottage. Matilda goes way out of her way to make you feel welcome and looked after. The facilities are spacious and very well thought through.

The selection of cuisine gives both the novice and experienced taster (and tester) a wonderful example of how South African food is properly made.

Thanks Matilda for having us there !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience
Liked least: It had to end sometime.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
Well, it is not difficult to be nice to fabulous people! I loved having you there, and spoiling you! Hope to see you back here soon - so I can cook you some more delicious African food. I have a few new vegetarian recipes! Take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing