We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$58
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Hotels.com
US$58
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/02
Agoda.com
US$50
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/01
Booking.comUS$58
CheapTicketsUS$58
PricelineUS$52
View all 14 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
90
21
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
90
21
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clean kitchen affordable place to stay the bus washing line great wifi pizza oven nice pool coffee pods the pub shared bathroom air con laundry facilities a lovely stay bottle shop fantastic location stayed for nights sink
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable, great location and Anton on reception was very friendly and helpful. Kitchen is great, we had a lovely double room right by the pool. Room included towels, a fridge and a sink which was great. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank T6501NHkatherinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton P, Owner at CStay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

And you are most welcome to come stay again! Remember that direct bookings for return guests gets you a nice discount!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

I don't give 5* but I have to say, for the type of accommodation, this place fully deserves my rating. Stayed here for 3 nights in October. Located in a beautiful spot at Picnic Bay this "hostel" type accommodation is just the place for a quiet relaxing break. Rooms are small but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean. There's a shared kitchen, ablution blocks for men and women, also spotless, a lovely lounge area, outdoor tables and a nice little pool. Note: this is NOT a backpackers hostel - there's a suitable backpackers at X-Base just down the road. The owner is a charming and helpful Sth African.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kal1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton P, Owner at CStay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

I'm honoured to get such as rating - thank you very, very much! You summarise our vision very well. In all honesty, we are a backpacker's hostel though we hope to target people just like yourselves who are looking for a quiet peaceful place to rest a weary head!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Best hostel we have ever stayed in. Anton was very friendly and helpful with what to do around the island. Extraordinarily clean bedrooms and fantastic kitchen/BBQ. Very relaxing and chilled out place to stay, would come back in a heartbeat if we ever visited the island again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MichaelAW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton P, Owner at CStay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

And you are most welcome to come back as often as you want! Remember that return guests get a nice discount when booking direct!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Before our arrival our wifi didn't work, so we took a chance to just walk in and ask if there was any rooms left. The owner, Anton was very kind and helpful and got us a cheeper room than booking.com directly. He showed us all we needed to know about the island: best walking tracks, cheapest supermarket, timetables for buses and the different bays.
As well the room as the shared kitchen was nice and clean. Kitchen had milk foamer, french coffee press, induction cooktop and big fridge in common area aswell as a small in our own room.
There is also availability to rent bikes, which we made on the afternoon when we got there, for 9AUD each (half day).
The only thing that could have been better was the wifi, but understandable since it's a quite small island. Otherwise we were both very pleased with our stay at CStay!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank annakaarlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton P, Owner at CStay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hi! I am very happy that your experience was a pleasant one! As you said, WiFi on a small island is and will always be a bit of a challenge, good thing is that it is free! Another challenge is getting a system that works with every one of the available devices. I hope the rest of your holiday was amazing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We really enjoyed staying at CStay. Anton was very welcoming and treated us as individuals. It was almost like catching up with an old friend. Having a fridge and sink in our room was fantastic. We usually camp so having a room was fantastic! It saved us having to lug all our camping gear across to the island. It is a very short walk to the beach where we enjoyed a lovely late afternoon swim and we walked to Picnic Bay from Nelly Bay a couple of times. It might be 5 km but it is a lovely walk along the beach front and past some big boulders. We enjoyed the tropical plants in the garden and the birds that visited. The kitchen is not huge but it was a good opportunity to interact with the few other guests that were there. The pool looked inviting but I didn't have time to use it. There is so much to do on Magnetic Island!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kiwichiick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anton P, Owner at CStay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

It makes me very happy to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Magnetic Island and CStay so much! You are right - it is not a big island and the walk to Nelly bay only takes 45 minutes along the beach front. We now have a small grocery store in Picnic Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews