We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$103
View deal
PricelineUS$103
TripadvisorUS$103
ZenHotels.com
eDreamsUS$103
Agoda.comUS$103
Destinia.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
62
31
12
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
62
31
12
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nelly bay ferry terminal swimming pool family room wonderful resort short stroll comfortable beds great facilities brian magnesium kookaburras wildlife tez island hosts kitchenette accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We were a bit apprehensive when we arrived, bit the place really grew on us. The pool was great and was quiet at lot of the time even thiugh school holidays. Rock wallabies and birds at door including the crazy curlews. Staff were really friendly. And gardens nice. Our room was straight from 1970's but clean, bed and pillows comfortable. Some areas had free wifi, ours did not but was good near pool. Bus stop with access to whole island at front door.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TimWilco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

One of the cheapest places to stay on the island (cheaper than hotels) which is good. Rooms are ok. Bathroom, ok. Pool is great. WiFi usually works... usually. “Garden” view is a shared lawn. Breakfast buffet, which is only available during school holidays, was very poor. Bar/restaurant was near enough empty every night, so a little awkward, service very slow as just one poor woman working on the bar, who was treated very poorly by management, rudely in fact. I’m not surprised service was slow as she was inexperienced and tasked with too much with no help. Location is relatively near the ferry port but there is very little to do. IMO stay somewhere else. If budgeting, stay at base or YHA, if not, choose a proper hotel in another area (horseshoe or picnic bay are much better for restaurants/nightlife). Final downpoint, the birds woke us up at least 3 times during the night,of course this is no fault of the staff.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank P4627FVjamesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Rooms were poor quality , not at all what the pictures make out it to be. Filthy bathrooms which looked as if they hadn't been cleaned.

The restaurant was closed more than open over the entire weekend which left us having to search around for a place to get any food.

Rude management and poor effort
Very unhappy

Will not be staying there again

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank shaylee93byers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selrae, Manager at Amaroo On Mandalay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Hi Shaylee
Your review is a little bewildering. You were here for 3 days as part of a wedding group. If you thought there was a problem with your room, maybe you should have said something.
The restaurant was open Friday & Saturday nights, Saturday & Sunday mornings. I'm not sure how you failed to notice this.It is open 6 nights a week, but only open in the morning on weekends due to economic viability.
Your interaction with management was restricted to your arrival and departure where on both occasions (from reviews of footage) you were spoken to quite politely with smiles all round.
The room you stayed in is exactly as depicted in the photos, but with a different coloured spread. The bathroom was perfectly clean before you got there.
You took great advantage of the facilities while here,
Although I have been told that you were quite derogatory towards the resort when you found the restaurant was closed on Monday morning. So whose been rude?
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We had a thoroughly enjoyable week at Amaroo on Manderlay. The room was comfortable but the great attraction is the swimming pool and beautiful tropical gardens. Brian was friendly and very helpful. The bus is close by. If you like the beach and bush walks then you would love Magnetic Island. I think Amaroo is very good value for money. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank pauline962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selrae, Manager at Amaroo On Mandalay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you Pauline. It was a pleasure to have you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The Amaroo is close to the bus stop so it's easy to get around the island. Can get off any time to swim, enjoy a meal and bush walk or lazy around.
The accommodation is comfortable and our room had a great bed. Good outside sitting area to have meals. A Barbeque area is a great place to meet friends or other guests if you are cooking your own meals.
The pool is great for those who want a swim and there are tennis counts in excellent condition. Overall, a great experience.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews