We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$125
View deal
Hotels.com
US$148
View deal
Agoda.com
US$148
US$116
View deal
CheapTicketsUS$148
TravelocityUS$148
FindHotelUS$148
View all 15 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveller rating
400
231
114
102
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
400
231
114
102
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the east coast night life amazing views private room beautiful location every evening nice pool hostel backpackers huts island australia chill vibe tom nightlife midnight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 912 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2019

They have the only trip on the island that is fantastic, you get to see wild koalas, feed Rock Wallabies, see one of the most amazing views from the Island and to top it off, sunset on the beach with wine. A truly unique experience with Jay the guide. He is extremely knowledgeable and very funny. Best money I've spent.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank margaret a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, General Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2019

Hi Margaret a,

Thanks for taking the time to leave some really good feedback on you time here. Great too see you got to see some of the island animals on one of our Sunset tours, I will let Jay know he made your time here a memorable one,

We hope to see you again next time,

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2019 via mobile

This place has a vibe not a alot of hostels have. The staff is great, friendly and inviting. If you either want time for your self or party there is option for both. Ask Kevin for question at the bar. He will help you out with what you need! Sarah and Daisy are awesome aswell! Worth the visit while in Magnetic Island.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Danielbakke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, General Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2019

Hey there Danielbakke,

Thanks for the feedback on your stay and awesome to hear you had a wicked time here at base Maggie,

I will send the staff some praise for being legends as usual,

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2019 via mobile

Amazing place! Pool is big and looks very stunning with the sea at the back. Mattresses are comfi and the dorm rooms do all have AC. Great parties every night with different activities to do or a special themed night. Bar closes at midnight so def possible to have a sleep. Meals are tasty and you will get discount cards while checking in to use at the bar for food. After all a great stay!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Maaike1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, General Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2019

Hey Maaike,

Cheers for the 5 Stars and great to hear you enjoyed your time here at Base Maggie.

We hope to see you again,

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2019 via mobile

Pretty good hostel if you want to party because there legit nowhere else to
Party. But if you don’t want to party, the music is really loud all day. The dj played all techno and like nobody likes techno so pls stop. The foods really good and well priced! BUT the person who made my trip was ADAM. Rhe guy in the bunk above me threw up (which isn’t uncommon in party hostels) and even though Adam had finished his shift, he did so much to help me! Even gave me a new room to myself. And I really appreciate that service and that kindness so thanks Adam! He’s also quite fit so hit me up

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Ambraschia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, General Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2019

Hey There Ambraschia,

Thanks For the review and sorry to hear about the issues during your stay but i'm glad Adam came to the rescue and was able to get you into another room so you could get some sleep. Ill pass on your review to him :)

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2019

Super fun bingo activity and dancing at the bar, great rooms, and nice swimming pool. The kitchen gets too hot, but other than that it was an incredible place, really recommended for a few days as Magnetic Island is gorgeous and worth a visit!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank leonorlopes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom C, General Manager at Base Backpackers Magnetic Island, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2019

Hey there leonorlopes7,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a good review and some feedback on your stay,

We hope to see you again soon,

Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews