We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$56
Expedia.comUS$56
PricelineUS$51
CheapTicketsUS$56
TravelocityUS$56
FindHotelUS$56
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
158
48
11
11
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
158
48
11
11
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari tent pool table car hire gorgeous beach insider tips communal areas rock wallabies across the road west point the bus island life explore the island the pub craig accommodation backpackers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

We hired a 4X4 from Craig at Arcadia. Craig was a perfect host! He picked us up from our accommodation so we could go and get the car and on the way took us on a mini tour of the island pointing out all of the hotspots. He gave us a map and directions to all of the places that would be best to spot Koalas and Rock Wallabies. Thank you for all of the insider tips Craig, we got to see all of the highlights of the island with thanks to you.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Casey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and slept on the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept on,, to which we were told when checking out that the mattresses were upside down. I Appreciate that we were apologised to about this but when you're only paying for a bed to sleep in and it feels like nails are sticking into your body, it is not acceptable. Also the door to all the bedrooms have a 10 inch gap at the bottom so you can hear every time someone goes to toilet.
Another thing, when I asked the lady at reception if she could possible find out the phone number for the little pink cars she bluntly told me she will not give me their competitors number rather than upswell their own cars and being polite. Every time I spoke to her she had her back turned to me and didn't bother to turn around.
However the hostel itself was clean and well equipped, and the backpackers working there were polite and helpful.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank alicemcgill95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KrisArcadiaBeach, Manager at Arcadia Beach Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2018

Hi Alice

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us.
The beds you slept in had new mattresses and we rotate all the mattresses regularly as per manufacturer’s instructions. If you had mentioned the beds to us on the first night we could have addressed the issue immediately for a more comfortable stay.
The issue has now been resolved for future guests.

The ten inch gap under the door is approximately an eight and a half inch exaggeration.

Regarding the hire cars, we did in fact point out the advantages to hiring one of our open top 4WDs over the pink cars, the main one being you can visit 50% more of the island including the most beautiful bays and beaches, so we are of the opinion, along with many other satisfied customers that this is far better value for your tourist dollar. Many customers come to us after hiring the pink cars upset that they cannot explore the entire island and have preferred our 4WD vehicles for the remainder of their island stay.

We are sorry you felt ignored by a particular staff member as we endeavour to meet all our guests needs in a timely manner however as you can understand the reception can get particularly busy at certain times of the day so there may be some delay from time to time while we address other guests requests. We do however appreciate your feedback.

Arcadia Beach Guest House Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

I hired a 4x4 for 24 hours as this gives you the flexibility to go out to West Point for sunset which is a fair distance and only accessible by 4x4. The car itself was as you expect from a rental on a tourist island, quirky and functional. It came with a full tank of petrol of which I didn’t even use half as the island is so small. I also didn’t have to fill it up on return as that is part of the service. I was picked up at my accommodation and then kindly dropped off at Horseshoe Bay then next day which as most people know is an unheard of level of generosity from a hire company. Maybe it’s because it is an island and people tend to be kinder? Either way I would recommend hiring from these guys and taking full advantage of the mobility around the island.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Wildmanmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

This guest house is absolutely raccomended .
The staff is very nice, friendly and more avaible to explain what doing in the island .
We saw a lot of wildlife (koala, wallaby..)
we had a wonderful experience in this island .

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank elenapO6136JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Friendly owners and handy location. Close to bus and walking distance to ferry (15 minutes) or a patrolled beach (10 minutes) or cafes (around the corner).
This is basically a backpackers with a choice of accommodation, there's family rooms, queen bed rooms,tents, or shared rooms where people who were working on the island or helping in the accommodation live. There's 2 kitchens which are cleaned daily but things go missing and you need to search the other kitchen for bowls, saucepans etc.
There are 2 lounge areas with TV's, a bit cold in winter as they are basically verandahs with roofs. There's a pool table and a swimming pool. Hire cars are available.

The not so good: Shared bathrooms, guests who don't choose to smoke in the smoking area, a guest clothesline in the shade, bare floorboards so you hear every footstep and dropped item, a big hole in the fly screen to open the window in the bedroom, thin walls and squeaky soft bed, and at least in our room only the bed to sit on (see photo).
The good: location, beautiful garden to sit in.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 775traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews