We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
CheapTickets
Trip.com
View all 15 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
105
38
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
38
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf club west point the pub picnic point perfect venue short walk to the beach welcoming hosts within easy walking distance comfortable rooms kids loved the pool bus stop highly recommend staying here quiet area full size fridge kitchen facilities bbq area relaxing weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

The owners are wonderful people. They were extremely nice and accommodating. They loaned us a drying rack for our clothes, extra pots and even a fishing rod. The room is great for a family. It was convenient to have cooking facilities. The common areas were immaculate -- beautiful gardens, pool area, BBQ for us to use and outdoor eating area. It was very relaxing.

We were walking distance to the beach at Picnic Bay and the fishing pier. We saw koalas in the trees as we were walking to the beach.

This was the perfect vacation spot for my family.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalPalmsInn, Owner at Tropical Palms Resort & 4WD Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Hi Jan....thank you for the very kind words, and the lovely fresh caught calamari, which was cooked to perfection!! If you make it back to this side of the world again it would be great to see you all. All the very best, Jen and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

This is a nice clean and comfortable place to stay but my only complaint is we had the only room left which was a family room. We were just a couple so we had a double bed and two singles all in a smallish room. No room for a lounge and if it was a family I'm not sure how a table with two seat only would do for meals so guess you have to eat out in the very nice gardens near the pool. The staff/owners were very lovely and helpful always. Stayed before and would again especially now there are more restaurants and a small supermarket too you can walk to. Lovely birds life (lorikeets) you can take pics of in the morning outside the downstairs rooms on the trees and will come right up to you if you are quiet. Take the Hastings point walk up for the best views of the island! It's about one hour and worth it. Take your camera.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mockchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalPalmsInn, Owner at Tropical Palms Resort & 4WD Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Thanks for your very kind comments. Hopefully next time we can accommodate you in a room with less beds. We'll look forward to seeing you another time. Best regards, Jen and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

After hiring a 4WD from Rob and Jen for our weekend getaway, we will definitely be back! Our vehicle was very clean and in excellent condition. What really impressed us though was the service. Not only are they friendly, genuine people but everything was quick and easy and nothing was too much trouble. They went above and beyond with what they offered and arranged for us. Next time we will be booking our accommodation with them as well!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank taranna25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalPalmsInn, Owner at Tropical Palms Resort & 4WD Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Wow guys....thanks so much for the lovely comments. We really do hope you'll come back and stay with us. Best regards, Jen and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

An older style motel but well maintained.
Excellent location walking distance to what Picnic Bay has to offer.
Comfortable room had everything we needed.
Rob and Jen were excellent hosts and could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Outdoor BBQ area was in a lovely garden setting where we were visited by sulphur crested cockatoo and a rainbow lorikeet both that we hand fed from the table.

Room tip: First floor access is by sturdy stairs. Downstairs all wheelchair accessible
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bazil1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalPalmsInn, Owner at Tropical Palms Resort & 4WD Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Thank you for your very kind words. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully you'll come and stay again. Thanks also for the lovely pictures that you added to your review. Best regards, Jen and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We have just completed a beautiful one month holiday at Tropical Palms Resort.
Rob and Jen had taken over the resort a few months ago and were the perfect hosts with guests comfort and enjoyment being their priority and where possible offer a complimentary pick up from the ferry on your arrival to Magnetic Island rather than have you battling cases on a bus.
Tropical Palms was an ideal location being quiet, totally relaxing and only a 3 min walk to the stop for the buses that service the island and if asked the driver will drop you at Tropical Palms doorstep on the return journey.
The 4WD car hire is a bonus as resort guests receive a discounted rate.
Rob is also a Bowen therapist and can magically soothe any aches and issues you may have after your bush walks.
The garden/pool area is a beautiful and the photos on the website accurately depict the surroundings.
Thank you from Mal and Susie

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TropicalPalmsInn, Owner at Tropical Palms Resort & 4WD Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi Mal and Susie....thank you very much for your lovely comments. It is not as exciting here without the pair of you!! It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and we sincerely hope to see you another time. I'm sure your new found Magnetic Island friends are missing you terribly. Warmest regards, Jen and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews