We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pure Bliss”
other travellers have booked this property
Pets welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pets welcome
The Retreat is across the road from the Elliot River, 1.5 kms upstream of the Coral Sea Child friendly riverbanks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Pets welcome
The Retreat is across the road from the Elliot River, 1.5 kms upstream of the Coral Sea
Child friendly riverbanks
Lounge with satellite television
Modern fully equipped kitchen
Guest bedrooms, 2 queen & 1 double
Outdoor table with BBQ
Undercover garaging
Large fully fenced shady yard
Riverside fishing
Relaxed fishing & crabbing
Tidal landing 3kms from Retreat
Elliot River's prized Mangrove Jack
Elliot River mud crabs
Coconut Bay Cape Upstart
Snug Harbour Cape Upstart
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bowen, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Purpz M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Bliss”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I, stayed for 7nights. It was exactly what we were looking... Pure relaxation, a bit of fishing and the feel of the country side. We were only 40km from Bowen so went there twice for lunch and a look around, but most of the time we sat out on the porch of our retreat and admired the views and all the different types of birds and wild life. Everyday I would have a food scrap bucket to feed the cows and bulls, that would come up to the back fence every afternoon.i really enjoyed doing that.The retreat itself is very well equipped with all you need, very clean and very spacious. Would defiantly suit a family or couples and finally a place where your pets are more than welcome.Katy and John (the owners) were very nice and very helpful with information about what was around, things to do and see. They even treated us to a nice surprise, bunch of fresh veggies, straight out of there veggie garden, which we put to great use. We will defiantly return to this beautiful spot and have already recommended this retreat to my friends and put it up on Facebook for all to see my photos. Thank you again Katy and John for a great time. Hope to see you again, real soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Retreat. Our aim is to provide a home away from home in the seclusion of a rural setting. If you are looking for peace and quiet in comfort than come and experience our riverside Retreat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrssmesse...
Mackay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat for all occasions!”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We booked a 3 night stay at Elliot River Retreat with another 2 couples. Our intention was to find a great place to relax over the weekend with fishing and adventure close to hand.
Katy was a fantastic host and organised with us well in advance the property details, directions and gave us plenty of local knowledge to help us with our quest for fish.
Our stay was fantastic, the first thing we noticed was how clean and well-equipped the retreat is. There really is very little you need to bring bar food, drinks and bait!
The location is instantly relaxing and we enjoyed many trips along the river watching the sunset or dropping a line.
The only downside to the area is the local boat ramp is very tide dependent and it took us a while to catch the right time to get the boat out. Also, the weather wasn't right for reef fishing. However, we managed to score a few decent Flathead and enjoyed a delicious meal for our efforts.
We took a drive in to Bowen for a trip to Horseshoe Bay (not to be missed). Again, Katy was a library of local knowledge and gave us plenty of recommendations for our day trip out.
I would highly recommend this accommodation for a long weekend or even week stay, don't hesitate to book. We will certainly be heading back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
Thanks for the feedback and positive comments. I do try very hard to ensure that the Retreat is clean and has everything that the guests need to make their stay enjoyable. I try to give as much local knowledge as possible as I know it takes a while to find out about a new area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya R
Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing! will definitely be back”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in January 2015

my partner, myself and my mother in law stayed here in late January/ early February and we loved everything about it! we took our little staffy tempo away which is 15 years old and he enjoyed it as much as us. this is such a family friendly place! the house was so clean and beautifully decorated it was like a home away from home. the property was just amazing :) this retreat literally has everything you need! we took our little tinny and went fishing everyday it was just beautiful. our hosts Katy and john were so welcoming, really lovely people! they were even nice enough to invite us up to their house where we had a beautiful evening over wine and cheese while all our dogs played together :) they both told us about the history of the property which was good to know and were more than happy to help with whatever we needed. we left feeling so relaxed and cant wait to come back to this beautiful little piece of paradise, thank you again Katy and john we will see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: where the retreat was situated
Liked least: nothing, everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
I am delighted that our guests enjoyed their stay, that's what it is all about and we love being great hosts so that our guests get to enjoy this rural area of Queensland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janelle J
Bowen
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll be back”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Katy and John were great hosts, were there to meet us on arrival to explain everything at the Retreat. A1 for the property, had everything you need plus more. Loved the peace and quite and the comfy bed. Will be recommending this property to everyone we know.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everythng
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The Retreat is special to us as it is the original home on our 500 acre property. We love where we live and renovating this home as a holiday rental has been a labor of love. It is important to us to ensure that our guests are comfortable and orientated to the area so they can enjoy their holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duranbah
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Apr 2015
We are delighted that the effort that we put into making our guests stay a great experience does ensure that their stay if truly a holiday, peaceful and tranquil.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing