We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 19:00
Save
Review Highlights
Great Staff

I was very reluctant about booking into this place as I had read all the reviews which seem to be... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jaynestar1958
,
Mildura, Australia
Just walked around the garden area.

While in the area we went to have a look after visiting Daylesford which is only a couple of... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
roy v
,
Traralgon, Australia
Read all 852 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Hepburn Springs
from US$979,59
More Info
Reviews (852)
Filter reviews
852 results
Traveller rating
223
214
159
95
161
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
223
214
159
95
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private bath plunge pool herbal tea spring water magnesium masseuse session
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 852 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful architecture and pools. We booked the Sanctuary experience, which offered much more value for money than the regular bath experience (which seems to be a pure rip-off), but it's still hard to motivate the cost.

The Hepburn Bathhouse and Spa have put themselves in a difficult market position. The amenities are obviously a huge investment, but in hovering indecisively between luxury and relaxation for the masses, they fall short on both ends.

To get the right atmosphere, you'd need to let in 80% less patrons at a time, and offer complimentary drinks and more attentive service; then again, there's no motivating paying $500 per person; even $100 is a bit steep for 90 minutes.

Do we regret going? No. Would we ever return, or recommend the Bathhouse to our friends? Never.

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank PerpetualExpat2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HepburnBathhouse, Manager at Hepburn Bathhouse & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, thanks kindly for your review. We hope you enjoyed bathing in the various pools and the Sanctuary is certainly an amazing experience. Our mineral water is ideal for relaxation and I trust you were provided with a tour of the area explaining the benefits of the various pools and how to best enjoy them.

I apologise if this wasn't the case and if you do return we would love to provide you with a guided tour explaining the various areas.

Thanks Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2021 via mobile

Why won’t you put hot water in your bathroom showers? This has been the situation for years now! I’m local so I can attest to this.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Millie779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HepburnBathhouse, Manager at Hepburn Bathhouse & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Millie, there should always be hot water in the change rooms of the Bathhouse & Sanctuary. Please let us know if this occurs as we would naturally investigate immediately.

Thanks for coming to visit.

Thanks Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2021

I was so excited to relax here after a very stressful and disappointing 2020. But it wasn't as good as I was expecting. We paid the extra money to have access to the 'Sanctuary' bathing. In addition to the 2 regular pools, there was a salt pool (nice), spa with couches (nice but the jets on the couches are so strong that you can't actually lie down in them) and 2 outdoor pools which we didn't use. The steam room was interesting as I hadn't been in one before. Unfortunately no hot water in the showers so we weren't able to use those. Bring thongs as the pebble/concrete floors throughout the building are very painful so we ended up with sore feet. Overall a bit disappointing but still glad we tried it out

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank Mornieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HepburnBathhouse, Manager at Hepburn Bathhouse & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Mornieo thanks for the kind review. The Creekside Pool is amazing, it's a shame you didn't have a chance to try it out. We also suggest wearing thongs as the concrete floor is not for everyone.

Thanks Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2021

An absolute joke. My partner and I paid for two relaxation massages and the bathing experience. Both massages were meant to go for an hour mine went for 40 minutes. These were $180 each and to be honest I’ve had a better massage at those Asian shops in shopping centres. Then the bathing was literally highly chlorinated swimming pools, there was no “mineral spring” as advertised. And to top it off when we went to shower there was no hot water. An absolute waste of money! If you’ve ever been to the Peninsula hot springs don’t bother going to Hepburn it does not compare and it an absolute rip off!!!!

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank merrile2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HepburnBathhouse, Manager at Hepburn Bathhouse & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Merrile this is certainly not the experience we would expect at the Bathhouse. May I ask if you have raised your concerns and if not can I please ask that you email marketing@hepburnbathhouse.com so we can look at your experience in detail.

Thanks Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021

This was our second time to have massages at Hepburn Springs. The first time (several years ago) was fabulous. Unfortunately, this time we were rather disappointed. On a positive note, the massages were great but our spa “experience” was very lacking.

About a week prior we wanted to change our booked Wellness massages to more sports type massages (which cost more). We tried calling for 3 days straight but no one would answer the phone - we let it ring for minimum 10 mins each time and we tried multiple times each day. A recorded message each time kept saying they were busy and to press 5 to leave a message and someone would call back within 48 hours! Pressing 5 didn’t work, the recorded message ran on and on. In desperation we went online and filled in an enquiry form asking to change our massages. That was 2 weeks ago and no one has responded.

On the day we arrived 30 mins prior as stated in the emailed instructions. We were advised that this wasn’t necessary and were directed elsewhere to purchase coffee. We asked to have tea in the waiting room but when we got there we waited a long time for someone to serve us. In the end we got our own water after looking through the drawers for glasses. Eventually we were served tea, which was very nice.

After a while we were taken to the locker room and given robes to get changed. The change rooms were dirty and had overflowing baskets of discarded robes etc.

Back in the waiting room we waited until 20 mins past our booking time before our masseuses arrived. We booked two females and got two males. We also booked a shared room and were separated due to Covid but this wasn’t advised until we were being put in separate rooms.

Our massages were great - thanks Michael and Chris.

Our massages were on New Years Day. We were advised that they were running late because the waiting room host called in sick. While that explains why they were late (and maybe why the change rooms were dirty) it doesn’t explain why they don’t answer the phone or respond to messages for days at a time.

There is a message on their website today saying they are “experiencing an unprecedented level of enquires”- surely after 3 weeks the level is no longer unprecedented and they can roster staff accordingly?

Perhaps they are trying to make do with less staff because of Covid? We would be more understanding if they were upfront and said so, rather than being told they have an unprecedented level of enquires that they do nothing to alleviate. Ironically, if they had answered the phone we would have paid more to upgrade which would enable them to hire more staff. Massages at Hepburn Springs are more expensive as they are advertised as a spa experience- regrettably this let down our visit and we agreed on the way home that next time we will check out another spa.

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank XmasinVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HepburnBathhouse, Manager at Hepburn Bathhouse & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Xmasin we're sorry to hear your experience isn't what you had anticipated and thanks for taking the time to raise your concerns. I delighted to hear you had an amazing massage experience with Michael and Chris. They do an amazing job and really take the time and effort to make you feel comfortable.

We have been extremely busy of late and unprecedented is certainly the word I would use, naturally we have scaled staff numbers but the influx of enquires does continue to grow daily so I simply apologise and can assure you we are doing our best to keep up with demand.

We hope you can come and experience the facilities again as we know you will have an incredible time.

Thanks Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews