We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 363)
Filter reviews
1 363 results
Traveller rating
862
345
97
30
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
345
97
30
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dick turpin mews room coaching inn market square lovely hotel the main hotel car park superior room four poster bed sunday night enjoyable stay last weekend salmon high standard evening meal lovely food both nights
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 1 363 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I attended a meeting this morning and although it was a small meeting (so a small booking) the owner and staff in this hotel could not have been more helpful. The hotel looked so lovely and very clean that it made me want to go back another time when I’m not working. The car park was a challenge but again, the owner did everything he could to support. I loved the look of the outdoor facilities and I bet a summers evening there is fantastic. Thank you Golden Fleece!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Ted-offroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B, General Manager at Golden Fleece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Thank you Ted for reviewing your recent meeting that you held with us. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at our inn and I will pass on your lovely comments to the team although I'm not the owner just the general manager it was a pleasure to meet you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

I have stayed here for nearly 20 years now and it just gets better each time.
The staff (Louise in particular on reception) were very attentive to our needs and couldn't do enough for us.
The recent refurbishment has transformed the Hotel and brought it into the 21st century, whilst retaining it's charm.
Will be back again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aking424951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B, General Manager at Golden Fleece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at our inn and like what we have done to it. I will pass on your lovely comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Can't rate this hotel highly enough. A regular visitor but since ite recent refurbishment the standards are through the roof!
The staff ( Louise on reception in particular) were outstanding and couldn't have made my son and I feel more valued.
Definitely one to visit. Back soon ....and thanks again Louise.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank alanking03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B, General Manager at Golden Fleece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you Alan for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at our inn and I will pass on your lovely comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Our sincere thanks to all of the staff. We were made very welcome and our Westie dog was well catered for.Our suite overlooked the market place and it was very well appointed. Sunday lunch was excellent and we were set a special table in the lounge so our dog could stay with us. Many thanks to Gabs on reception for her attentive service.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B, General Manager at Golden Fleece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you Phil for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at our inn and I will pass on your lovely comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Popped in for drink on way to James Herriot museum , what a find - ended up going back for lunch . Amazing food very large portions in opulent surrounding . Treated very well staff dressed in tweed waistcoats were very friendly, professional and attentive. Great menu and selection of drinks, wines and beers - definitely 5 star would go again - worth it and not privet given the classy establishment and service

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B, General Manager at Golden Fleece Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you Andrea for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at our inn and I will pass on your lovely comments to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews