We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Bolthole

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Front view Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Living Room
Front view
Living Room
Bedroom
Kitchen
KItchen into Dining Room
Dining Room
Bathroom
Bathroom
Garden
Detail - Bedroom
Detail- Bedroom
Detail - Living Room
Big Sky
Baywatch!
Holme
Thornham
guest review
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Snettisham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it! ”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We came from Western Australia to visit parents who live down the laneway from The Bolthole. We loved the little cottage as soon as we walked in. Love the attention to detail with all the "beach, birds, coastal themed items. It suited is as exactly that a "Bolthole" to go to.
Our only slight disappointment was we had been travelling for 3 weeks and just presumed there would be a washing machine... And so were needing to do a wash!
We should have read the amenities or at least checked with Sarah.
This also meant we had the same towels for a week .. Another thing, I should have checked up on. We think for a week, we need more towels and somewhere to wash clothes:-) cheers

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Hello there! Glad you enjoyed your stay. Just had to mention that I do not list a washing machine. No room for one. However most people just come for a week and haven't been travelling beforehand, so it's not an issue. Sorry it was or you. Towels I'm unclear on. I always leave a set of towels for each guest and I think a week's use is fine. Never had it raised before. Plus the heated towel rail should mean they are always ready for next use. There are spares in bottom drawer of bedroom chest just in case. It is in my notes. Anyways, you were lovely guests and if you should visit these shores again you would be more than welcome at The Bolthole. I'll even run to the launderette for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifibunny
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous little cottage”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a fantastic stay. There was everything we needed in the cottage and we were also given some milk, bread and wine which went down a treat. The cottage was very dog friendly too with a safe garden and towels for the dogs if needed. The decor was excellent and I loved all the knicknacks that the owner had bought. WE really felt comfortable and at home!

We loved the area we spent a lot of time walking and especially like Holkham beach. I would recommend the Rose and Crown pub in Snettisham and The Lifeboat in Thornham all of which are dog friendly. Norfolk Lavender is a great place to visit.

Will look forwarding to returning iat some point and would definitely book this cottage again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely and cosy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda H
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I can honestly say that "The Bolthole" was just what the doctor ordered, we both needed a stress free few days away from work and that is just what we got! the Bolthole is so well stocked that you only need your clothes and toiletries with you. we loved the decor as it had a proper seaside feel to it with clean fresh looking rooms full of quirky nic-nacks and a lovely comfortable bed to fall into at the end of the night, we were greeted with a welcome bottle of wine, lovely fresh bread & a bottle of milk which was very welcome the only downfall is that the parking can prove slightly awkward if your neighbour parks without consideration as there is precious little other parking about but still full marks to Sarah for her lovely holiday retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well stocked with anything you may need
Liked least: parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosi w
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy and Quaint”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

A cosy cottage to return to at the end of a long day's birdwatching on the windy Norfolk coast! Very good wifi connection enabled us to check weather and birds seen at sites before we left for the day.

The bedroom and bathroom are particularly spacious and comfortable and the furnishings and decorations are in keeping with the age of the cottage and the seaside theme.

I was concerned about on road parking but had no problems while we were there. As I am not a dog owner I was concerned that a pet friendly cottage may have a slight whiff of dog about it but it was very clean and fresh smelling.

The owner, Sarah, was easy to get hold of if there were any problems or queries. She had notified clients that it was not for the 'less able'. We have never seen ourselves as in this category, although in 60, but we did find the quaint 'Norfolk Winder' staircase a bit of a challenge owing to previous knee/ankle injuries so perhaps not for you if you have difficulties in this area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wifi, decorations, area
Liked least: found staits tricky
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. Glad you found no 'whiff of dog'! We try to make accessible to all, and 'dog friendly' shouldn't, in our case, put non dog owners off coming. Thank you for reflecting that. I think now, in light of your helpful comments, will point out exactly why I think the cottage is not suitable for some. I.e. The Norfolk Winder stairs. Narrow tread, sharp turn at base, steep! Very helpful feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnoozeySu...
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved the place!”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday at The Bolthole, it was very cosy and extremely well equipped. We dropped a 'point' on our review because there were a couple of appliance issues, but we informed Sarah the owner of this, and she has assured us that this is now sorted out. She also left us wine, bread and milk and plenty of other essentials besides which after an 8 hour to get there was most welcome! Snettisham itself is beautiful...we truly loved it, Rose and Crown - excellent, the seal excursion that Sarah mentions in the book, also fantastic and well worth ringing up to book. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was beautiful. Thank you Sarah for letting us stay, I really hope we get the chance to come again. Sue and Jackie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location and cosiness of the cottage
Liked least: the technical issues we experienced
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments. I am so sorry the oven thermostat decided to die during your stay. There is now a new oven. The other appliance in question was the fridge. That was only so cold as the previous guests had turned it off so the housekeeper had set it to maximum to get it back to temperature, only forgotten to tell me! Glad you had a great stay, and hope to welcome you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing