We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Riverdale View

Sit on the bench, listen to the water, the birds, and take in the fresh air
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sit on the bench, listen to the water, the birds, and take in the fresh air
cosy log burner Comfy L shape sofa with bedding storage underneath adds a 3rd double / single bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Sit on the bench, listen to the water, the birds, and take in the fresh air
cosy log burner
Comfy L shape sofa with bedding storage underneath adds a 3rd double / single bed
sit on the antique pew and take your walking boots off
antler chandelier, lounge (dimmable for cosy ambience)
barn doors throughout. plenty of hooks for hanging up your walking jackets
cottage meets contemporary with ceramic sink and metro tiles
kitchen with retro style toaster kettle and microwave
contemporary bathroom with roll top bath, rain shower and feature fossil wall
explore the polished rare derbyshire fossils whilst you bathe
luscious view of the dale from the Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom (Summer) with guest towels
Master Bedroom. vintage drawer detail
quirky fittings, vintage pieces and pictures throughout
Master bedroom (Winter) .  Quality wooden double bed, goose & duck duvet
Spring view from Master Bedroom
patio with bistro table and chairs
Maytime - the wild garden lawn
The Blue room. (double) Anti-Allergy mattress. (non feather duvet also available)
both bedrooms have front view windows overlooking the dale and river
steps down to the river
Pisarro was here. Lucien Pisarro, Impressionist painter.  Colwell End painted this scene
stone bridge over Bradford Dale  & river - just at the bottom of the cottage steps
crystal clear water with little waterfalls
interesting finds en route
dry stone walls throughout the Peak District, mile upon mile
limestone outcrops along the waking path by river
the sky at night
countryside full of curious animals
delapitated barns, fields and dry stone walls
winter window view
virgin snow garden
endless winding lanes edged with hand built limestone walls
winter wonderland view from bedroom
book for Christmas! tree included
Cottage front. The honeysuckle and passion flower are growing...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gillp299
UK
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice cottage but not as quiet as expected”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a lovely 3 days in Youlgreave, staying at Riverdale cottage. The cottage itself is very nice, the bedrooms and bathroom were perfect. The kitchen was lacking a few things, the most notable being a range of wine glasses. We took Champagne but there were no flutes, so we used regular glasses. Also, we cooked breakfast each morning and found a few utensils missing i.e. slotted spoon.

One particular problem was the neighbours on both sides having dogs, which barked a lot. They woke us up one morning, which was annoying. One afternoon we decided to have a picnic in the lovely garden. After purchasing food from the deli in the village and returning to the cottage, we found a neighbour had lit a fire, which gave off so much smoke, we had to eat inside. This was disappointing, as we were unable to take advantage of the garden and the beautiful views. This was probably a one off, but it did spoil our afternoon.

On the whole, we did have a lovely 3 days, but it was not the quiet escape we were expecting. Also of note, the Farmyard Inn which comes highly recommended- the food was very good, has a hygiene rating of 1, which we found out after eating there unfortunately. As for the sloping pathway down to the cottage, it is very steep and unsuitable for those with walking difficulties.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Ah sorry to hear that there were dogs around. Its great walking country for people and dogs alike and popular in the holidays of course. I'm here myself now and it is very quiet - so unfortunately I think your experiences were more of a rarity but bearing in mind its the peak family holiday season in August. Shame about the (one-off, i hope) fire. Things like that can effect everyone around annoyingly I appreciate. Many people picnic by the river, just down the steps from the cottage - we did that as children as I grew up in the nearby town of Matlock.
Also looking at range of glasses - i see there are 3 champagne flutes, 4 wine glasses, 2 Brandy glasses, 6 tumblers, 4 beer glasses. Amongst the utensils including ladels, salad servers, pasta strainer spoon, openers, many knives are 3 slotted spatulas. It's a compact cottage but previous guests have found there is a wide selection of crockery and cutlery provided to self cater for 2-4 people on a short vacation. Maybe you didn't find these in the drawers and cupboards?
Yes the peak district by its very name can be steep at times. I do say on the details that it is a steep path down towards the river and the cottage being on the way down. Guests tend to come for the countryside and walking, so this area, challenging at times, is perhaps not for everyone.
Glad tho you do say overall you had a lovely 3 days and you thought the cottage is very nice.
Thank you, Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCH1953
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This cottage is in a great location for visiting the attractions of the Peak District.The cottage has a lot of character with a log burner, a beautiful bathroom and cosy bedrooms.The owner has paid a lot of attention to the decor.We loved sitting in the bench outside the property enjoying the views down to the river.There is also a small patio to sip a cocktail and a lawned area.Its so peaceful.We enjoyed the challenge of walking up the path to the main road.
We ate in the Farmyard Inn a couple of times and the food was excellent.We had roast on Sunday.The locals we met were all very friendly and advised us if p,aces to visit.
We enjoyed a walk from Ilam Hall (National Trust) along Dovedale to the stepping stones and back.The views were spectacular.We also visited Bakewell and had the famous pudding in the original pudding shop but it was a busy day in Bakewell and it took us 25 minutes to get out of the Car park.On our last day we went to Buxton which has lovely gardens in the centre next to the beautiful opera house.The crescent is being refurbished and will be a spa hotel when finished.We visited the Buxton country park and had a steep walk up through the woods to Solomons temple.We were rewarded with spectacular views of Buxton and beyond.
All in all a lovely break and I am missing sitting in the lovely garden already.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Wow, sounds like you had a thoroughly thrilling time enjoying all the local sights! Yes, just sitting in the garden, drink in hand at the end of a refreshing day can be delightful.
Thank you for your lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karina S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Riverdale View, Youlgreave”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Very cosy cottage, with a great outside are - really loved the patio and garden. Very comfortable and well equipped, excellent correspondence and instructions prior to our arrival - lots of good info about the local area in the cottage. Brilliant location for exploring the Peak District; Chatsworth and Bakewell are both very easy to get to and there are lots of lovely walks and routes to explore right from the back door. Our only very small niggle is that we would have hoped to have a pint of milk waiting in the fridge for when we arrived - lovely to have a bottle of wine on arrival, but would've preferred milk for a cuppa as we arrived after the village shop closed (the shop stocks a very limited range as we discovered the next day). All in all, we had a wonderful stay in a lovely cottage and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay. The garden area and patio are a real treat aren't they - especially at this time of year (weather permitting!)
The small Village shop sells essentials and is open til 5:30 weekdays (Saturday til 5pm, Sunday 4pm) so I'm sorry you didn't catch that.
Although I support the local shops mostly, I sometimes arrange for a Supermarket delivery which cover this area (and for larger heavy items). Thats always something to consider another time. Matlock and Bakewell have the usual supermarkets open til later, plus a few garages on the way have groceries for late arrivals (Spar in Darley Dale and Bakewell)
That's a good point though for future guests to come prepared for the first night at least when self catering.
Thank you for your recommendations, Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Ah how lovely. So glad you enjoyed your sunny/cosy stay here. Hope to see you again soon!
Thank you very much, Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hilary W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fabulous place to stay!”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Youlgreave was an excellent location to stay. The cottage was beautiful with comfortable bedrooms and a high standard of bedding and towels. The bathroom was super with a very efficient shower and plenty of hot water. The lounge was cosy and comfortable sofas. The view from the bedroom windows was wonderful. The kitchen was well equipped for our use and the pub just at the top of the path was superb. It was called the Farmyard and as recommended one needed to book.
We had read about the steep path to the cottage which worked out fine.I loved the cottage and wished I had been staying longer. Thank you Amanda.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
Ah thank you Hilary. I do want guests to have quality bedding and towels to a standard I would appreciate in a home away from home so thank you! I stay there myself so i also love a hot shower and bath after exploring all that countryside. so glad you enjoyed yourselves. See you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing