We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and cozy, and good value for money!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mosstone

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking to the rear of Mosstone View down the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Looking to the rear of Mosstone
View down the garden
The lounge with French doors leading to garden
Looking out of the French doors
The lounge from the French doors
Well appointed kitchen area
Looking towards the dining area
First floor landing
Master bedroom with en suite W.C../handwash
View from the master bedroom
On a walk around Youlgrave
On a walk around Youlgrave
On a walk around Youlgrave
On a walk around Youlgrave
On a walk around Youlgrave
On a walk around Youlgrave
On a walk around Youlgrave
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Youlgreave, Bakewell, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ruth P
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and cozy, and good value for money!”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I stayed here with 3 friends (we're all early 40's) for the weekend and had an excellent time. Lovely views, log burner, close to pubs and can start several walks straight from house so didn't have to drive. Perfect for us. We didn't mind bringing sheets and towels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesBir
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable and warm”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A really nice well appointed cottage in the centre of the village. Stayed with my son, daughter in law and their baby. Very warm . However having stayed in a lot of cottages, this is one of the few that asks you to bring your own towels and bed linen. Provide those and i would give it 5 stars. ( the very freindly owner did provide for my son and duaghter in law as they were visiting from the USA)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda W
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a very friendly Peak village”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A beautiful, spacious, well equipped cottage in a very friendly Peak District Village with walks right from the door! Perfect for exploring the dales with your dog. Bakewell, Buxton, Chatsworth & Matlock all a short drive away. The neat cottage garden overlooks the green hills of the Bradford Dale. The owner was most helpful & just a phone call away in the unlikely event of a problem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness of the kitchen!
Liked least: The tight parking & noisy through traffic
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alshakesb...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice garden and views spoilt by lack of attention to details”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Mosstone is a nice house for a holiday. There are nice pubs close by, particularly the Farmyard Inn. The local butcher sells great produce. The local walks are lovely but are not for the less than able bodied as they are all down steep slopes (and hence back up again!).

Drawbacks are main road very noisy, mattresses felt old and we're not comfortable in the front bedroom. It was the first rental property we had ever taken where we were expected to bring our own sheets and towels. The owners gave the option of hiring, but at the price of the cottage for the week, I thought this was greedy, somewhat lazy of the owners and unnecessary . It also meant that in arriving late after a long days travel, we then had to make up our beds. The other large complaint was the lack of other basics. There was not even salt and pepper! Small touches like a few tea bags, sugar, condiments, maybe even a pint of milk to get people through the first night would cost so little to the owners but make such a difference. Soap would have been nice as well to wash our hands. We had to a large shop the next day! The only thing that didn't feel mean was the heating, which was wonderful. Also take note that there is only a fridge with a top box freezer, don't expect to keep much in the freezer apart from ice cubes!

Lastly for pet owners - there is a garden, but the request is there to not let the dogs use it in anyway shape or form. This is hugely impractical. The walks are all only a few minutes away but are not suitable in the dark and late at night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, walk in shower and heating
Liked least: Beds, lounge furniture, garden rules, Ben linen and towel hire, lack of basics
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2014
I was disappointed that this guest was less than happy with Mosstone. I did visit them on the second day of their stay as they were having some difficulty using the wi-fi. I asked if all was well with the cottage and was assured that it was. The question was repeated and received the same response when I called to say farewell and wish them a good journey home on the day before their departure.
The main road through the village is a ‘B’ road and traffic is usually light though some farm vehicles can be a little noisy. Through travel by H.G.V.’s is not permitted. Two of the three bedrooms are to the rear of the house and are shielded from traffic noise.
The complaint regarding the mattresses apparently concerned one particular mattress. It is the first such complaint received but the complaint is reasonable and the mattress has been replaced.
The cottage sleeps 6. Washing, ironing, making up and stripping all the beds does take some time and any cottage owner will charge for this service. Many will add this charge to their rental charge to give an overall inclusive price. I choose to give my guests the option of a slightly lower price if they choose to bring their own linen or of paying a relatively small charge to hire linen. This group chose to bring their own linen, as do most. I do get many parties of 2 or 3 and it would seem unfair that they pay an ‘inclusive’ price allowing for bedding for all beds. Details of what is and what is not provided are always made clear to guests.
I have considered the matter of installing a freezer carefully and decided in favour of a fridge with a 4 star freezer compartment largely on environmental grounds. Freezers in holiday cottages are at best underused and spend most of the time empty. If I were to install a freezer it would have to run continuously for 11 months of the year. It has always been my hope that guests would support local, hard pressed shops.
I do accept dogs but ask that they are not left in house or garden unsupervised and that they are not allowed to use the garden as a toilet. Owners, thus far, have seen these as reasonable requests in the interest of themselves, future guests, neighbours - and the lawn. It is absolutely wrong to suggest that I request that ‘dogs do not use it (the garden) is any shape or form’.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephmumm...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage, Lovely Village, Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We spent the weekend here and had a fabulous time.

Mosstone was immaculate and very well equipped, in fact the kitchen was better equipped as ours at home!

Youlgrave is a lovely little village with 3 good pubs, a shop and nice walks. The weather was awful whilst we were there but we didn't let it dampen our spirits :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing