We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cute and comfortable - highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Matchbox Cottage

Matchbox Cottage; front garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Matchbox Cottage; front garden
Matchbox Cottage; rear garden Matchbox Cottage - front garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Matchbox Cottage; front garden
Matchbox Cottage; rear garden
Matchbox Cottage - front garden
Matchbox Cottage; kitchen
Matchbox Cottage; Main bedroom
Matchbox Cottage; Bathroom with cast-iron roll-top bath
Matchbox Cottage; Dining room
Matchbox Cottage; living room
Matchbox Cottage; 2nd bedroom
Matchbox Cottage; upstairs landing
Matchbox Cottage; stairs
Matchbox Cottage; Kitchen
Matchbox Cottage; 2nd bedroom
Matchbox Cottage; Bathroom with cast-iron roll-top bath
Matchbox Cottage - Feedback
Matchbox Cottage - Feedback
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane H
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cute and comfortable - highly recommended”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was our second trip to Matchbox Cottage and it did not disappoint. We love where it is situated so easy to reach most of the attractions that the Dales has to offer.

The cottage was comfortable and very clean. Probably the best equipped place we have stayed in and with the addition of free logs for the log burner this time, we enjoyed lighting the fire most evenings. The bathroom has no shower, although shower attachments available, but the roll top bath makes up for lack of shower as it forces you to lie back and relax!!

This cottage allows doggie guests and there is no hint of previous four legged guests in terms of mud, scent or wear and tear. We love this place.

We particularly like the Farrow and Ball colour schemes and have come away with inspiration to decorate!!

Thanks Rob for another good visit. Particularly like the welcome tray on arrival. Jane and Louise Hack

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Chest of drawers in single bedroom.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkNicol...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had a lovely stay at the Matchbox.
Clean and comfortable.
Good base to explore Derbyshire.
Had fun climbing and parking up the hill but hey you are in the Dales.
Thanks love to come back another time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
car0landa...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Little Dissappointed”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We decided to stay at Matchbox cottage because of the lovely gushing reviews that we read. Although the cottage was very clean and comfortable , we noriced that everything was very tired and shabby.
As we were lucky enough to have good weather and would have been able to sit in the garden, this was imposiible because of the neglected state of the patio and dirty broken shabby garden furniture. The front wasnt much better, with dangerous stepping stones to the front door.
The other downside was that parking was an issue for us ,most spaces were used by other residents, and being on a very steep hill was a bit scary at times.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
We were sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your time at Matchbox. We are constantly improving, upgrading and replacing (we have this week replaced all towels, duvets, pilows and bedding, for example).

We have given the garden furniture a good clean (none of it is broken though) and will look to replace soon - in fact we will probably upgrade at the same time.

The path to the front door was previously through the gate and across the grass, so we created a stone path to make things easier and less mucky in wet weather.
(See photo of the front of Matchbox). We'd certainly hope that it would not be considered dangerous.

We have our own list of upgrades, and it is very useful to hear customer comments to help prioritise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Little gem in the Derbyshire Dales”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Fabulous little cottage situated five mins walk from Wirksworth town centre. Well appointed home from home everything you need for a comfortable stay, very clean and tidy, liked not having to take towels and linen, and the welcome pack (tea coffee milk etc ) very welcome after a long drive. Owner emailed back within five minutes of making enquiry for booking, liked that and very helpful throughout. Would highly recommend, especially people with more than one dog!. Lots of lovely walks from cottage, good info pack at cottage. Well worth the money we paid. Will be going back again. Thank you Rob and Tracey (Housekeeper)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of cottage
Liked least: Back garden needs securing for people with dogs, but front garden fine.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“|Secret escape in Derbyshire.”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just had a week with my partner and our dog in Matchbox Cottage. Perfect hideaay for two but sleeps four.\the cottage is well decorated and the roll top bath a delight.The log burner was quite temperemantal to work despite us being log burner owners.\this was due to a great degree to the generously provided logs being lareg and a bit damp.\\\\\\\after chopping we got on better :)
Having been used to a super king sized bed at ome we found the double a bit small but we were pre-warned of the size so that is our fault.The kitchen had everything we needed and the washer/dryer was a bonus.
Wirksworth is indeed a gem.with small local shops.welcoming pubs, agreat deli.coffee shops and restaurants :).All in all a great break :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and style
Liked least: Back garden wet decking but it is winter.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing