We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good value for money”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Matchbox Cottage

Matchbox Cottage; front garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Matchbox Cottage; front garden
Matchbox Cottage; rear garden Matchbox Cottage - front garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Matchbox Cottage; front garden
Matchbox Cottage; rear garden
Matchbox Cottage - front garden
Matchbox Cottage; kitchen
Matchbox Cottage; Main bedroom
Matchbox Cottage; Bathroom with cast-iron roll-top bath
Matchbox Cottage; Dining room
Matchbox Cottage; living room
Matchbox Cottage; 2nd bedroom
Matchbox Cottage; upstairs landing
Matchbox Cottage; stairs
Matchbox Cottage; Kitchen
Matchbox Cottage; 2nd bedroom
Matchbox Cottage; Bathroom with cast-iron roll-top bath
Matchbox Cottage - Feedback
Matchbox Cottage - Feedback
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wirksworth, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RWF58
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Had a great week at Matchbox cottage over Easter. Cottage had everything we needed and we enjoyed the 'cottageness' of it. Great access to walks, cycle hire and industrial heritage sites - all of which we enjoyed. Great to be able to nip down to the village for a newspaper, provisions and even to hire a dvd to watch in front of the log burner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Uncomfortable dining chairs
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley C
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage, full of character, within easy reach of town facilities yet close to open fields and walks”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Spent a week visiting family and studying/writing essays and walking the dog. The cottage was ideally situated on the edge of town; we could walk to local facilities with ease and found lots of excellent places to walk with the dog, just a short drive away. There were footpaths very close by, but a bit muddy at this time of year, and being a Springer Spaniel, open fields and woods are far more his sort of thing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: large woodburning stove
Liked least: lack of parking space and wifi
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelly011...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute and cosy cottage”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Having just stayed at the cottage for 4 nights... I just wanted to share just how lovely it has been. The cottage was cute, cosy and very well equipped. Tastefully decorated.... and photos dont do it justice. Having a bath with owls hooting outside was just magical! Wirksworth was just a lovely little town to be based and the central location was fantastic for some amazing walks... just on the doorstep.

Good value for money.... and found last minute booking process on tripadvisor simple!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahnMat...
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at Matchbox Cottage at the end of January and it was our first visit to the Peak District. First impressions were that it was very cosy and the pictures were a good representation internally. Very tastefully decorated in traditional F&B colours and loved the sisal carpeting downstairs.
Being January we had the fire going most days which was lovely and our dogs didn't move after a long walk. It was a shame we had such wet weather, as it meant we couldn't appreciate the rear garden area which must be lovely on a summers evening.
The cottage was very clean, and we found towels left neatly folded on the bed, some bubble bath and tea/coffee and biscuits which was a nice addition, before we ventured out to do a proper shop.
Wirksworth itself is a nice little town with a butchers, bakers, deli, chemist, small grocery store etc. also a few coffee shops and a lovely french restaurant, Le Mistral which is well worth a visit. Sun-Wed they have a deal of two mains blue a bottle of (nice) house wine for £26. Also the Red Lion does a very good roast for £7.95 and they accept dogs, which was great as we found the Blacks Head (recommended in the reviews) weren't serving food until May.
There is also a big Sainsbury's if you need to do a big shop en route to Matlock which is about 4 miles away. Also worth looking up is Croots Farm Shop near Duffield which is about 5-6 miles from Wirksworth. .
Bakewell and Ashbourne are worth a visit, but we didn't think much of Matlock or Matlock Bath. Some lovely walks from the cottage door, so you don't need to drive, with a few with pubs you can stop at en route!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooper100
Burton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We really enjoyed a nice quiet week at the cottage, the cottage was warm and well equipped to spend our christmas week in, dog friendly for our small dog and a great area for walking, we hope to revisit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing