We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very enjoyable”
other travellers have booked this property
Ivy cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire Superbly equipped Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
147 reviews
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Spacious & Light Dining Room
Games Room/Second Lounge
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Double Bedroom with ensuite
Family bedroom with super king size bed & full size single bed
Luxury Bathroom with large power shower with body jets & double sinks
Double Ended Bath
Luxury Ensuite Shower Room
Twin Bedroom
Large Entrance hall with payphone, seating and lots of space for coats, shoes & pushcairs
Sunny Garden Room with own SKY Freesat TV
Stunning Ivy Cottage Gardens
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage Private Decking Area
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Private Parking
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 147 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The cottage is set in a very picturesque village with easy access to lovely countryside and places to visit - we used a guide from the cottage to walk around Winster and discover more about the local history. Chatsworth and Bakewell were interesting local attractions. Gill (the owner) made us feel very welcome and ensured our stay was thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2017
Thank you for your review we are very glad you had a great stay at Ivy Cottage. We hope that it met all of your needs and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Matt & Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bugdendav...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Must visit. Will be returning”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Before visiting, I had already read a few reviews, therefore my expectations were very high. From the first enquiry communication was helpful, friendly and professional. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by the warm nature of the owners.
The cottage was very spacious with all the essential amenities and more.
You could tell the owners are proud of the cottage as it is kept well maintained.
Winster is a quaint, attractive village just a stone throw from Matlock which is like the seaside away from the coast. A beautiful region which is a must see for Holiday makers and walkers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review we are very glad you had a great stay at Ivy Cottage and we are very happy that it met your high expectations.. We hope that it met all of your needs and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Matt & Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leegoodal...
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely cottage in great location”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Comfortable well equipped cottage,friendly owners,well stocked local shop 200 yds away,2 local pubs within walking distance.Matlock 5 mins drive away.
Good road network to get to attractions and walks (35 mins to Edale).
Excellent.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review we are very glad you had a great stay at Ivy Cottage. We hope that it met all of your needs and hope to see you again soon. Regards, Matt & Becky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoamingWa...
Derbyshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This holiday cottage is very well described on the website. And comes with all the important things that you would want.
A good home away from home.
The only things that failed to work reliably were the internet connection (just needed to reset the router several times a day) and within the cottage none of us had a mobile signal. The pay phone inside the cottage does not accept incoming calls.
Ideal holiday home away from home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Ivy Cottage. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Winster and that you found Ivy Cottage an ideal home away from home. We are very sorry that you experienced a problem with the Internet during your stay. We do provide superfast broadband from BT free of charge to our guests and we don’t usually have any problems with it. We have had BT check it for faults since your stay and have also kept checking it ourselves and have not experienced any problems since. We do hope it did not inconvenience your stay too much, as you said it was working but it must have been annoying having to occasional reset the router. Ivy Cottage is located in a rural village so I am afraid that mobile signals can be hit & miss sometimes, however we do state in the information booklet what are the best rooms in the house to get a signal. We also find that almost every network gets a signal from the parking area behind Ivy Cottage and do inform guests of this on arrival. The payphone is provided to help with the lack of great mobile reception; however it is of course for outgoing calls only. We do hope to see you again at Ivy Cottage and will make sure the Internet is performing faultlessly for you, many thanks for your booking
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geh59
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well equipped Cottage”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Good location with a great village shop. The cottage is spacious and very well equipped for self catering. It's clean and comfortable although we found the main sitting room rather small and dark.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Ivy Cottage. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Winster and that you found Ivy Cottage clean, comfortable & very well equipped. The sitting room you mentioned is just one of three reception rooms which is quite exceptional for a holiday cottage and it does comfortably seat 7 people on very comfortable leather sofas & chair so we were a little surprised that you found it rather small. It is at the north end of the house so can be somewhat dark on grey rainy days as the weather was during your stay. We do have a much brighter second sitting room with comfortable sofas, large TV and large patio doors, the cottage also has a very bright south facing large dining room and garden room with seating and TV. We usually find most guests use these brighter reception rooms during the daytime and use the other sitting room at night time as it is lovely and cosy with the fire. There are detailed floorplans our on our own website and we do direct all potential guests to our website. We do hope to see you again at Ivy Cottage, many thanks for your booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing