We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Check out that bath...”
other travellers have booked this property
Ivy cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire Superbly equipped Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
152 reviews
Ivy cottage
Beautiful Lounge with exposed beams, stone walls and cozy fire
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Spacious & Light Dining Room
Games Room/Second Lounge
Superbly equipped Kitchen
Double Bedroom with ensuite
Family bedroom with super king size bed & full size single bed
Luxury Bathroom with large power shower with body jets & double sinks
Double Ended Bath
Luxury Ensuite Shower Room
Twin Bedroom
Large Entrance hall with payphone, seating and lots of space for coats, shoes & pushcairs
Sunny Garden Room with own SKY Freesat TV
Stunning Ivy Cottage Gardens
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage Private Decking Area
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Garden
Ivy Cottage Private Parking
Ivy Cottage
Ivy Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Winster, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 152 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AmyLaurel
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Check out that bath...”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in this beautiful cottage over New Year with old friends. As one of the first to arrive we immediately checked out the best bedroom - we struggled to judge however, which was better: a gorgeous double ensuite or a bed big enough for three?!
The main bathroom is another joy to behold. The large shower has side jets where you can choose to be soaked from the usual shower position or from four jets protruding from the wall. I plumped for alternating between the two. There is also a bath big enough to swim in, or for two if you are that way inclined!
We loved the surround sound in the supremely cosy main sitting room area, and we duly watched Home Alone 2 as is fitting for the festive season. There was an excellent selection of board games which gave us many evenings of entertainment. We were especially intrigued by the 'His and Hers' game and had hours of fun guessing the gun types (for the girls) and the personal grooming products (for the boys)!
We really enjoyed utilising the dining room, enjoying hearty meals we made from scratch in the spacious kitchen, and found the cottage big enough to enjoy some quiet time reading alone when the din of catch-up chat got too much! We also enjoyed a daily walk in the local countryside (having bought a 75p walking guide from the village shop - thoroughly recommended), although the really comfy sofas dotted around the cottage put paid to any plans to roam outside all day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Couldn't fault the cottage - one of the nicest places I've stayed
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brumberli...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a weekend away”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Three couples stayed for a weekend. Warm, cosy, well equipped kitchen, high standard of accommodation, great bath & shower, lots of room to spread out. Pubs and a local shop in walking distance. Matt & Beckg were easy to deal with, very straightforward and helpful. We would definitely recommend staying here to anyone!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64farah
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I had a rare opportunity to spend a few days in the Peak District with my daughter last week. After doing a lot of research on the internet we chose Ivy Cottage as it looked beautiful. We were not disappointed!! It's a stunning cottage, very comfortable with everything we needed. The bathroom is very luxurious. Matt and Becky generously left a welcome basket including a great bottle of red wine. I would be very happy to stay there again and recommend it wholeheartedly. It was fantastic!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex R
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Picturesque Cottage, excellent family weekend”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at the Ivy cottage with our large family and 2 little ones for a long weekend, the cottage had absolutely everything we needed. We were greeted by Becky who is so friendly and made us feel at home straight away. Then once we had settled in it was just pure fun and enjoyment due to the space and layout. Kids room to keep the young ones entertained, den out the back for the teenagers, cosy lounge for the adults to relax. We couldn't have asked for more and all the family said we should do it again. Thanks Matt and Becky for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDMacD
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Happy, Comfy Home for October”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I researched this cottage, and Winster, extensively before booking. It was important, for a month, to have what we thought was the best, and Ivy Cottage, and the owners Matt and Becky, did not let us down. Everything for your comfort and convenience has been provided in this lovely, roomy, cosy cottage. The furniture, including beds, is extremely comfortable. There is room to spread out and do one's own thing, from jigsaw puzzles in the diningroom, to watching sports in the sitting room, and the walls are so thick, the sound does not travel. If you disagree as to what to watch, choose from one of the other televisions! The garden and parking spot were brilliant, and the owners were helpful with the minor technology we needed help with, being in a new country. We were honestly very sad to leave, as there is also so much to do in the area, even on rainy days, and who cares, anyway, if it's raining, if you have such a nice cottage to be in? I loved curling up with a book in the back "garden room".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, spaciousness and location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing