We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful property, idyllic location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sladen Lodge

Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom Superking en-suite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom
Superking en-suite bedroom
Spacious and comfortable lounge with stunning views
Second sitting room for peace and quiet
Dining room with a view
All bedrooms are en-suite
Celebrate with friends and family at Sladen Lodge
Views of the Hope Valley from some bedrooms
Fabulous views from the sunny south facing patio
Well equipped kitchen
Lovely big dining room where you can all dine together around one table
Fabulous location
Recently installed second kitchen
Beautifully light and airy atrium
Superking en-suite bedroom
Sladen Lodge in spring
Enjoy a cool glass of wine on the south facing patio
Sladen Lodge in the Autumn
Spectacular surrounding area
The beautiful Hope Valley
World famous Stanage Edge
The 'shivering mountain' Mam Tor
Hathersage village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Hathersage, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anthony H
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful property, idyllic location”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I've just had a week at Sladen Lodge with extended family. We were a large group of adults and kids but the property was perfect. With 7 bedrooms, each with ensuites, large dining room and lounge, and spacious gardens for the kids to run around it, it was perfect for us. Hathersage is in the Hope Valley and there's plenty to do in the surrounding area. A very relaxing week. I highly recommend this place!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
658lisa
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top Property!”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

As a large family we weekend together in holiday properties on a regular basis. Sladen Lodge is ideal, offering equally luxurious ensuite bedrooms for everyone - something that is hard to find. It is very well equipped and the lounge and dining areas are lovely. Everyone can sit comfortably round the dining table to eat together - a very important aspect for us and not always achievable even in larger properties. Hathersage itself has lots to offer and the countryside is fabulous. We had a fantastic weekend - all four generations from 9 months to 91!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and setting
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay again this year and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROBERT H
SPALDING
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“THE PERFECT PLACE FOR OUR GET-TOGETHER”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I booked Sladen Lodge for a week at the end of May, and it was to include a 70th birthday on the Saturday. During the week there were guests ranging from 2 (my wife and I on the last night) to 13 (10 adults and 3 children). 25 guests attended the party and we used outside caterers recommended by the Lodge owners. Although the weather wasn't brilliant we were able to make use of all the facilities. One of the main assets is the fact that the 7 bedrooms are all en-suite and queues for facilities are non-existent. The owners are very helpful and were always available should we have needed them. All the rooms have TVs and the kitchen equipment is extensive. The lodge has everything required and is perfect for gatherings of friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was as we would have wished
Liked least: Sloping drive to the Lodge - a minor niggle as nothing else was disliked
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joybristo...
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for friends to get together”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Sladen Lodge was brilliant. Excellent facilities and very close to local amenities. Bedrooms were very good with very comfy beds and good ensuite facilities. We had everything we needed and more. Lounge facilities were super but we didn't use the TV. The wireless connection was inconsistent.
There was an excellent butcher and grengrocer in the village and a good fish and chip shop in a local village.
We shall book again as it is near to many tourist attractions as well as good walks,
I have already recommended it to friends.
Disables access could be improved

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and ensuite facilities
Liked least: wirefi access and access for disabled (insufficient hand rail on steps)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hedges18
Rotherham
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Arrived with friends at Sladen Lodge on the 6th March for 3 nights. The property stands really well with wonderful views and although close to the railway line this did not hamper us having a brilliant stay. Close to Hathersage village with a selection of small shops and pubs if you want them.

The lodge is well equipped throughout with well presented living, bedroom and kitchen areas. It was very clean and well equipped with cooking facilities and utensils.

Probably the only criticism I have is that of the bathroom, shower area not five star and floors are slippy when wet, so please be careful. I have raised this with the owner as I believe a non slip surface should be put down.

That said, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and are returning as a group of friends in December 2015. Would definitely recommend for large groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the property, size, bedrooms, living areas.
Liked least: Shower area
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2015
We are delighted that you are returning to Sladen Lodge later this year and hope to have most, if not all, of the bathrooms refurbished by then.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing