We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious accommodation for a special event with...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Sladen Lodge

Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom Superking en-suite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom
Superking en-suite bedroom
Spacious and comfortable lounge with stunning views
Second sitting room for peace and quiet
Dining room with a view
All bedrooms are en-suite
Celebrate with friends and family at Sladen Lodge
Views of the Hope Valley from some bedrooms
Fabulous views from the sunny south facing patio
Well equipped kitchen
Lovely big dining room where you can all dine together around one table
Fabulous location
Recently installed second kitchen
Beautifully light and airy atrium
Superking en-suite bedroom
Sladen Lodge in spring
Enjoy a cool glass of wine on the south facing patio
Sladen Lodge in the Autumn
Spectacular surrounding area
The beautiful Hope Valley
World famous Stanage Edge
The 'shivering mountain' Mam Tor
Hathersage village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Hathersage, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jill C
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxurious accommodation for a special event with friends”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

This is an ideal venue for groups of friends doing outdoor activities. It offers good, spacious dining and social areas which are versatile and allow break-out groups. The 2 kitchen areas are useful and especially the drying facilities, given the weather in October (and other months!) We were able to socialise together or in separate groups, come and go as we pleased and hang out inside or out on the terrace with its amazing views. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms big and luxurious enough to allow people to spend time in their own space if they wanted.
The décor is very appropriate to a Peak District venue and very practical.
One suggestion to improve the venue might be to provide a croquet set as we brought our own and had a great time playing on the highly suitable flat lawn outside!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and will certainly look into purchasing a croquet set for future guests. Thank you for the suggestion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerryhard...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Already booked for next year”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Have been visiting over 15 years various places for the week at New Year. A combination of communal areas, equipped kitchen and en-suite bedrooms has never been bettered in our experience. The internet signal is not yet for the impatient savvy IT user and the driveway needs attention in poor weather. The location is excellent with good eating houses and take-aways easily available. Have already booked for next year. The decision was quick and unanimous!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Communal areas
Liked least: Internet signal
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Hathersage and look forward to welcoming you back next year. We have an engineer looking at the wifi as we speak and hope to have upgraded to superfast broadband in the next few months once it becomes available.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for family get togethers”
Reviewed 15 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Sladen Lodge is a wonderful place to get together and enjoy nice walks and wonderful views, the accommodation is ideal, I would recommend it without a doubt

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane R
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I and 15 friends recently stayed at Sladen Lodge and had a wonderful time. The location is perfect, 5 minutes walk and we were in beautiful countryside, and just a short drive to Chatsworth and Bakewell.

The lodge itself is stunning, the beds very comfortable and the added bonus of us all being able to have single beds was a real bonus. The lodge is suitable for 16 people with lots of space, comfortable, very clean and well equipped.
After our stay the owner asked me what could be improved and I couldn’t come up with anything – it was perfect!

We will definitely be back next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 7 en suite bedrooms with single or double beds, clean and very well equipped
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillyButl...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best venue for large group holiday”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have been going away as a group of 12 for many years and this has been by far the best venue we have stayed in. The Lodge is situated on the outskirts of Hathersage, within easy reach of all the local facilities, pubs and great walks. All the bedrooms are equally good sized with en suite bathrooms. The dining area seated us all comfortably with room to move round the table while eating. The kitchen is well equipped with more than enough pots, pans, crockery and glasses. But best of all is the large lounge where there are enough comfy chairs for everybody to relax, and fabulous views to boot. The weather was not great for us but we still enjoyed the large outside area with many visiting birds on the feeders. Brilliant!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it, just what we needed
Liked least: The railway but we soon got used to it
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$640
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing