We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A well prepared, well located house with ample...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Sladen Lodge

Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom Superking en-suite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
Welcome to Sladen Lodge
Superking en-suite bedroom
Superking en-suite bedroom
Spacious and comfortable lounge with stunning views
Second sitting room for peace and quiet
Dining room with a view
All bedrooms are en-suite
Celebrate with friends and family at Sladen Lodge
Views of the Hope Valley from some bedrooms
Fabulous views from the sunny south facing patio
Well equipped kitchen
Lovely big dining room where you can all dine together around one table
Fabulous location
Recently installed second kitchen
Beautifully light and airy atrium
Superking en-suite bedroom
Sladen Lodge in spring
Enjoy a cool glass of wine on the south facing patio
Sladen Lodge in the Autumn
Spectacular surrounding area
The beautiful Hope Valley
World famous Stanage Edge
The 'shivering mountain' Mam Tor
Hathersage village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Hathersage, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marc M
Girona, Spain
1 review
“A well prepared, well located house with ample facilities matching specification”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were comfortable in the house which is well laid out and has more than sufficient accessories to amply cater for a large group - simple things such as cutlery, plates, glasses, fridges, cooking facilities, etc., but also good, large living areas. Fittings are of very good quality.

The house is well located for access to the Hathersage area Peak District and village pubs are within easy walking distance.

Good!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: easy open space of the house
Liked least: steps at entrance challenge for wheelchair access - inhouse mobility good.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean H
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“An outstanding treat”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Sladen Lodge is pure delight from the moment you step through the door. The decor is so attractive; everything that you can think of - and then some! - is provided. There is lots of space, but that the same time it is all so comfortable. Everything is in first class condition, and spotless of course. There was nothing that we lacked, nothing that we could think of that could have made it more perfect.

I can't wait for an excuse to go back and take my family.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaby W
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Seven Days that flew by!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We were seven couples sharing Sladen Lodge and were impressed how cosy and comfortable it was, how well equipped the kitchen is and how thoughtful and helpful the staff/owner are.
From the terrace that catches the sun almost all day you get a marvellous view.
I suppose the only slightly negative aspect is that the train runs along the border of the property and some of my friends were woken up by it in the early morning.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Base for the Peak District”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Wonderful, large house placed excellently for experiencing the Peak District. I rented this property for my extended family consisting of 7 adults and six children. Seven bedrooms all with their own bathroom meant that no-one was ever in each other's way. Wonderfully clean throughout and with all the facilities that you could need in the kitchen including enormous ovens, two dishwashers and large fridge and freezer. Enough cutlery and equipment to entertain an army!

Beautifully secluded location close to railway line but I love hearing a train rumpling along occasionally.

The village itself has everything you need. Two Indian restaurants both serving lovely food and a great pub about 5/10 minutes walk away (Scotsmans Pack)

The only thing that would have improved my stay - a bit of sunshine!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lovely open plan feel to the house.
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor J
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal accommodation for 7 couples”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Sladen Lodge proved to be the perfect venue for our birthday / wedding anniversary celebrations. The 7 en suite bedrooms ensured all 7 couples had accommodation of the same (high) standard. The large sitting room was just right for both pre- and post-dinner drinks.
The kitchen had everything our party needed, and the utility room,with its fridges, acted as a superb wine cellar / bar. We arranged for an outside caterer to provide us with a meal one night: that too was excellent. We cannot praise our accommodation highly enough and would recommend it to any group of a similar size. As an added bonus, there is the excellent Sickleholme Golf Club 3 minutes' drive away.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2014
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Sladen Lodge and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing