We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely lodge weekend away”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
view
view
view
Welcome to Two Owls Lodge
view
view
view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Darley Dale, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sam04770
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely lodge weekend away”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Stayed here for the weekend. Lovely cream tea on arrival. Everything was first class and could not fault. Unfortunately I wasn't feeling my best. Would love to stay again and take more of the area in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Two Owls Lodge but sorry to hear you were not feeling your best. Hopefully when you visit us again you will be on top form.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clc1973
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed at the Lodge from the 05th of August until the 12th August,had a warm welcome from Lesley the owner and had a lovely cream tea waiting for us.
The Lodge was clean and tidy and had everything you needed and more,the jacuzzi and the Power shower was a big plus.There was so much to see and do we felt we hardly scratched the surface of the area .
We will definitely recommend the beautiful lodge to everyone and we will be making a return visit in the future for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet and very very relaxing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to make this review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you visiting us again in the not too distance future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louby2016
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Perfect Place to stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Two Owls and can highly recommend it. The lodge is equiped with everything you could need, beautifully furnished and extremely clean. The single bedroom was perfect for our 7 year old and the king size room was very comfortable and easily fitted a travel cot for our 11 month old. The jacuzzi bath and power shower were an additional treat for us all. In the evenings it was the perfect place to relax and because of the secluded setting, sitting outside was peaceful. The perfect relaxing break!

We will certainly be recommending Two Owls Lodge to all of our friends and we are already planning a return stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to put this review on. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all your comments. We certainly hope that you do plan on returning to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Splendid cottage”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Two Owls Lodge is an immaculate modem cottage sharing extensive grounds and woodland with the owner’s house. We found it extremely clean, tidy, superbly furnished and recently decorated. The kitchen is well equipped with everything one might need, and the bathroom contains a Jacuzzi bath and a wonderfully powerful shower. Both bedrooms are very comfortable and our daughter loved the cosy single room.

There is a lot to see and do within easy driving distance. Matlock, Matlock Bath, Bakewell and Ashbourne are well worth a visit. Further afield, the Tram Museum is a grand day out, and the National Trust owned Hardwick Hall is spectacular with a very interesting history. The Old Hall on the same estate, although owner by English Heritage, is free to NT card-carrying members.

Lesley the owner (Jane is her agent) made us feel very welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern facilities and immaculate state
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to place a review and such a lovely one at that. We really appreciate your comments and it gives future guests the confidence to book with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We take pride in our cottages and always appreciate feedback. I do hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$110
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing