We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Castleton, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David W
Mundesley, England,
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay.”
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Hope Cottage is in a great location just off the market place. We enjoyed sitting in the conservatory and looking up at Peveril Castle on the hill above. Pubs, cafes, shops and attractions are within a short walking distance and we enjoyed being able to stroll out in the evening to have a drink or two and some tasty meals. The cottage itself is warm, cosy, beautifully furnished and immaculately clean. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need, and we appreciated the welcome hamper which had a few basics and also some lovely treats! The garden was safe and secure for our small dog who is a bit of a Houdini when it comes to getting out of gardens. We could let him out happy in the knowledge that he couldn’t escape. The owners were very friendly and helpful. One of the best cottages we have stayed in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Best self catering cottage”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is the best self catering cottage we have stayed in. The kitchen is well equipped even including kitchen scales. The cottage was spotless and the garden a dream (especially for little Fern our dog who loved exploring it). Everything had been thought of and a lovely hamper for arrival. Loved the idea of putting a roll of bin liners at the bottom of each bin so that you didn't have to look around for new ones. The conservatory was a delight to sit in and watch the birds. There were 5 adults and we never were short of hot water even when we showered one after the other. The weather could have been better but this didn't stop us enjoying ourselves. There were TVs in all the bedrooms and the living room. Castleton is a lovely small town plenty of places to eat where you can take a dog - we also found places for vegans to eat in the town. We loved it so much we have booked to go back next June.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikegrime...
Appley Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Superb 3 bed 5 person cottage. All facilities you could wish for. Centrally located in the village. Excellent dining conservatory and established garden with summer house. Dogs welcome. Lovely welcome box of goodies was a nice surprise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
457sueh
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“As close to perfect as we have found”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have stayed in many holiday cottages over the years and have always found something that could be improved. With Hope Cottage we are struggling to find anything wrong. The cottage is warm, clean and incredibly well equipped. There are so many lovely little extras, wine, biscuits, milk, chocolate, tea and coffee in the kitchen and soap, shower gel, cotton buds, razor etc in the two bathrooms. The garden was safe for our dogs who appreciated the dog biscuits. Good to have parking in this village. Castleton is of course a lovely place, we were spoilt for choice for dog friendly pubs and cafes. We have already booked to come again. Many thanks to the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing