We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What an amazing weekend!!”
Hollywood House 'The place to stay & celebrate'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hollywood House 'The place to stay & celebrate'
Swim Spa over looking fabulous rural views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Hollywood House 'The place to stay & celebrate'
Swim Spa over looking fabulous rural views
Hot Tub on a large decked area with rattan sofas and swim spa heated all year.
James Dean Bedroom with Bluetooth Juke Box!
Walt Disney Bedroom every house should have one of these!
Audrey Hepburn Bedroom
Judy Garland bathroom
Hollywood House main entrance
Impressive  entrance gates to Hollywood House
Marilyn Monroe Bathroom
Judy Garland Bedroom
Impressive Entrance to Hollywood House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
16 Bedrooms, 14 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lizlaa
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What an amazing weekend!!”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Visited Hollywood House as part of a group of friends celebrating a 30th last weekend. We had been very excited in the build up as the house looked amazing on the website! We were not to be let down! The house is just fantastic!
All the rooms are incredible (we stayed in the lovely Sophia Loren room but we would have been happy in any room) , the views from the terrace are beautiful, the hottub was a firm favourite (as was the arctic Hut! )
The cocktail evening with casino was just brilliant and the three course meal was perfection.
All in all a great place to stay, worth every penny and a fab place to make memories!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenniferj...
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Even better than expected-a truly fantastic hen weekend!”
Reviewed 10 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A group of 28 of us stayed at Hollywood House for my sister's hen weekend and from the very beginning, Julia was incredibly helpful and always quick to respond to any queries I had.

Upon arrival, everyone was amazed by this stunning property-outside and in. There were so many thoughtful touches and well-planned aspects to the house. The red carpet that was rolled out onto the steps leading up to the front door was just the start. As it was nearing Christmas time, the house was tastefully decorated with baubles and lights, along with an enormous Christmas tree in the dining area.

The bedrooms were amazing, with each and every one completely unique. I stayed in the Elizabeth Taylor room: the beds were all very comfy and the shower was fantastic! Each room, dedicated to a Hollywood star, was full of trinkets, memorabilia and quotes/photographs. Everyone had to take the opportunity to explore them all!

We catered for ourselves on the first night and for both breakfasts. The enormous catering kitchen had everything we needed and the dishwasher, once warmed up, worked well. On the second night, we had a buffet delivered from The Butler's Pantry. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the food was delicious with plenty of choice. Would definitely recommend!

During our stay, most of us used the hot tub and plunge pool out on the decking area, although the plunge pool was a bit chilly for the time of year! The views over the area are incredible, as are the grounds which we explored too.

We made use of the casino in the basement on our second night and this was great fun. Two croupiers came to set up in advance and everyone enjoyed playing Blackjack and Roulette. Real money is not involved but we played for a prize to add a bit of competition!
We then carried on our celebrations back upstairs in the dining area with music and games.

By the end of the weekend, we were already making plans to return to Hollywood House. It is a truly fantastic place for any occasion (the photos really do not do it justice!). Everyone complimented the choice of venue and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a special and memorable place to celebrate. An incredible weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rooms, decor and huge amount of space!
Liked least: The power in the dining area cuts off around 1am, but continues throughout the rest of the house.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a 40th birthday celebration at the Hollywood House. There were about 35 of us who traveled down from Leeds for the weekend and everyone had a blast. All the rooms are themed (we were in the John Wayne) which was quite small compared to some of the others but the attention to detail is amazing. Despite it being cold the hot tub was in constant use and the outdoor decking area was huge. The highlight for me was the casino evening where you have 2 croupiers from 7.30-10.15 to play roulette and blackjack. The atmosphere was just brilliant with the bar area in the same room the cocktails were flowing freely ! Then it was back up to the conservatory area where we had the music playing and had a bit of a boogie to finish the night off. There is also a pool table and big telly in the living room. The kitchen is definitely geared up for mass catering and I have to agree with previous reviewers about it being hot - we had underfloor heating in our room so there was no need for the radiator to be on at all. Would love to return in the summer to make more of the outside areas !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura G
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our Wedding Celebrations”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We booked Hollywood House for our wedding weekend during the August bank holiday. From start to finish the booking process and support from Michele, Julia and the team was exemplary. Without a marriage license, we decided to have our ceremony at Matlock County Hall but invited close family and friends to stay with us the night before the wedding and on the night of the wedding celebrations. The themed rooms, entrance and conservatory room played a massive part in our celebrations and we continue to be complimented on our choice of venue. The grounds provided the perfect backdrop to our wedding photographs and gave our guests plenty of glamorous 'selfie' opportunities. We hired croupiers for the evening of the wedding celebrations which added another talking point for our guests and had catering provided by local butcher Nigel and his team, based in Ashbourne. So many people commented on how relaxed and welcoming the venue was and even discussed the opportunity of booking the venue for celebrations of their own in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review Laura we were delighted you chose Hollywood house to host your wedding celebrations & really pleased your guests also liked your choice of venue!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cowleygan...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Party starts on the steps to the door”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This house was booked by our family to celebrate a 90th, 60th, two 40ths and two 30ths. This house was built for partying! The minute you walk up the red carpet, seen the stars in the paving you are already in the mood for fun. Although there were 40 adults plus a couple of under 5s, we never got in each others way. Every room has a wow factor. We ate together, we played lots of fun games, enjoyed the hot tub and plunge pool, lounged around on the beautiful decking and enjoyed a night gambling with two excellent croupiers. All in all a fantastic family weekend in this fantastic house. Thank you Julie for being so helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That every room was tastefully done and created the fun
Liked least: Not enough washing up area in kitchen. Dishwashers were great though.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing