We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Had everthing we wanted and was clean”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Baptist Chapel

Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Main Lounge Main Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
8 reviews
Exterior
Main Lounge
Main Lounge
Family Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Ground Floor Twin Bedroom
View to the Dining Area
Kitchen
Kitchen
Ground Floor Bathroom
Dining Area
Ground Floor Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathryn19...
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very tired accommodation”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We came to stay for a family weekend and we were very disappointed to find the hot water tap in the kitchen not working. My sister who booked The Old Chapel had nothing in writing prior to the full payment and comfirmation that we would be required to feed an electicity meter located in a family bedroom. The property had numerous items which needed to be thrown out as they were cracked, chipped or broken.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
The owner called as soon as the tap was mentioned to check the tap, and the plumber was booked immediately, and visited as soon as was possible.
The owner called in several times, but no mention was ever made of cracked/broken items which could have been rectified if he had been made aware of them.
The meter is mentioned on the web entry for the Old Chapel
•Gas central heating, large 'Vermont Castings' parlour woodstove in main lounge, all heating included in rent, initial basket of logs included from 1st November to Easter, electricity and Sauna Suite by £1 meters.
The information pack that is emailed out to the booker approximately 4 weeks before arrival also clearly mentions the electric meter as regards its location, and use.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ER2468
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good size and lovely living area but in dire need of refurbishing”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A large group of us stayed for a hen do - the large living area on the middle level was great for this and the kitchen big enough for our needs. The sauna was fun. It was good that wifi was available.

The decor in the whole building (except for the nice range oven and one new bathroom on the ground floor) is shabby and outdated. It needs paint!! New dining chairs, sofas, duvet covers, curtains, crockery etc. would not go amiss too. The dishwasher was did not work despite following the instructions which the owners had left.

The electricity was on a coin meter - we were not told in advance that the price of electricity was not included. Luckily some of the group had pound coins.

I did not receive the full housekeeping deposit back due to some hair dye on towels - sceptical that this wouldn't wash out as I have never had this problem myself but what do I know.

I would recommend to another big group, but only if they were aware of the need for refurbishment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Large living area
Liked least: Shabby decor.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edward R
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had everthing we wanted and was clean”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This property had everthing we wanted and was very clean , the only problem was the road to the car parking was very uneven so we parked at the pub opposite

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique and full of character”
Reviewed 12 December 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We needed a venue near Derby for a group of computer enthusiasts to meet and chose the Old Baptist Chapel. It was ideal for our needs. A large ground floor lounge full of armchairs and sofas, and an elevated gallery running around the top with bedrooms and kitchen. Full of character and an interesting building in itself. Some of the old Chapel features being retained.

We had about 12 people in total, with a couple of extra friends visiting some days, and needed a dew extra chairs and tables. The owner could not have been more helpful and provided everything we asked for. The kitchen facilities were fine for our requirements, though we went out to local restaurants most evenings.

We did not have time to explore the area but several guests thought brochures describing beautiful countryside and places of interest nearby sounded so good that we are making tentative plans to stay at the Old Chapel again just for a holiday this time. There are not many holiday lets that are large enough for this many people, and the price is very reasonable.

I can understand other reviewer's comments about faded decor, access and lots of stairs. But everything was clean, and the parking and stairs are es described in the brochure. We accepted it all as making the place more characterful and everyone enjoyed their stay, saying how much nicer a venue it was than a modern souless hotal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirky characterful building, friendly owner.
Liked least: Parking. Some distance from property.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coyote100...
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“In desperate need of refurbishment”
Reviewed 23 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

In many ways this large converted chapel is ideally situated and spacious in many ways. The lounge is great for evenings spent chatting in a large group. The bedrooms are reasonably large and there are plenty of bathrooms. However that is the extent of the suitability for a large group. The kitchen is just about big enough for cooking for 20 but many of the pans need replaced. The open space for dining is not big enough for everybody to sit down together and some of the chairs are falling to pieces.The decor of the whole building is sorely in need of repainting. The bedroom i used was damp smelling and had water damage on the ceiling. Many people complained of the mattresses on the beds and many of the slats under the mattresses were broken.

One of the biggest drawbacks to the property was its inaccessibility. Access was along a very narrow alleyway between shops. When the bins were out ready for collection, you had to squeeze past them. The alleyway led onto busy road which had to be crossed to get to the cars parked behind the pub opposite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lounge
Liked least: The rest
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2014
The Old Chapel had been booked and enjoyed by this group on a previous occasion so I am amazed that they have commented about the access to the property as they were fully aware of the parking arrangements and that access is via an alley way. This time, however, their party did include some senior members, and when I attended to fix the slight floor depressions and the single broken bed slat that had been mentioned, the senior guests told me that they felt the stairs were more than they could manage, and they chose to spend most of their stay in the lower ground floor lounge. They had perhaps not been fully briefed by the regular guests who had made the booking, upon both the 1st floor nature of the main living room, nor upon the alley way acess to the property?

The parking is properly and fully described on the web site.

The guests had mentioned during their stay a depression in the floor boards at the bottom of the kitchen stairs and in the middle of the lounge floor and that a bed slat to a ground floor twin bed room was damaged. Only one slat was mentioned and only one was found.

The issues were emailed on the 23rd September and by the 24th a joiner had rectified them and the slight carpet depression was removed and levelled with plywood panelling beneath. A new bed slat was added to the twin bedroom and no other damaged ones were found. There were not ‘many bed slats broken’!

No other guests have mentioned the size of the kitchen and with the range cooker there is plenty of cooking facilities and oven space for a full Christmas lunch!

Chairs were not mentioned in the original email but one was found to be broken upon their departure.


Their original email stated:
‘This week we are continuing to enjoy ourselves however would like to highlight a couple of issues… but just wanted you to know about these problems’

It should be mentioned that the chapel was certainly not left as found as per ‘booking conditions’ and the team of cleaners complained about the state of the property after the guests’ departure. Some of their security deposit was retained to cover the extra cleaning. So what was a situation of their merely high lighting some issues (which were promptly dealt with) now seems to have turned into a rather unfair complaint.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$424
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing