We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old pub”
Review of Holly Bush Inn

Holly Bush Inn
Ranked #8 of 83 Restaurants in Belper
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A warm welcome awaits you at our family run pub, a hub for real ale drinkers and walkers alike. A traditional 17th century village inn, where highwayman Dick Turpin is reported to have frequented on his travels. An increasingly rare breed of unspoilt inn, where time has stood still, encapsulating the character and charm of the building. With fresh homecooked food, a selection of fine real ales and warmth from the open fires, there is much to tempt you. Nothing comes close to our pork pie and a pint!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped in for a bite to eat on our way home, nice old pub with plenty of character. Food was nice and a great selection of pies to choose from. Good selection of ales and dog friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spraggyleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Landl0rd, Manager at Holly Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the lovely review, make sure you pop back try our new daily homemade bar snacks when they are available! Todays speciality: Bombay Potato scotch eggs!

Kind regards
James
Bar Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ancient pub that has probably not been altered since it was converted from a farmhouse a few centuries ago !
Very cosy, open fires, good beers, busy, food available.
Need to be happy sitting close to other customers, but a lovely experience

Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Landl0rd, Manager at Holly Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the great review. You are right, never altered. If it aint broke dont fix it!

Kind regards
James
Bar Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This pub never disappoints, i have only visited again in recent years a few times when travelling home to Belper, its tucked away from the main road but well worth finding, in a great location, some parking available but inside is a real pub treat, great choices of alcohol, good staff but just a real treat of a pub, well worth a pint or two.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TeamWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Landl0rd, Manager at Holly Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the great review, good to hear such positive feedback. We'll make sure we keep it up for your next visit.

Kind regards
James
Bar Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

After drinking beer for forty years I know when a pint it off !! I don’t expect some jumped up bar maid to tell me it’s off !!

2  Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Landl0rd, Manager at Holly Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hi Janice thank you again for your lovely review. You're quite right drinking beer for forty years absolutely makes you an expert, this is clearly where we're going wrong in our rigorous training and daily handling, tasting and caring for beer as we do. I shall start the staff on a drinking programme in the hope a little inebriation makes for being less jumped up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Great traditional English pub offering great ales, meals and snacks. Love the roaring log fires on a winters day and the lovely ambience. Always busy which isn't surprising.

Thank Lindanottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Landl0rd, Owner at Holly Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you Linda for visiting and your great review its nice to get positive feedback. Our fires are a treat and a great focal point. Hopefully you'll be able to visit in summer and see our floral displays which are worth a trip. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holly Bush Inn also viewed

 
Belper, Derbyshire
 

Been to Holly Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing