We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent standard”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Belper, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Graeme M
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“As said in a previous review - if it wan't for the hot tub....”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Bad
===
Garden unkept and in places dangerous uneven surfaces
Pond overgrown with pond plants leaving fish in limited water
Indoor electrical sockets installed outdoors
Lots of electrical tape outdoors protecting conjoined wiring
Fencing around the pond rusty and in parts missing
Garden chairs rusty and broken
Kitchen generally grubby – sink a particularly unpleasant sight
Chipped crockery & glasses
Food left in freezer from a previous occupant
½ a toilet roll left for 6 people
Only 1 room with wardrobe storage
Empty hand soap bottle
No mattress protectors on beds
Part of settee floor missing so it had been stuffed with an old cushion ( reported several months ago in a previous review)
Water bed uncomfortable causing sleepless nights
1.5 miles from the village centre and not as described
Nearest shop ½ mile away and not as described

Good
=====
Hot tub worked well although it did say filter needed cleaning – no idea how long that had been on the control panel
Good location for getting about the local area
TV, DVD and Freeview box all worked all
Loft bedroom well decorated

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: Everything else that wasn't the hot tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verity M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely views but in need of some TLC”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Recently returned from Over Lane in Belper after a week away with friends. First impressions were good, we loved the views from the bedrooms and that the hot tub was up to temperature at ready to use when we got there. Unlike other reviews we did not meet the owner on arrival. We were given key arrangements prior to arrival which was fine, but it would have been nice to be shown how to use the hot tub and appliances.

Once we started unpacking and exploring we found that some things were broken. In the kitchen the fridge was dirty and there were dead flies on the window ledge. The smeg fridge in the dining area was leaking when we got there but then appeared to work ok. The sofa was boarded up at one end but comfortable. The lights in the garden did not work, there was broken glass in the bar area and generally the garden was in need of some TLC. We made good friends with the horse which lived in the field at the bottom of the garden!!

Although some things in the property lacked cleanliness and quality, we did not let this spoil our holiday. We had many great days out in Hartington, Bakewell and Castleton and not forgetting exploring Belper town and river gardens. We enjoyed the Derwent Valley walk as recommended in the welcome pack and a tour of Strutt's Mill. Belper is a great place to stay for exploring Derbyshire and the peak district, there are many pubs and shops.

The hot tub was an added bonus of the holiday. As mentioned previously it was up and running for our arrival. One concern is that it wasn't checked throughout the week like our experience from other hot tub holidays. Also we were a bit worried as the screen read 'change filter' at the beginning of the holiday but it seemed to work ok and we enjoyed relaxing in there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy P
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If it wasn't for hot tub....”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stepping into the property, first impressions were very clean and modern. We phoned the owner, as requested, and he came to the house to introduce himself and explain about the hot tub controls. After unpacking, and some food shopping at Sainsburys in Ripley, we explored the house in depth.

My wife and myself took the loft bedroom. Again, all looked very nice. But on closer inspection we found long black hairs on the duvet. (As both my wife and daughter are blonde and I have very little, we knew none of us could lay claim to them). A screwed up shopping receipt down the side of the bedside table. A clear, what could've been, sweet wrapper down the side of the opposite bedside table and a piece of (what I can only describe as) a condom wrapper on the floor at the front base.

Down stairs didn't fair much better. The sofa unit was broken and had no support when sat on. We had to bolster it up by putting extra cushions under the top ones. The corner unit had a wooden support, but any attempt to sit on it resulted in the cushion slipping.

We recommend that future renters use the SMEG fridge, in the dining area, as opposed to the one in the kitchen. As the one in the kitchen was not clean inside. Although the manual has a cleaning check list that states the cleaner check all appliances, we found the kettle didn't work (blown fuse). We boiled some water in a pan on the gas hob. This had to be lit with a hand held sparker as the electric one on the oven didn't work. Some of the cups, drinking glasses, bowls and plates were chipped. And some of the red-handled cutlery still had food residue on them. My daughter found a "custard-like" food residue on one of the breakfast bowls the next morning.

There was a good range of DVD films to watch. But, there was disappointment finding out that in the DVD "Cluedo" game some of the cards were missing. And although there were PS games in the drawer, there were no controllers to play them with.

The owner himself seamed very genuine. The thing that let him down was the cleanliness of the whole place and state of the furniture. We found dead flies on the window sills in the kitchen, bathroom and bedroom.

The only saving grace was the hot tub. It was lovely to unwind in the evening sat in 35-40*C temperatures and be massaged by the jets. So relaxing.

The best thing about staying at 302 Over Lane was that it was a central base to everywhere we wanted to visit... Chatsworth, Bakewell, Buxton, Derby and so on.
The shops were a short drive away, and no way close enough to walk to (no matter what you're told or read).

The worst thing(s) about staying at 302 Over Lane are all of the above.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unloved”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

When we first arrived at the property and went to unpack we found that the fridge had not been cleaned for sometime so we had to go to the nearest shop purchase some cleaning products and clean the fridge before unpacking our food. We then went to unpack our clothes and found that it was only the single bedroom that had a wardrobe (with only 4 hangers) and that any drawer storage was taken up with spare bedding), fortunately we were just a single couple staying so we were able to leave our clothes out on the single bed. After finally cleaning and unpacking we decided to relax on the sofa and watch some tv (we had a 7 hour drive to get here), we found that the base of the sofa was broken and that only 1 person could sit in the corner as a board had been put under the cushions to support it. We then switched on the TV but it was barely watchable as even after trying to adjust the colour etc the picture was green. In the morning we went to make breakfast and discovered that the ignitor for the hob didn't work but we found a lighter in the drawer but of course it didn't work either (luckily my wife is a smoker or we would have had to make another trip to the shops). Overall it is a nice house but is in need of some TLC and a really good clean

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie B
Osmotherley, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent standard”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A very clean accommodation nicely decorated. The bedrooms were all cosy especially the attic room and the water bed. Kids were very impressed also, from the teenagers being glad there was wifi to our 3 year old girl who was pleased to find a drawer full of disney dvds. Lots of little details which made it such a pleasant stay. The hot tub was very relaxing. We will definitely be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$92
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing